Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
I'd like to remaster Knoppix on my Gentoo box . . .
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
somas1
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 5:52 pm    Post subject: I'd like to remaster Knoppix on my Gentoo box . . . Reply with quote

I'd like to remaster Knoppix or Morphix on my Gentoo box but did not create an extra partition when I fdisk'ed my drive. Is there a way to resize my current partition without destroying any data on it?

Any help or pointers appreciated. I did google for this but being a newb I'd like to confer with someone about the best way to go about this.
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:28 pm    Post subject: Re: I'd like to remaster Knoppix on my Gentoo box . . . Reply with quote

somas1 wrote:
I'd like to remaster Knoppix or Morphix on my Gentoo box but did not create an extra partition when I fdisk'ed my drive. Is there a way to resize my current partition without destroying any data on it?

Any help or pointers appreciated. I did google for this but being a newb I'd like to confer with someone about the best way to go about this.

Remaster? To make a livecd or to work with them on the hd?
If the response is the firs you can make a loopback filesystem on an easy way.
Code:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/path/to/file bs=1024 count=700000
mkfs.reiserfs /path/to/file
mount -oloop /path/to/file /mnt/knoppix

Then you can access your loopback filesystem on /mnt/knoppix.
The example creates a 700mb filesystem, you can change these value if you want.[/code]
[EDIT]
Postdata: there are resizing tools, but i don't know anything about reiserfs, anyway, if it exists is, for sure, unsafe to use.
[/EDIT]
somas1
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote