Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Intel8x0 error message
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 4:54 am    Post subject: Intel8x0 error message Reply with quote

I get an error message when booting that says that it can't locate the driver snd_intel8x0 but when I finally get into KDE I have sound. Any suggestions?
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably both built the driver into your kernel and are trying to load some other driver. If you're trying to use alsa and you have the driver compiled into your kernel all you needed to do was
Code:
emerge alsa-utils
rc-update add alsasound boot
/etc/init.d/alsasound start


Arts may do something of its own, which could also be why you have sound.
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

donjuan wrote:
You probably both built the driver into your kernel and are trying to load some other driver. If you're trying to use alsa and you have the driver compiled into your kernel all you needed to do was
Code:
emerge alsa-utils
rc-update add alsasound boot
/etc/init.d/alsasound start


Arts may do something of its own, which could also be why you have sound.


Did I need to add the "ALSA_CARDS="intel8x0" to my make.conf? What Can I do to fix my issue?
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My assumption here is that you have built the sound driver into your kernel, and you are not using modules. Am I correct?
If I am then I think I'm on the right track to fixing your problem. Then the answer to your next question is no, you don't need to add ALSA_CARDS="intel8x0". The one thing I'm not sure of is if arts uses its own drivers somehow. I don't think it does.
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

donjuan wrote:
My assumption here is that you have built the sound driver into your kernel, and you are not using modules. Am I correct?
If I am then I think I'm on the right track to fixing your problem. Then the answer to your next question is no, you don't need to add ALSA_CARDS="intel8x0". The one thing I'm not sure of is if arts uses its own drivers somehow. I don't think it does.


Okay so for starters I need to take out the "ALSA_CARDS=" line in my make.conf then I guess I need to recompile? Will that fix my issue? I am relatively new at this, and I appreciate your patience.
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess I need to know what you did to try to get sound working before I started helping you.
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nenn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 95
Location: NYC, NY

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the ALSA_CARDS flag is only used (to my knowledge) when compiling alsa-drivers from the portage tree but from that error message its possible you have alsa installed (somehow , it wont install if you have ALSA even mentioned in the kernel .config file) and since the proper driver are in the kernel they then fail to load because its looking for modules, my suggestion check out this file "/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-X.X" (where X.X is the kernel youre using, example im using 2.6.10 so mine is kernel-2.6) and remove the lines where the drivers are being loaded, if the arent in there, you are going to have to remove alsasound from boot (although this doesnt seem like a good idea but im not too sure so someone please correct me if i am wrong) using "rc-update del alsasound" and if you are still worried about no sound, kill your X server and run mplayer or mpg123 or any type of mp3 player on the command line and if it works you have the drivers in your kernel already. i hope this makes sence, im really tired :D good luck!!
_________________
Who says i cant grow up to become a robot?
They all just want to crush my dreams damnit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

donjuan wrote:
I guess I need to know what you did to try to get sound working before I started helping you.


Sorry I went on a little vacation.

I changed a couple of things in my .config to add in sound and then I added the ALSA_CARDS line to the make.conf. That's pretty much it, is there something I can post that will help you more?
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just cd to
Code:
/usr/src/your-kernel-source
make menuconfig

then follow the kernel tree to the Device Drivers, Sound, Alsa , PCI Devices and the intel8x0 there is most likely marked with *, just select it and mark it by pressing "m" as <M>.
That should most likely fix it.

Don't forget:

Code:
make && make modules_install
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernelname
cp Systems.map /boot/system.map-kernelname
cp .config /boot/config-kernelname

_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OR, if you do have a <*> as mentioned in the above post you have sound 'built-in and all you have to do is stop the error message by putting a hash (#) in front of the last line of the following code found in /etc/modules.d/alsa..
Code:
#
# ALSA portion
options snd  device_mode=0666
alias char-major-116 snd
#alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0

easier than re-doing your kernel..
mvh
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cintra wrote:
OR, if you do have a <*> as mentioned in the above post you have sound 'built-in and all you have to do is stop the error message by putting a hash (#) in front of the last line of the following code found in /etc/modules.d/alsa..
Code:
#
# ALSA portion
options snd  device_mode=0666
alias char-major-116 snd
#alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0

easier than re-doing your kernel..
mvh


This seemed to work. Will it have any adverse effects?
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cintra
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Apr 2004
Posts: 2111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.
thats what I've been running with since choosing built-in sound drivers some time ago..
the built-in driver in 2.6.11 is at version 1.08 for others who may wonder.
mvh
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers" W.S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah you're right it's easier that way, so he doesn't need a kernel-rebuild.
I didn't think of that possibility as i rebuild my kernel nearly every day during the last week 8O
_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morimando wrote:
yeah you're right it's easier that way, so he doesn't need a kernel-rebuild.
I didn't think of that possibility as i rebuild my kernel nearly every day during the last week 8O


Just for the heck of it I rebuilt choosing the sound stuff as a module and now I have no sound in KDE.
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nicholas.Walker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar thing with the error messages saying that module snd_timer or snd_pcm or snd_ac97 had an unknown symbol in the module or unknonwn parameter. I did try the suggested fixes for built-in drivers but I still cannot get my sound to work. I did manage to get esound working for a short time so I know the signal paths are working but I can't get any sound from xine or xmms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WeirDave wrote:
Morimando wrote:
yeah you're right it's easier that way, so he doesn't need a kernel-rebuild.
I didn't think of that possibility as i rebuild my kernel nearly every day during the last week 8O


Just for the heck of it I rebuilt choosing the sound stuff as a module and now I have no sound in KDE.

you need to uncomment the line you left commented in /etc/modules.d/alsa, and also don''t forget adding alsasound to default runlevel
rc-update add alsasound default
_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nicholas.Walker wrote:
I had a similar thing with the error messages saying that module snd_timer or snd_pcm or snd_ac97 had an unknown symbol in the module or unknonwn parameter. I did try the suggested fixes for built-in drivers but I still cannot get my sound to work. I did manage to get esound working for a short time so I know the signal paths are working but I can't get any sound from xine or xmms.

