Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] saa7134 module problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: [Solved] saa7134 module problem Reply with quote

Hello,

A few days ago, I recompiled my kernel to support a TV card based on Philips saa7134.

I used the options (on my 2.6.9-smp kernel) :

Code:
--- I2C support                                       
            <M>   I2C device interface
 
    I2C Algorithms  --->  --- I2C bit-banging interfaces                     
                                          <M> I2C PCF 8584 interfaces                       
                                          <M> I2C PCA 9564 interfaces
 
 Multimedia devices  --->
         <*> Video For Linux                             
                   Video For Linux  --->
                           <M> Philips SAA7134 support


And at first reboot it worked fine.

Since then, I had to reboot and now it does not work anymore.

TVtime says : no signal and cannot open capture device /dev/video0.

lsmod gives :

Code:

Module                  Size  Used by
snd_pcm_oss            47400  0
snd_mixer_oss          16640  2 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_midi            6432  0
snd_seq_oss            29952  0
snd_emu10k1_synth       6272  0
snd_emux_synth         34048  1 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_seq_virmidi         5888  1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq_midi_event      6400  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_virmidi
snd_seq_midi_emul       6912  1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq                48144  8 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi_emul
snd_emu10k1            80648  3 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_rawmidi            19748  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_emu10k1
snd_pcm                81028  2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_emu10k1
snd_timer              20868  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_seq_device          6536  7 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_emu10k1_synth,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi
snd_ac97_codec         64208  1 snd_emu10k1
snd_page_alloc          7560  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
snd_util_mem            3584  2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd_hwdep               7300  2 snd_emux_synth,snd_emu10k1
snd                    46180  15 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq,snd_emu10k1,snd_rawmidi,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_seq_device,snd_ac97_codec,snd_hwdep
nvidia_agp              5916  0
agpgart                27948  1 nvidia_agp
nvidia               3462748  12
usb_storage            27136  0
ehci_hcd               26116  0
uhci_hcd               28816  0
ohci_hcd               18948  0
usbcore                99428  6 usb_storage,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd,ohci_hcd
ohci1394               30468  0
sbp2                   21896  0
ieee1394               93364  2 ohci1394,sbp2
parport_pc             28096  0
parport                33864  1 parport_pc
3c59x                  36392  0



dmesg | grep saa7134 gives nothing. Same thing for modprobe saa7134.

It's like the module vanished and it's not loaded anymore...

For info, lspci :
(...)
0000:00:09.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7134 (rev 01)
(...)

Any suggestion ?


Last edited by arendald on Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icculus203
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Branford, CT

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there..

There are all kinds of issues with the saa7134 module. What kind of card are you using? Who is the manufacturer? What is the model name/number? Also, post the relevant lines in lspci -vn ... aka

lspci output snip:
Code:
0000:0a:04.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA713X Audio+video broadcast decoder (rev f0)


lspci -vn output snip:
Code:
0000:0a:04.0 Class 0480: 1131:7133 (rev f0)
Subsystem: 1461:f31e
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 10
Memory at b3006000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2


that'll give me the info I need to see if your particular chip is written into the driver. (Mine isnt..)

One other thing, grep "saa" out of dmesg, not saa1734.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lspci :

Code:

0000:00:09.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7134 (rev 01)


lspci -vn :

Code:

0000:00:09.0 Class 0480: 1131:7134 (rev 01)
        Subsystem: 11bd:002b
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 254, IRQ 21
        Memory at e8000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 1


dmseg | grep saa

Code:

saa7130/34: v4l2 driver version 0.2.12 loaded
saa7134[0]: found at 0000:00:09.0, rev: 1, irq: 21, latency: 254, mmio: 0xe8000000
saa7134[0]: subsystem: 11bd:002b, board: Pinnacle PCTV Stereo (saa7134) [card=26,autodetected]
saa7134[0]: board init: gpio is 0
saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 00: bd 11 2b 00 f8 f8 1c 00 43 43 a9 1c 55 d2 b2 92
saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 10: 00 00 19 0e ff 20 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 20: 01 40 01 03 03 ff 03 01 08 ff 00 53 ff ff ff ff
saa7134[0]: i2c eeprom 30: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
tuner: chip found at addr 0xc0 i2c-bus saa7134[0]
tuner: type set to 33 (MT20xx universal) by saa7134[0]
saa7134[0]: registered device video0 [v4l2]
saa7134[0]: registered device vbi0


Tell me if you need something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbrtuk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you realise that you have to modprobe the module every time you boot? Things don't 'stay in the kernel' over boots.

The reason I say this is because it's not in your lspci.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I don't. What should I do to perform such thing ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbrtuk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well when you got it to work initially, you must have done modprobe saa7134. You just have to do that on every new boot brfore you use the card. Or you can add it to one of your modules.autoload files to get it to do it on boot if you use your tv card a lot.

The whole point of kernel modules is that you can dynamically insert and remove them from a running kernel. They're entirely memory resident, there's no way for a kernel to 'keep the modules in' once it shuts down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I tried to modprobe saa7134 and yes it does work so a big thank to you.

Quote:

You just have to do that on every new boot brfore you use the card. Or you can add it to one of your modules.autoload files to get it to do it on boot if you use your tv card a lot.


That is something I'm not sure to get. If I'm recompiling a kernel picking that specific option as module it's because I need it. However I do understand there is a lot of options for kernel which are not used (well at least I think, correct me if I'm wrong). But I'm not sure all of them are modules. I mean I thought specifying a kernel option as module was enough clear to modify modules.autoload to have it loaded with every boot. I guess I was wrong. What confuses me is some kernel modules do that, some do not, some external modules do that (cf. nvidia module), some do not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbrtuk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 910

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These modules that automatically do things have entries in modules.conf. The entries basically say 'when device file xyz is accessed, load module abc'. Some of the more common modules are already put in there by gentoo and some external drivers put them in at emerge time, but the saa series aren't the most common cards in the world so if you want that functionality you'll have to add a significant line yourself. Or you can add it to a modules.autoload file to get it to always insert the module on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arendald
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I get it. Thanks for your explanation ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum