Question before installing - Speed issue
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
seib3377
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2003 10:05 pm    Post subject: Question before installing - Speed issue Reply with quote

Sorry, I read through the FAQ as well as News & Announcements and I couldn't find an answer to my question, so I figured since the majority of you run Gentoo or are in the process of installing it, you could help me.

I've been using RedHat linux for little over two years now. To support the community I try to purchase a boxed set of the operating system every two full version release. Recently I upgraded to 8.0 and while I found the operating system *utterly* beautiful, I find it to be extremely slow. Rather then go back to RH 7.3, I've decided to venture off into a different distribution. Leaving RedHat will be heard, but I think its about time. The two distributions I'm considering are Debian & Gentoo. I briefly considered a Linux From Scratch, but I decided against it.

I'm curious how much faster Gentoo is compared to other operating systems, specifically RedHat & Debian. My school machine is an Intel Pentium 4 1.4Ghz with 128MBs of RAM. I typically use it for surfing the net (via Mozilla), typing papers (via OpenOffice.org) and talking to friends (via gaim).

I want a speed demon, is Gentoo the way to go?

Thanks for the information.
krusty_ar
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2003 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

probably yes, if you are willing to give time to compile everithing :smile:

i used to have mdk8.1 (loved it) and i can notice a big performance gap
mdk was a i586 distro and rh (iirc) is a i386 distro, the gap should be greater (in theory).

for a bigger performance boost you should try prelnking (in any distro)