Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I get mono?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gcrew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 82
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: How do I get mono? Reply with quote

I typed:
Code:

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge mono


icu and mono were downloaded and installed.

Now I'm trying to compile and run a simple little program called pictures.cs.

Code:

# mcs pictures.cs -r:System.Drawing
Compilation succeeded
# ./pictures.exe
-bash: ./pictures.exe: cannot execute binary file


I figure I need to tell it to run using the CLI, but how do I get it to do that? I assumed I would type mono, but I don't have anything called mono in my path or anywhere on my system as far as I can tell.

Thanks for any help.

Geoff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShuQi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
mono pictures.exe

Should do the trick, if mono emerged successfully.
Maybe su to root and check if that makes a difference - path wise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to jump in here like this, but will somebody please tell me where everybody is finding instructions telling them to use ACCEPT_KEYWORDS on the command-line? They removed it from the handbook a few months ago. This is like the third post in two days where I've seen somebody mention using it. Please do not use it, you will break your system if you keep it up. Use /etc/portage/package.keywords instead. For more information see this post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-1060314.html#1060314

I think I'm going to have to change my sig back to warn people about it....
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nianderson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 369
Location: Lawrence, KS

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to get mono you might want to try kissing someone else who has it. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShuQi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nianderson wrote:
to get mono you might want to try kissing someone else who has it. :P

he he he,
what would that be called then? "wemerge"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcrew
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 82
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nianderson wrote:
to get mono you might want to try kissing someone else who has it. :P


Wow. That's clever.

donjuan wrote:
Sorry to jump in here like this, but will somebody please tell me where everybody is finding instructions telling them to use ACCEPT_KEYWORDS on the command-line? They removed it from the handbook a few months ago. This is like the third post in two days where I've seen somebody mention using it. Please do not use it, you will break your system if you keep it up. Use /etc/portage/package.keywords instead. For more information see this post: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-1060314.html#1060314

I think I'm going to have to change my sig back to warn people about it....


That link is very helpful indeed. When emerge fails because of the testing mask it says to check section 2.2 of the Handbook. There is no section 2.2! It also says to check the man page. The man page says to use ACCEPT_KEYWORDS to install testing packages. I'm a little confused though about why using this will break my system. I agree this would be bad in combination with the -U flag, but I never have and never plan to use that. I'm not sure I really like the idea behind package.keywords because I don't want emerge to automatically use a testing version of mono. I only want it this one time because there is no other version.

Which brings me back to my original question, is there a working (testing or otherwise) version of dev-dotnet/mono available for amd64?

Thanks.

Geoff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, I'll have to remember to bug report that.

The reason command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is a bad idea is because when you do emerge -uD world (which you should do every once in a while to keep your system up-to-date) it will want to downgrade the package. So people think, "hmm, how can I stop this?" and they see the -U flag, so they use it. As that post pointed out, the -U flag will break your system, if not the first time you use it, then eventually. So it's best to use the package.keywords file since it will tell portage to keep using testing versions of that package.

To get around having portage upgrade to later testing versions you can tell it to accept keywords on just a single version. The handbook's example is
Code:
=app-office/gnumeric-1.2.13
which will tell it to accept gnumeric-1.2.13.

I don't know much about mono, but I did see that the latest version is hard masked. You can try it by adding the line
Code:
=dev-dotnet/mono-1.1.4
to /etc/portage/package.unmask and package.keywords then emerging mono. Hopefully it will work for you because the info about it on packages.gentoo.org says
Quote:
Also add in new mono-1.1.4, which will remain p.masked but in portage for amd64 folks.

_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum