View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
slashdevslashtty Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 119 Location: 97219
|
Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:25 am Post subject: router not replying ARP packets |
|
|
Net setup:
Code: |
X (192.168.0.5) ----------eth0----------- G (192.168.0.4) --------wlan0---------- R (192.168.0.1)
Z (192.168.0.2) --------------------------------^
|
X has gateway and DNS set to G.
R has static route: to reach X, use gateway G.
iptables (after flushing):
Code: |
iptables -I FORWARD -i eth0 -s 192.168.0.0/255.255.0.0 -j ACCEPT
iptables -I FORWARD -i wlan0 -d 192.168.0.0/255.255.0.0 -j ACCEPT
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o wlan0 -j MASQUERADE
iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp --dport 21 -i wlan0 -j DNAT --to 192.168.0.2
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
for f in /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/*/rp_filter; do echo 1 > $f;
|
X runs an ftp server and client.
X tries to initiate ftp session with random internet server. All is good. Disconnect.
G tries to initiate ftp session with X. All is good. Disconnect.
Z tries to initiate ftp session with X. All is not good. G sees ARP packets:
But G does not respond.
What configuring must I do to G to let Z know that G has X?
Extraneous information: X is an XBox, G is my Gentoo box, R is a Netlink wireless router and Z is an XP box. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
linuxbum Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Dec 2003 Posts: 131 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Z would need a static route also to reach X via G just like R.
Why not plug all boxes in to R if it has LAN connections along with Wireless? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
slashdevslashtty Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 119 Location: 97219
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
linuxbum wrote: | Z would need a static route also to reach X via G just like R. |
I do not believe this is the case because G receives Address Resolution Protocol packets from Z and does not respond.
linuxbum wrote: | Why not plug all boxes in to R if it has LAN connections along with Wireless? |
I would do this but my situation requires that the router remain two floors below the preferred and current location of the TV and XBox. I could get a wireless bridge for the XBox or get a really long CAT5 cable, but the former is expensive and the latter is not aesthetically pleasing (not that I care about what it looks like, but other people who live here would object.)
Plus, I think Gentoo/iptables should be able to provide a solution. Thank you for responding, bum! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|