View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
|Spiller| n00b
Joined: 15 May 2003 Posts: 20 Location: Macedonia, Europe
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 7:31 pm Post subject: basic network setup question(s) [solved] |
|
|
Ok, I just bought a router (DL-604) and I'd like to setup a network consisting of two computers A and B both running gentoo (or winxp on occasions). I need to be able to share the internet cable connection, ssh into both computers from the outside, vnc to A from the outside, and serve www pages from A. (and is it possible to do something like:
ssh A.domainname.tld
ssh B.domainname.tld
but www.domainname.tld to serve from A?
How would I go about this?
Last edited by |Spiller| on Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:16 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54804 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|Spiller|,
Its not quite that simple. ssh normally runs on port 22. If you only have one public IP, that restricts you to one PC responded to port 22.
However, you can run ssh on any port you like, as long as its not being used for some other service. that means you can do
Code: | ssh domainname.tld:22
ssh domainname.tld:222 | and the PCs will respond to their own ports. You can drop the :22 if you use the defualt port.
You could also ssh to the second via the first, if that would help.
Everything else will work out of the box when you set up your port forwaring in the router. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|Spiller| n00b
Joined: 15 May 2003 Posts: 20 Location: Macedonia, Europe
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | |Spiller|,
Its not quite that simple. ssh normally runs on port 22. If you only have one public IP, that restricts you to one PC responded to port 22.
However, you can run ssh on any port you like, as long as its not being used for some other service. that means you can do
Code: | ssh domainname.tld:22
ssh domainname.tld:222 | and the PCs will respond to their own ports. You can drop the :22 if you use the defualt port.
You could also ssh to the second via the first, if that would help.
Everything else will work out of the box when you set up your port forwaring in the router. |
I wasn't aware of the port forwarding. Now I got it.
Thanks NeddySeagoon |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|