Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is Gentoo usable on a 486?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2003 2:51 am    Post subject: Is Gentoo usable on a 486? Reply with quote

Not without problems, I got it installed on my laying-around 486.

Full Spec:
CPU: Intel 80486 DX2/66
Memory: DRAM 4x4MB + 4x1MB (All 36 pins 70ns)
Hard Drive: Samsung IDE UDMA33 3GB (or so)
Video: Trident (some model) 256Kb
Nics: 2x 3Com 3C509 ISA 16bits
All the usual rest for junks (serial mouse, monitor, bla bla).

Gentoo spec:
Kernel: 2.4.20
CPU type: Intel 386
Everything is modular except boot time needed.
File system: Reiserfs
Compile options:
USE="-X" (of course)
CHOST=i386-pc-linux-gnu
CFLAGS="-march=i386 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
Compiler: gcc 3.2.1

Once booted, it runs suprisingly smoothly for a 2.4.20 kernel (compares very well to the Freesco 0.3.0 that used to run on it which use a 2.0.39 kernel). Running top on a "plain" configuration (that is, minimal services) and you can see that top itself is the process taking the most juice out of the cpu
Code:
 21:17:30  up 1 day,  2:33,  3 users,  load average: 0.07, 0.13, 0.17
28 processes: 27 sleeping, 1 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
CPU states: 13.6% user,  5.2% system,  0.0% nice,  0.0% iowait, 81.1% idle
Mem:    17196k av,   14768k used,    2428k free,       0k shrd,    2148k buff
         5948k active,               4964k inactive
Swap:  133048k av,    3040k used,  130008k free                    6372k cached

  PID USER     PRI  NI  SIZE  RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM   TIME COMMAND
15755 root      16   0   968  968   736 R    13.3  5.6   0:01 top
 3038 root       9   0   300   80    80 S     5.3  0.4   1:14 sshd
    1 root       9   0   172  128   120 S     0.0  0.7   0:07 init
    2 root       9   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:02 keventd
    3 root      19  19     0    0     0 SWN   0.0  0.0   0:04 ksoftirqd_CPU0
    4 root       9   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   2:59 kswapd
    5 root       9   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00 bdflush
    6 root       9   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   1:38 kupdated
    8 root       9   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00 khubd
    9 root       9   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00 kreiserfsd
   27 root       9   0   484  400   392 S     0.0  2.3   0:01 devfsd
 2523 root       9   0   384  380   360 S     0.0  2.2   0:00 metalog
 2525 root       9   0   136   88    88 S     0.0  0.5   0:00 metalog
 2685 root       9   0    96   52    52 S     0.0  0.3   0:00 agetty
 2686 root       9   0   292   84    84 S     0.0  0.4   0:01 login
 2687 root       9   0   292   84    84 S     0.0  0.4   0:01 login
 2688 root       9   0    96   52    52 S     0.0  0.3   0:00 agetty
 2689 root       9   0    96   52    52 S     0.0  0.3   0:00 agetty
 2690 root       9   0    96   52    52 S     0.0  0.3   0:00 agetty
 2691 root       9   0   876  772   768 S     0.0  4.4   0:15 bash
 2705 root       9   0   744  560   556 S     0.0  3.2   0:07 bash
 3005 root       9   0   128   76    76 S     0.0  0.4   0:00 dhcpcd
 3043 root       9   0   660  504   452 S     0.0  2.9   0:08 bash
14414 root       9   0   488  456   432 S     0.0  2.6   0:00 gpm
15626 root       9   0  1624 1416  1196 S     0.0  8.2   0:22 mc
15627 root       9   0   432  360   332 S     0.0  2.0   0:00 cons.saver
15628 root       9   0  1184 1076   920 S     0.0  6.2   0:01 bash


I admit, I compiled that on a Celeron box with 128MB ram. 1st off, the ramdisk from the stage1 is just too big to fit with the kernel into 20MB (or 20MB is not enough... whatever). 2nd, if someone has the time and is curious enough to know how much time it would take to compile a Gentoo install on a 486, i'd like to know. I'm guessing (just guessing) that it range between a week and 1 month (probably more 1 month).

As for usability, when you hear that Python is slow, you easely feel the thow it has on a 486. You also realize that there are a lot of Python calls during the boot process (like in "generating modules dependencies" and the sort)... It's llllooooonnnnngggggg. Booting the dino takes more than 3 minutes. Doing an "emerge -p whatever-is-simple" takes close to 2 minutes to complete.

Compilation? Also insanly slow, but that is expected. Just for the fun of it, I emerge slang this afternoon, it took about 4 hours. I imagine it would be like 15 minues (maybe less) on my Celeron box.

So, rule of thumb, Gentoo is excellent to build a RUNNING box. What I mean is, make your setup on a performante machine and then copy the result to the 486 (of course, I, simply transferd the whole HD on a Celeron). Emerging and all of portage is barely usable. A simple env-update is slow! If you don't plan to update the box often, it is a go. If you plan on updating a lot, forget it. I compiled a few simple things on it (like sshd) and, beleive me, when I do, I know it's going to take hours. So I don't plan doing that too much. emerge world? forget it.

Any other who is more hardcore extreme to have tried it on a 386? I have a 386sx16 but has only 8MB. For sure it wont run on that. I'll try it soon. For the fun of it.
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 8:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Is Gentoo usable on a 486? Reply with quote

tecknojunky wrote:

CPU type: Intel 386
CHOST=i386-pc-linux-gnu
CFLAGS="-march=i386 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"


shouldn't you use '486' rather than '386'?

http://www.freehackers.org/gentoo/gccflags/
lists

Code:

CHOST="i486-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=i486 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="-march=i486 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"


that might give you a boost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 8:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Is Gentoo usable on a 486? Reply with quote

tecknojunky wrote:
2nd, if someone has the time and is curious enough to know how much time it would take to compile a Gentoo install on a 486, i'd like to know. I'm guessing (just guessing) that it range between a week and 1 month (probably more 1 month).


my 90MHz pentium took about six days to bootstrap from stage1 using distcc with a donor 700MHz athlon tbird. there were some idle hours too because I didn't supervise it the whole time.

I didn't think to add '-java' to my USE flags so it spent at least 8 to 10 hours on gcc's java support which all had to be done locally. distcc can't distribute gcj.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The i386 flag works just fine on my 486. Well, I think. I never succesfully got everything working like I wanted with gentoo, that, on whatever machine I tried it on. Always some little thing not quite ok and you must than analyse the whole system to try to put your finger on it. I blame it mostly on my newbiness, but also in part to Gentoo's lack (if any) of intuitivity.

I sometime feel like gentoo makes things more complicated than needed. I wish sometimes I could just edit the scripts but I can't because they will get overwritten at some point (which I often don't know when). For example, try to set LS_OPTIONS=' --color=auto -F' in /etc/env.d/00basic. You'll see that something is wrong with that. Obviously, 00basic is not simply imported into another script ( . /etc/env.d/00basic) otherwise bash would leave the = alone.

About java. I got that compiled also on all my system because I was unaware that gcc even supported that. I realised that when, like you, I tought this gcc thing was long to build. The installation document does not emphasize enough (does it?) on what I considere a critical step in installing gentoo, and that's setting the proper USE variable for your needs. So, even gentoo is bloatedware (to some extent) when you start with it because you blindly assume it will not install anything without your holly permission. How wrong was I :D

Like I often say, I'm indugent because Gentoo is being put togheter, still. But as it is, it's far from being perfect yet (to my own taste anyway)
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the compiled code will just be faster if you use 486 rather than 386.

if you have CONFIG_PROTECT set (or even at the default) nothing in /etc should ever be overwritten by portage.

in my /etc/make.globals, I have this line:

Code:

CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /var/qmail/control /usr/share/config /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config"


and then CONFIG_PROTECT doesn't appear at all in /etc/make.conf

I've never changed it, so this must be the default. with that set, anytime an update wants to put a file in /etc and a file with the same name already exists, it will create ._cfg0000_file instead. that's where etc-update comes in; etc-update is the tool which helps you merge in changes from portage without losing your personal changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

486 vs 386: maybe so, but then the binaries would not run at all on a 386 woudln't they.

CONFIG_PROTECT: There are a few (a lot) of little twists like that that i'm unaware of.
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

true, if you put '486' in there it won't run on a 386. but fortunately your running system is a 486 :lol:

I'm surprised you don't already have CONFIG_PROTECT in /etc/make.globals, i think it's the default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zojas wrote:
true, if you put '486' in there it won't run on a 386. but fortunately your running system is a 486 :lol:


Yes, but i'm using this as a development system to be runned on at least a 386 (well, will try to acheive this). Portage is a no go on 386 or 486 (P1?). So if you want to build a custom Linux system that will run on at least a 386, I need to compile it for a 386, even if i'm testing on a 486.

zojas wrote:
I'm surprised you don't already have CONFIG_PROTECT in /etc/make.globals, i think it's the default.


I guess I do. But I like to fudge the scripts myself. In gentoo, all the scripts in /etc/init.d are dynamically created (I think). This is a pain because i'm slave to whatever implementation the "who" decided that Gentoo works like that and no other way, I have to oblige to that... for the moment.

For example, I modified the net.eth0 scripts so that I can use both ifconfig arguments and dhcpcd. The way things are done now is that in /etc/conf.d/net, you can use either way but not both because it is defined by the same variable (ifcfg_eth0 if I remember correctly). So to use dhcpcd you need to set ifcfg_eth0 to "dhcp". But I also need to lower my mtu to 1492 because my local lan access the internet on a PPPoE connection. So I have to use a ifconfig eth mtu 1492 in rc.local(?) or I can modify (which I did) net.eth0 to process ifcfg_eth0 differently. My fear is that net.eth0 will some day be overwritten by some automated process. So, in short, I'm slave to use configuration files instead of scripts files.

I'll, some day, find the code that creates those scripts (if they exists) and either modify them or shortcut them. Maybe I'll find out my conception of the whole darn thing is flawed (like, does CONFIG_PROTECT apply to the content of /etc/init.d?). Either way, in no way am i in control of how gentoo does its things.
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tecknojunky wrote:

(like, does CONFIG_PROTECT apply to the content of /etc/init.d?). Either way, in no way am i in control of how gentoo does its things.


it does apply to /etc/init.d. I've updated lots of files in that directory through etc-update after an 'emerge -u world'

you might want to read
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/rc-scripts.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2003 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx,
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum