Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
glcu - gentoo linux cron update (python version)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
linolium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 75
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick response Michael.

untiefe wrote:
Code:
You can update your system with: glcu /tmp/glcuUpdate-12345

and only when you do this, your system will be updated!

I forgot to mention in my post that I actually did do this step, and went through the prompt (Y to install the packages). But after this, the packages still seem to be not updated since they are listed in the emerge command.

I am sorry if I am missing something obvious, but I would appreciate any help!
_________________
http://linolium.mine.nu/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello again,

linolium wrote:
I forgot to mention in my post that I actually did do this step, and went through the prompt (Y to install the packages). But after this, the packages still seem to be not updated since they are listed in the emerge command.

I am sorry if I am missing something obvious, but I would appreciate any help!


Well, the thing that you already had 'existing' packages listed in your mail, tells me, that the installation didn't work before, but I can't imagine any reason why glcu shouldn't do this.

1st: Did you see the usual emerging stuff scroll down the terminal after you answered 'y' (or just pressed enter) at the prompt?

2nd: Look into your 'emerge.log' to check if packages where installed.

3rd: Try again 'glcu /tmp/glcuUpdate-???????' and see if you missed something...

Sorry to say it that bluntly, but I'm pretty sure it is a problem of the user, not the program...

4th: If nothing helps, post here the full output of the 'glcu /tmp/glcuUpdate-????' session, plus the corresponding part of your emerge.log and your glcu config files.


I still hope it'll work for you.

Bye Michael
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linolium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 75
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

untiefe,

It seems to just go by the installation part without showing any emerging. I thought this was normal but now I understand that GLCU does not hide this information. When it asked me to update Portage it showed all of the emerging, but when I say "Y" to install the prebuilt packages it does nothing except go to the dispatch-conf step.

What's the best way to debug this?

Code:
plebb ~ # glcu /tmp/glcuUpdate-4585

****************************************
>> Welcome to glcu's easy update feature


Prebuilt packages:
------------------
(  1 ) [binary  NS   ] sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.20-r2  USE="-build -symlink"
...
( 18 ) [binary     U ] sys-apps/file-4.20 [4.19-r1] USE="python"

 Do you want to install the prebuilt package(s) [Y/n]
    (or you can either install only specified package number(s) #,
     or NOT install package with -# and use i# for injecting)

 > Y

 Do you want to run dispatch-conf now? [Y/n]

 > Y
plebb ~ #

_________________
http://linolium.mine.nu/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linolium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 75
Location: BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind... I figured it out. It looks like the program does not accept capital letters of Y or N for answering questions. I fixed this by changing lines 76-79 as follows:

Code:
    elif sre.match('y',extraAnswer,sre.IGNORECASE):
        standardAnswer = True
        return standardAnswer
    elif sre.match('n',extraAnswer,sre.IGNORECASE):

Now it works perfectly. Thank you!
_________________
http://linolium.mine.nu/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Londinium,
I could have sworn, that it worked with capital letters without the IGNORECASE. Anyway, thanks for the patch!


Bye, Michael

P.S.: I always press ENTER without any letter (that's what the capital Y should say anyway. yes is the default value!)
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aconcagua
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi !
I use glcu 0.9.7.1 for some time now but I got this email :
Code:

Prebuilding new Packages:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
app-misc/ca-certificates-20070303-r1                     success
sys-devel/binutils-config-1.9-r4                         success
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.20-r8                      success
net-analyzer/fail2ban-0.7.9                              existing
app-editors/nano-2.0.4                                   existing
sys-libs/glibc-2.5-r2                                    existing
media-libs/freetype                                      existing
media-libs/freetype                                      existing
app-editors/vim-core-7.0.235                             existing
sys-apps/portage-2.1.2.6                                 existing


You can see freetype is written 2 times and with no version.

So of course, when I do execute glcu, there is a problem :
Code:

!!! ERROR: Problem during: emerge --pretend --verbose --usepkgonly  =app-misc/ca-certificates-20070303-r1 =sys-devel/binutils-config-1.9-r4 =sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.20-r8 =net-analyzer/fail2ban-0.7.9 =app-editors/nano-2.0.4 =sys-libs/glibc-2.5-r2 =media-libs/freetype =media-libs/freetype =app-editors/vim-core-7.0.235 =sys-devel/gcc-config-1.3.16 =dev-db/sqlite-3.3.12 =sys-fs/e2fsprogs-1.39-r2 =app-shells/bash-3.2_p15-r1

!!! '=media-libs/freetype' is not a valid package atom.


Thank you for your help,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 7:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi aconcagua,

I don't really know what happend here, but it may have to do with an glsa and emerge update...

Please do a manual update of your system (with -k you can even use the prebuilt packages) and next time it will probably be fine...

Bye, Michael
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aconcagua
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your help.

I did a manual update but it's getting worse : here is the mail I received this morning :

Code:

Prebuilding new Packages:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
dev-lang/php-5.2.2-r1                                    success
media-libs/freetype                                      existing
media-libs/freetype                                      existing
media-libs/freetype                                      existing
app-arch/ncompress                                       dependencies*
app-misc/mc-4.6.1-r3                                     ERROR**


There are 3 freetype lines now ...

And freetype is up to date :
Code:

#eix freetype
[I] media-libs/freetype
     Available versions:
        (1)     1.3.1-r4 1.3.1-r5
        (2)     2.1.9-r1 2.1.10-r2 2.1.10-r3 2.3.3 ~2.3.4
     Installed versions:  1.3.1-r5(1)(07:13:23 05/05/07)(nls -tetex)
                          2.3.3(2)(09:57:06 05/08/07)(-bindist -debug doc zlib)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi aconcagua,
that is really strange. As a first guess, please remove all old freetype packages:
Code:
rm /usr/portage/packages/All/freetype*


If the problem still exists, please copy the output of an emerge system/world (whatever you let glcu do in the night) in this forum. Or set the verbosity level in the glcu config-file to debug (3) and put the relevant output from freetype in here.

I don't have any clue what it might be, so let us do some bug hunting ;-)


Bye, Michael
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Michael.

thanks for the awesome script, i've been very happy with it for quite a while.

however, recently, i've been getting the same issue that aconcagua is having, where the version number of the package isn't being specified, and then it is failing:

Code:

Prebuilt packages:
------------------

!!! ERROR: Problem during: emerge --pretend --verbose --usepkgonly  =sys-apps/file =sys-apps/file =media-libs/libpng =media-libs/freetype


These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies  ..... .

!!! '=sys-apps/file' is not a valid package atom.
!!! Please check ebuild(5) for full details.
!!! (Did you specify a version but forget to prefix with '='?)


i'll need to pay more attention and check, but i think that it may only be happening for glsa-checks. let me know if i can get you any more information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi nobbie,

I really don't know what it could be, so please do the following stuff first and see if the problem remains:

1. Remove all file packages
Code:
rm /usr/portage/packages/All/file*


2. run emerge -uvaD world/system (as glcu would do) manually

3. run glsa-check --fix new (as glcu would do)

4. wait if the problem remains

5. if so, set the verbosity to debug (3) and post the output here


Thanks for your support.

Bye, Michael
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TvL
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I love glcu and I've been using it for a very long time.
Since 2008-08-01 I am getting multiple "dev-lang/python" rows, which is very weird.

Code:
Prebuilding new Packages:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
sys-apps/acl-2.2.47                                      existing
net-misc/rsync-3.0.3                                     existing
sys-apps/attr-2.4.41                                     existing
app-editors/vim-core-7.2                                 existing
sys-process/lsof-4.78-r2                                 existing
app-misc/ca-certificates-20080514-r2                     existing
net-misc/wget-1.11.3                                     existing
net-analyzer/traceroute-2.0.11                           existing
net-analyzer/mrtg-2.16.2                                 existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.26-r1                      existing
sys-apps/pciutils-3.0.0                                  existing
app-editors/vim-7.2                                      dependencies*
----------------------------------------------------------------------
  *  Package depends on other new packages and can't be prebuild


Do you have any idea what's going wrong and if it's glcu or portage that's messing up?
I have emerged everything glcu wanted, but I think it will return with dev-lang/python again tommorrow...

