View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
xtbasic n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 Posts: 51
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:37 am Post subject: troubles with nforce2 onboard network |
|
|
I am trying to get my onboard nforce2 nic to work under gentoo, but its not cooperating. I have been using my intel pro 100+ just fine, and it works great, but i need the onboard nforce2 nic enabled to get my computer on another network seperate from the one that the intel is on. I tried enabling the reverse engineered nforce net driver in the kernel, but it doesnt seem to have detected the new network interface, so i tried downloading the closed source nforce drivers that nvidia has on their website, i ran the set up and it bugged out and gave me an error saying it could not create the kernel module, long story short (or long story longer, you could say), here's the log:
Quote: | nforce-installer log file '/var/log/nvidia-nforce-installer.log'
creation time: Thu Feb 24 20:12:39 2005
option status:
license pre-accepted : false
expert : false
uninstall : false
driver info : false
no precompiled interface : false
no ncurses color : false
no questions : false
silent : false
Installer install prefix : /usr
kernel source path : (not specified)
net kernel install path : (not specified)
audio kernel install path : (not specified)
proc mount point : /proc
ui : (not specified)
tmpdir : /tmp
Using: nvidia-installer ncurses user interface
-> Found package NVIDIA audio driver for Linux-x86
-> Found package NVIDIA network driver for Linux-x86
-> Please select packages for installation:
Selections:
NVIDIA network driver for Linux-x86 (1.0-10)
-> Starting install of NVIDIA network driver for Linux-x86
-> Checking for loaded module nvnet
-> Checking for loaded module forcedeth
-> License accepted.
-> Skipping check for conflicting rpms.
-> /proc/version is Linux version 2.6.10-gentoo-r6 (root@rudy) (gcc version
3.3.5 (Gentoo Linux 3.3.5-r1, ssp-3.3.2-3, pie-8.7.7.1)) #8 Thu Feb 24
19:58:27 GMT 2005
-> No precompiled kernel interface was found to match your kernel; this means
that the installer will need to compile a new kernel interface.
-> Kernel source path: '/lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/source'
-> Kernel output path: '/lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/build'
-> Performing cc_version_check with CC="cc".
-> running command /bin/grep "^PATCHLEVEL ="
/lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/source/Makefile | /bin/cut -d " " -f 3
-> Kernel module filename is nvnet.ko
Cleaning kernel module build directory.
executing: 'cd ./nvnet; make clean'...
rm -f *.ko *mod.* *.cmd nvenet.o nvenetif.o nvnet.o *~ core
-> Building kernel module:
executing: 'cd ./nvnet; make module SYSSRC=/lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/sou
rce SYSOUT=/lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/build'...
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/build \
KBUILD_SRC=/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6 KBUILD_VERBOSE=1 \
KBUILD_CHECK= KBUILD_EXTMOD="/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1
/nvnet" \
-f /usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6/Makefile modules
mkdir -p /tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/.tmp_versions
make -f /usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6/scripts/Makefile.build obj=/tmp/self
gz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet
cc -Wp,-MD,/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/.nvenet.o
.d -nostdinc -iwithprefix include -D__KERNEL__ -Iinclude -Iinclude2 -I/usr/s
rc/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6/include -I/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0
292-pkg1/nvnet -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -Wno-trigraphs -fno-strict-aliasing
-fno-common -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe -msoft-float -mpreferred-stack-bo
undary=2 -march=athlon -I/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6/include/asm-i386/ma
ch-default -Iinclude/asm-i386/mach-default -DDRIVERVER=\"9999\" -I/tmp/self
gz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-029
2-pkg1/nvnet -Wall -Wimplicit -Wreturn-type -Wswitch -Wformat -Wchar-subscri
pts -Wparentheses -Wpointer-arith -Wno-multichar -Werror -O -MD -Wno-cast-qu
al -Wno-error -DMODULE -DKBUILD_BASENAME=nvenet -DKBUILD_MODNAME=nvnet -c -o
/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.o /tmp/selfgz19
756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.c
In file included from include/linux/list.h:7,
from include/linux/wait.h:23,
from include/asm/semaphore.h:41,
from include/linux/sched.h:18,
from include/linux/module.h:10,
from /tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/
nvenet.h:20,
from /tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/
nvenet.c:22:
include/linux/prefetch.h: In function `prefetch_range':
include/linux/prefetch.h:62: warning: pointer of type `void *' used in arith
metic
In file included from include/linux/dmapool.h:14,
from include/linux/pci.h:837,
from /tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/
nvenet.h:32,
from /tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/
nvenet.c:22:
include/asm/io.h: In function `check_signature':
include/asm/io.h:242: warning: wrong type argument to increment
/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.c: In function
`nvenet_xmit':
/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.c:1151: warning
: pointer of type `void *' used in arithmetic
/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.c: In function
`nvenet_suspend':
/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.c:1318: error:
too many arguments to function `pci_save_state'
/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.c: In function
`nvenet_resume':
/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.c:1374: error:
too many arguments to function `pci_restore_state'
make[4]: *** [/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet/nvenet.o
] Error 1
make[3]: *** [_module_/tmp/selfgz19756/NFORCE-Linux-x86-1.0-0292-pkg1/nvnet]
Error 2
make[2]: *** [modules] Error 2
-> Error.
ERROR: The NVIDIA kernel module was not created. |
so im not sure what to do, if this is generally a pain to install another network device after completing a stage3 install, it doesnt seem like it should be, and there's probably just something little that i missed when trying to use the forcedeth driver, but im still learning the ropes and i've never set up more than one nic in gentoo (or any linux dist) before.
any ideas, suggestions and help are welcomed |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CriminalMastermind Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 132 Location: toronto
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
is the interface enabled in the bios?
that's an option on my motherboard bios and it is disabled by default. _________________ "I can picture a perfect world that knows of no war... and I can picture me attacking that world, because they'd never expect it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xtbasic n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 Posts: 51
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
the interface is enabled in the bios, i have both of the nics working in windows xp, its just not detecting the card in gentoo, should i try compiling the forcedeth as a module? or is there something else im missing.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CriminalMastermind Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 132 Location: toronto
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
xtbasic wrote: | should i try compiling the forcedeth as a module? |
i would compile both of them in as modules. that will let you control which becomes eth0 easily. also, i believe in older kernels, if you had two network drivers compiled into the kernel, it would stop after finding the first nic... but i'm not sure if that is the case anymore. modules would be playing it safe.
xtbasic wrote: | or is there something else im missing.. |
umm... compile them in the kernel as modules and load them Code: | modprobe e100 (or whatever it is)
modprobe forcedeth |
check to see if you get all interfaces with if not check to see where something died... that's about all i can think of at the moment... but it wouldn't surprise me if i missed something.
i'm using the forcedeth module. i'm pretty sure it's the recommended one now. _________________ "I can picture a perfect world that knows of no war... and I can picture me attacking that world, because they'd never expect it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xtbasic n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 Posts: 51
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i tried loading them both as modules with no luck, i lost my e100 and internet, and the forcedeth still wasnt working...
i have the e100 compiled in the kernel, and forcedeth as a module (with forcedeth in my autoload.d), here's what i get for ifconfig -a:
Quote: | # ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:B3:87:EF:5F
inet addr:128.193.244.204 Bcast:128.193.247.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:13838 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:565 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:226 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1615902 (1.5 Mb) TX bytes:106638 (104.1 Kb)
eth1 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-04-4B-80-80-03-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 -00
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
eth2 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-02-3C-00-30-04-20-54-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 -00
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
eth3 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:4B:80:80:03
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0xc000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:47 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:47 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:7249 (7.0 Kb) TX bytes:7249 (7.0 Kb)
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
xtbasic n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 Posts: 51
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
okay i figured out how to get it working, its eth3, i have to ifconfig ifconfig eth3 192.168.1.22 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 up, every time i want to bring the interface up. i tried adding this line to /etc/conf.d/net (iface_eth3="192.168.1.22 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"), with no success of getting the interface auto enabled. i tried doing a rc-update add net.eth3 default, but it returns an error ( * /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/net.eth3 not found; aborting.).
so i can get the interface to work, by using ifconfig every time i need it, now i just need to get it to auto enable when i start up... where am i going wrong? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CriminalMastermind Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 132 Location: toronto
|
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
glad to hear you got it working.
xtbasic wrote: | i tried doing a rc-update add net.eth3 default, but it returns an error ( * /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/net.eth3 not found; aborting.). |
i think there is something in the installation guide about adding a symbolic link for extra interfaces... you should check there.
if you aren't using eth1 and eth2 you may want to ditch them and make the nforce2 nic eth1. this will probably make things a little easier to deal with in your mind. _________________ "I can picture a perfect world that knows of no war... and I can picture me attacking that world, because they'd never expect it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xtbasic n00b
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 Posts: 51
|
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
how do i ditch the other interfaces, is it difficult? im not too up to par on setting up the network interfaces...
which documentation guide is it in? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CriminalMastermind Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 132 Location: toronto
|
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
xtbasic wrote: | how do i ditch the other interfaces, is it difficult? |
it shouldn't be too bad. running
that will show you information printed from the kernel. so if you wanted to search it for the string eth1...
would give you a hint as to what was registering itself as eth1. the buffer that holds the info dmesg displays will only hold so much and will start overwriging old entries. so if you system has been up a long time and has alot of things printing to the buffer you may need to reboot to see what is eth1.
now that you have an idea as to what is regestering itself as eth1, ether don't load that module, or take that option out of the kernel, recompile and reboot.
xtbasic wrote: | which documentation guide is it in? |
CriminalMastermind wrote: | the installation guide |
umm... that would be the guide you followed while installing gentoo on you system. i'm guessing you used this one. _________________ "I can picture a perfect world that knows of no war... and I can picture me attacking that world, because they'd never expect it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|