Super newbie question - please redirect if not appropriate
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
akbhargava
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 4:55 pm    Post subject: Super newbie question - please redirect if not appropriate Reply with quote

Hi,

I am a Linux newbie and I am trying to install Gentoo on my 1998 Pentium II Dell. I understand very little of Linux - I essentially have a basic understanding of Unix but not much beyond that.

I followed the Gentoo Handbook in painstaking detail and successfully completed the installation. The problems:
- no network: /sbin/ifconfig only shows lo0
- doing an "lsmod" returns a single dummy module - I do not understand modules etc but I think there should be something there.

I would appreciate any and all guidance or redirection.

BTW I did have trouble with the following during the installation. From the handbook:
- 5.e Configuring the Compile Options - CFLAGS and CXXFLAGS - trouble with the -march= flag - I think I set it to i686 for the Pentium II
- 6.a Chrooting - Configuring the USE variable - no idea what to do here so I left it undefined/blank
- 7.c Default: Manual Configuration - Activating Required Options - I was a blind man and basically trawled the options picking things on instinct. Its possible I did not include the relevant network options here (altho I did include all the ones I guessed necessary - was I supposed to include Intel 10/100 Eth support also?)

Thanks again in advance!
akb
:roll:
akbhargava
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 5:08 pm    Post subject: One more thing: I did add dhcpcd (by emerging it) Reply with quote