Nevertheless, I love glcu :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi TVL,

I think this problem is related to glsa - sometimes whitespaces are no real whitespaces there, and glcu can't work out the real names. Anyway, I always suggest to update your computer once manually (emerge world or system and glsa-check as well, if you use it) and normally this problem will be gone then. You can also remove all precompiled packages in /usr/portage/packages/All


By the way, I just released a new version (0.9.7.2) to get rid of another python problem (with the sre and re packages, after the python update...)
You can find the ebuild here: http://www.panhorst.com/glcu/Download.html

Enjoy glcu ;-)
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am getting this:
Code:
New Packages for 'emerge system' available!
 Update your Gentoo box with:

         glcu /tmp/glcuUpdate-15903


Prebuilding new Packages:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                        existing
                                                        existing
                                                        existing
                                                        existing
                                                        existing
                                                        existing

<cut out 100 or so identical lines>

                                                        existing
                                                        existing
dev-libs/glib                                            existing
dev-libs/glib                                            existing
dev-libs/glib                                            existing
dev-libs/glib                                            existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-lang/python                                          existing
dev-libs/libpcre                                         existing
media-libs/libvorbis                                     dependencies*
media-libs/libid3tag                                     dependencies*
----------------------------------------------------------------------
 *  Package depends on other new packages and can't be prebuild


Any ideas
Code:
# emerge --info
Portage 2.1.5.6 (default/linux/amd64/2008.0, gcc-4.2.4, glibc-2.7-r2, 2.6.19-vs2.2.0-rc12-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.19-vs2.2.0-rc12-gentoo x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
Timestamp of tree: Tue, 19 Aug 2008 16:17:01 +0000
ccache version 2.4 [enabled]
app-shells/bash:     3.2_p39
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.1.6
dev-lang/python:     2.4.4-r9, 2.5.2-r6
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r6
dev-util/ccache:     2.4-r7
dev-util/confcache:  0.4.2-r1
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.12
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.18.1-r3
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.61-r2
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10.1
sys-devel/binutils:  2.18-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.0-r4
sys-devel/libtool:   2.2.4
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.23-r3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon64 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/splash /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/web2c /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon64 -fomit-frame-pointer"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="buildpkg candy ccache confcache distlocks parallel-fetch sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.mirrors.tds.net/gentoo http://gentoo.cites.uiuc.edu/pub/gentoo/ http://mirror.mcs.anl.gov/pub/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/ http://open-systems.ufl.edu/mirrors/gentoo"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
MAKEOPTS="-j15"
PKGDIR="/mnt/imports/packages/amd64/workstation/gcc-4.2/glibc-2.7"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/JMDGentooOverlay/gentoo-overlay"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="7zip X acl acpi amd64 apache2 apm arts bacula-clientonly bacula-console bacula-split-init bash bash-completion berkdb bzip2 c++ cdr chroot cli cracklib crosscompile crypt cups cvs doc dpms dri dvd dvdr emul-linux-x86 firefox font-server fortran gdbm gpm gtk hddtemp iconv isdnlog kqemu ldap midi mmx mng mudflap multilib ncurses nls nptl nptlonly openmp pam pcre perl postgres pppd python readline reflection samba session spl sse sse2 ssl sysfs szip tcltk truetype unicode wxwindows xml xml2 xorg zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


Code:

# equery list glcu
[ Searching for package 'glcu' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [ ~] app-portage/glcu-0.9.7.2 (0)