Have you activated the following in your kernel:
Code:
module versioning support
source checksum for all modules
(both found in "Loadable module support")

If yes then deactivate it and compile alsa new.
_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morimando wrote:
you need to uncomment the line you left commented in /etc/modules.d/alsa, and also don''t forget adding alsasound to default runlevel rc-update add alsasound default


alsa appears in rc-update as boot for some reason and I did uncomment that line with no results
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

built in as module, did make && make modules_install, alsa-utils emerged, lines uncommented, alsasound in default runlevel?
Should work.. btw.: i experienced some problem having alsasound in boot runlevel, so try default
_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morimando wrote:
built in as module, did make && make modules_install, alsa-utils emerged, lines uncommented, alsasound in default runlevel?
Should work.. btw.: i experienced some problem having alsasound in boot runlevel, so try default


I changed it to default instead. I don't remember adding it as boot. I am not certain how it got there. Maybe the settings in my .config file are wrong?
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morimando
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2005
Posts: 339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

.config

Code:
nano -w /etc/modules.d/alsa

##  ALSA portion
alias snd-card-0 snd-0-intel8x0
## alias snd-card-1 snd-1
##

modules-update
/etc/init.d/alsasound stop
/etc/init.d/alsasound start

if you ain't got errors in that, do rc-update add alsasound boot (should work although i myself had problems, however feel free to try add alsasound default)
run amixer, if you got lots of output it should be fine, use alsamixer to set your mixerlevels.
Avoid IEC, those channels should be muted with intel8x0 (at least when using an nforce chipset)
_________________
That young girl is one of the least benightedly unintelligent organic life forms it has been my profound lack of pleasure not to be able to avoid meeting.
-- Marvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nicholas.Walker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did ACCEPT_KEYWORD="~x86" emerge xmms xmms-alsa.
with blackbox or any other wm besides enlightenment it says that it can't find alsa-1.2.0
The modules load with no error at boot up but I have no sound with xmms, mpg123 or xmcd

I'm completely confused.

lsmod still only lists nvidia and tg3 (my ethernet card)
it doesn't list alsa or anything to do with sound

rc-update -s lists alsasound loading at boot
the hardware is fine and the computer knows it is there. there seems to be a jam in the software somewhere.

I went back to the kernel and this time under device drivers --> sound I compiled Sound Card Support as M and ALSA as M I then went in and under PCI devices compiled the driver for the AC97 sound card.

after copying the new kernel over and rebooting all ALSA modules load without error and lsmod now lists snd_seq_device and snd_mixer_oss, as well as nvidia and tg3 but still no mention of the alsa sound card

modules-update doesn't help the issue at all.

in the boot messages it says that snd-card-0 which is aliased to snd-intel8x0 loaded fine

when i run xmms with a test mp3 it says failed to open audio output: ALSA 1.2.10 output plugin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WeirDave
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 194
Location: Tampabay Florida

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morimando wrote:
.config

Code:
nano -w /etc/modules.d/alsa

##  ALSA portion
alias snd-card-0 snd-0-intel8x0
## alias snd-card-1 snd-1
##

modules-update
/etc/init.d/alsasound stop
/etc/init.d/alsasound start

if you ain't got errors in that, do rc-update add alsasound boot (should work although i myself had problems, however feel free to try add alsasound default)
run amixer, if you got lots of output it should be fine, use alsamixer to set your mixerlevels.
Avoid IEC, those channels should be muted with intel8x0 (at least when using an nforce chipset)


I decided to post my config:

# Alsa 0.9.X kernel modules' configuration file.
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/media-sound/alsa-utils/files/alsa-modules.conf-rc,v 1.4 2004/11/16 01:31:22 eradicator Exp $

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=1

In addition when I try to stop alsasound I get this:

bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/alsasound stop
* Storing ALSA Mixer Levels... [ ok ]
* Unloading ALSA... [ ok ]
* Unloading ALSA modules... [ !! ]
_________________
\\eir]>ave
http://www.weirdave.com &
http://aatrade.weirdave.com
Home of The Library and The eXpanse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sheepdogj15
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 430
Location: Backyard

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WeirDave, When you are not in X (KDE), at the bash prompt, type "amixer". let us know if you get any output, as that will tell us if the kernel itself is loading the driver and detecting the hardware. also:

Quote:
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##


in the above, i'd uncomment the second line, the one that says, "alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0". while not necessary, it is needed for OSS compatibility.

Nicholas...

Quote:
I did ACCEPT_KEYWORD="~x86" emerge xmms xmms-alsa.
with blackbox or any other wm besides enlightenment it says that it can't find alsa-1.2.0
The modules load with no error at boot up but I have no sound with xmms, mpg123 or xmcd

...

when i run xmms with a test mp3 it says failed to open audio output: ALSA 1.2.10 output plugin


this probably won't solve your problem, but was there a reason you used the testing branch? (i don't know anything about WMs other than KDE, so i'll difer that to someone else.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nicholas.Walker wrote:
I did ACCEPT_KEYWORD="~x86" emerge xmms xmms-alsa.

Please don't you ACCEPT_KEYWORDS on the command-line like that. I know it was in the handbook, but that was before the /etc/portage/package.* files. For more information as to why and an alternative, please see this post.
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum