View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ONEEYEMAN
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:31 am    Post subject: GUI setup Reply with quote

Hi, ALL,
Now, that I have a nice good-looking installation, I would like to have a GUI interface, because I'd like to write programs with GUI. I am a C/C++ programmer, have some experience with MFC, now I want to check what do I have in Linux/UNIX for GUI development.
As far as GUI concern, I know that there are 2 most popular shells Gnome and KDE. I asked at the office and one of my co-worker said that KDE is better. Maybe because he already used it? :D
Anyway, my task is to create a nice GUI environment for development for myself, and high resolution high color GUI environment for my wife to edit the photographs we made and will make.

What is best shell to use for those task?
Also, since I am talking about GUI, I would like to know something about software called LinNeighborhood. Thing is It gives an opportunity for RedHat, Debian, FreeBSD and Slackware. It should interconnect Windows and Linux machine on the network. Maybe there is something for Gentoo, or somebody already using this with the Gentoo successfully?

Thank you for any comments.
_never_
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE has much more features than Gnome, but the latter one is faster and takes less memory. You might also give XFCE a try, which is a lightweight desktop. By the way: this is not called a shell. The shell is the command processor (the command line) you use. In the Gentoo default installation it's bash (the Bourne Again Shell).

You might also want to try out some non-desktop window manager like Fluxbox, some *box (like Openbox) or FVWM (which I use). Check out the screenshots throughout the Gentoo forums.