_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also is it possible to have the machine name in the email? I have dozens of gentoo machines.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToeiRei
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jan 2005
Posts: 1191
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the glcu project looks pretty dead to me :/
_________________
Please stand by - The mailer daemon is busy burning your messages in hell...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If there was not an update on Monday I would agree with that.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToeiRei
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jan 2005
Posts: 1191
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

drescherjm wrote:
If there was not an update on Monday I would agree with that.


there was? I'll check it out. thx.
_________________
Please stand by - The mailer daemon is busy burning your messages in hell...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

1st: The glcu project is pretty much dead (anyone who wants to do something about it is welcome)
2nd: glcu still works pretty well
3rd: I'll try to keep glcu alive, but there will be no real development ( I don't have time enough for this)

And some short answers to the questions above:

@drescherjm: The name of the machine should be in the subject line of the eMail from glcu

@everyone with problems using glcu (including drescherjm):

Please update your gentoo box completely by hand (including emerge world/system and glsa-check), remove all old distfiles from /usr/portage/distfiles (or use eclean) and remove all prebuilt packages from /usr/portage/packages/All before you ask about glcu problems. Most problems are gone when you update your gentoo box once by hand (which you would have to do always without glcu!). Then thoroughly check the glcu website (glcu.sf.net) and this forum thread for possible solutions.

When you have done all this, ask your question here, or write me an eMail. Then I'm very happy to help you. :D


Have fun, Michael
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
@drescherjm: The name of the machine should be in the subject line of the eMail from glcu


It did not do that unless False is where the name is supposed to be.

Code:
glcuFalse: Updates for your Gentoo box available!

New Packages for 'emerge system' available!
 Update your Gentoo box with:

         glcu /tmp/glcuUpdate-6458


Prebuilding new Packages:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-java                        existing
sys-libs/com_err-1.40.9                                  existing
dev-java/sun-jdk                                         existing
www-client/seamonkey-bin                                 dependencies*
mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird-bin                      dependencies*
mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird-bin  www-client/seamonkey-bin  mail-client/mozilla-thunderbird ...dependencies*
net-libs/xulrunner-bin                                   dependencies*
----------------------------------------------------------------------
 *  Package depends on other new packages and can't be prebuild

_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi drescherjm,

you need to set your hostname in
Code:
/etc/conf.d/hostname

The old baselayout wanted it in /etc/hostname, but after this baselayout is stable now I removed the search for the hostname in /etc/hostname in version 0.9.7.2

Hope it helps.

Bye, Michael
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# dev6 ~ # cat /etc/conf.d/hostname
Set to the hostname of this machine
hostname="dev6"


Code:
# equery list glcu
[ Searching for package 'glcu' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [ ~] app-portage/glcu-0.9.7.2 (0)



BTW, I am using python-2.5 and baselayout-2
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
untiefe
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 230
Location: the nonexisting Bielefeld, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aaah, there is my bug :roll:

glcu will only find the hostname if HOSTNAME is written with capital letters...

You can change in line 291 of glcu.py "grep HOSTNAME" to "grep -i HOSTNAME" - then it'll work.

Sorry, I just copied the old hostname file to the new location, and there it was written with capital letters.


Bye, Michael
_________________
"I'm an angel bored like hell
And you're a devil meaning well"

:: Cardigans - You're The Storm ::

glcu - gentoo linux cron update (full featured semi-automatic updates via cron)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank You. Looks like it is working now. :D

Code:
glcu(dev6): Updates for your Gentoo box available!

_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bfdi533
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just found this project and this is slick. I am trying to run it after editing /etc/glcu.conf and get the following and cannot seem to figure out why:

Code:
# glcu /etc/glcu.conf
/usr/lib/portage/pym/output.py:45: DeprecationWarning: DEPRECATION NOTICE: The output module was replaced by portage.output
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/sbin/glcu", line 943, in <module>
    manualExecution()
  File "/usr/sbin/glcu", line 698, in manualExecution
    updates = pickle.load(updateFile)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/pickle.py", line 1370, in load
    return Unpickler(file).load()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/pickle.py", line 858, in load
    dispatch[key](self)
KeyError: '#'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 6 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum