View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mieasa
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: KDE-3.3.0 Compilation & Installation queries Reply with quote

I am a noob to Linux. These are the things I did before I didn't see KDE desktop up and running in my PC.

1. Compiled & Installed Gentoo Linux 2.6.9 -r1 kernel from stage3 livecd for AMD64.
2. Downloaded packages-amd64-2004.3.iso image into my PC and created a packages CD.
3. Logged on as root.
4. Inserted Gentoo CD Package in the drive (and DID NOT do /mnt/cdrom)
5. export PKGDIR="/mnt/cdrom/packages"
6. emerge --usepkg kde

Since I didn't mount CD drive, emerge started downloding from one of mirror and started compiling KDE. It went on for 6 hours without any problems. I assumed that once the compilation is over it will automatically fire the installation of KDE and I should see nice graphical desktop environment. But it did not happen.

After the compilation is over successfully it stopped at bash's command prompt. I don't know how to proceed further.

I am wondering what version of KDE will be installed in my PC because emerge used internet to download and install KDE. Also will it have any impact of working with 2.6.9 r1 version of kernel?
ninjabadger
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE runs on top of either Xorg or XFree86, if you did emerge kde then you will have installed Xorg on your system (good). You need to set it up to your own system.

as root user

run
Code:
xorgconfig

You will need to have some idea of what specification your monitor is and what graphics card you have (dont worry about 3d drivers atm, just use the basic nv ones for nvidia (or the ati equivelent or other vendor ones)

once you have done this you can try typing

Code:
startx