View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Koenpje Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jan 2005 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 12:55 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Add a device to modules.autoload.d |
|
|
I have installed Gentoo + Gnome. I then uninstalled Coldplug because he always hanged @ coldplugging PCI devices, but now my onboard network card doesn't work anymore.
I think I need to add it @ /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 But how do I do that??
Last edited by Koenpje on Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:28 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hds Advocate
Joined: 21 Aug 2004 Posts: 2629 Location: Sprockhoevel [GER]
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
does the network card work if you modprobe the module? if so, simply edit /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and add the module. the file already contains an example. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Koenpje Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jan 2005 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did see the file, and the example, but what do I need to typ? Just eth0? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GungHo Apprentice
Joined: 27 Aug 2004 Posts: 254
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, you need the name of the module for your ethernetcard, in my case de4x5, or de2104x as another example |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gogiel Guru
Joined: 11 Nov 2004 Posts: 347
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@Up
You were first
For expamle if your card is RealTek RTL-8139 C+ the module'll be called 8139cp.
But you have to know what card do you have and then find it in kernel manual. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Koenpje Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jan 2005 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe a dumb question but how do I found the right name of my card? With modprobe? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gogiel Guru
Joined: 11 Nov 2004 Posts: 347
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Koenpje wrote: | Maybe a dumb question but how do I found the right name of my card? With modprobe? |
You dont know what do you have in your own computer?? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Koenpje Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jan 2005 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Offcourse I know
But I don't think it's just "Nvidia onboard NIC", that's why I want to know where I can read the name that Gentoo has given to it. Like you said beforce:
Code: |
For expamle if your card is RealTek RTL-8139 C+ the module'll be called 8139cp.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
hds Advocate
Joined: 21 Aug 2004 Posts: 2629 Location: Sprockhoevel [GER]
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
go to
/lib/modules/2.x.xx/
(x.xx = your kernel)
you find your modules there. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chunderbunny Veteran
Joined: 31 May 2004 Posts: 1281 Location: 51°24'27" N, 0°57'15" W
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The nvidia onboard nic is usually handled by the "forcedeth" driver module. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kingcrunch n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 20 Location: west-germany
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
-output of 'lspci' should show a NIC,
-google for that chipset (sth. like 'chipset module name')
-look for module in kernel ('help' will help...)
-compile it to your preferences (module or inside-kernel)
add the module name to your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel2.(kernelversion, 4 or 6)
modules-update.
probably reboot would be nice (okok, its linux not windows...).
procedure works for almost every pci device (not when its not plugged in or damaged to death )
if there was no ethernet connection before ignore my post. _________________ Aahm... Signature! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hds Advocate
Joined: 21 Aug 2004 Posts: 2629 Location: Sprockhoevel [GER]
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kingcrunch wrote: | -output of 'lspci' should show a NIC,
|
is this also true for an onboard nic? just wondering (cant tell, have an external pci realtek). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chunderbunny Veteran
Joined: 31 May 2004 Posts: 1281 Location: 51°24'27" N, 0°57'15" W
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, onboard devices are usually listed as art of the PCI bus. There's no point creating a special bus just for onboard devices, so they go on the PCI bus. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Koenpje Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jan 2005 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When I typ:
Code: |
/lib/modules/2.6.10
or
ls /lib/modules/2.6.10
|
He sais that the directory or file doesn't excist?
In the output of lspci I found something like this:
Ethernet Controller: Nvidia Corporation Nforce2 Ethernet Controller (Rev A1) and also the same, but then from 3com (also onboard) with 3C920B-EMB behind it.
So I typed 3C920B-EMB @ /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 but when I reboot het sais while booting that he can't load the module. And I don't know how I need to write the "Nvidia Corporation Nforce2 Ethernet Controller (Rev A1)" @ modules.autoload.d ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hds Advocate
Joined: 21 Aug 2004 Posts: 2629 Location: Sprockhoevel [GER]
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Koenpje wrote: | When I typ:
Code: |
/lib/modules/2.6.10
or
ls /lib/modules/2.6.10
|
He sais that the directory or file doesn't excist?
|
you cant type "/lib/modules/2.6.10" or whatever. sorry, doode, get yourself familiar with basic bash commands
see the directory? ok, cd in there.
btw.. use midnight commander, for you this will be a great help! "emerge mc".
hmm.. before we discuss from dusk till dawn, type "ls -R /lib/modules" and post the relevant output. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hds Advocate
Joined: 21 Aug 2004 Posts: 2629 Location: Sprockhoevel [GER]
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
chunderbunny wrote: | Yes, onboard devices are usually listed as art of the PCI bus. There's no point creating a special bus just for onboard devices, so they go on the PCI bus. |
thx chunderbunny. didnt know that. i actually hate boards with onboard net, graphic, whatever, so i didnt know. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Koenpje Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Jan 2005 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I found the module I needed, and it was indeed like said before "forcedeth". I added that @ /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and everything is working fine now. I do have some questions:
I have an ATi Radeon 9800pro, is it wise to install ATi-drivers?
How do I install UT2004 for example? I don't think it will work with "emerge"?
How can I acces my files/music on my sata windows hard disks? Or can't I? Because you need a NTFS driver for that I think? So I can't play music from my hard drive while i'm on Gentoo Linux?
edit:I also want to control my mouse, to make it faster, I have a MX510 and on Windows I have the program from Logitech, but what now? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hds Advocate
Joined: 21 Aug 2004 Posts: 2629 Location: Sprockhoevel [GER]
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Koenpje wrote: |
How do I install UT2004 for example? I don't think it will work with "emerge"? |
yes, it will. have your CDs (or DVD) and serial# ready.
and - finally, what about using the search function of this board? this is not a chat! you cant simply stuff all of your problems in one topic. this is annoying.
your added questions have nothing to do with modules.autload.d, right?
edit yours 1st post in this thread, adda [SOLVED] to the subject.
and then leave this topiu alone.
Last edited by hds on Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:06 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cadorna Apprentice
Joined: 30 Dec 2004 Posts: 215 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Koenpje wrote: |
I have an ATi Radeon 9800pro, is it wise to install ATi-drivers?
|
In gentoo documentation you will find the doc for proper ATI drivers installation
Koenpje wrote: |
How do I install UT2004 for example? I don't think it will work with "emerge"?
|
there is an ebuild for ut2004 in packages.gentoo.org, games-fps section
Koenpje wrote: |
How can I acces my files/music on my sata windows hard disks? Or can't I? Because you need a NTFS driver for that I think? So I can't play music from my hard drive while i'm on Gentoo Linux?
|
you need NTFS support in your kernel or as a module kernel, then a /etc/fstab line for the partition
Koenpje wrote: |
edit:I also want to control my mouse, to make it faster, I have a MX510 and on Windows I have the program from Logitech, but what now? |
I will assume you are talking of mouse under X, should change you mouse section
Code: |
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
# Option "BaudRate" "9600"
# Option "SampleRate" "150"
# Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
EndSection
|
I think speed it's controled by Option "SampleRate" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|