Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Issue launching amarok ..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fluoroalien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:41 pm    Post subject: Issue launching amarok .. Reply with quote

After upgrading to KDE 3.4 I have a strange issue ...

Code:
bash-2.05b$ which amarok
/usr/kde/3.4/bin/amarok
bash-2.05b$ amarok
bash: /usr/kde/3.3/bin/amarok: No such file or directory



Launching it as "/usr/kde/3.4/bin/amarok" works fine, but why can't I just run "amarok"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justanothergentoofanatic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 337

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you type the name of a command without a full path, the bash shell has to determine the full path to the executable somehow. This is done using the PATH environment variable, which contains a list of all the directories bash should check for executable files. Your PATH doesn't contain the directory /usr/kde/3.4/bin/, so bash can't find the executable called 'amarok.'

You can either add the directory to your PATH:
export PATH="$PATH:/usr/kde/3.4/bin"

Or, since /usr/bin is already in your PATH, make a symlink from /usr/bin to the KDE diretory:
ln -s /usr/kde/3.4/bin/amarok /usr/bin/amarok

-Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fluoroalien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Err.

Actually /usr/kde/3.4/bin is already in my $PATH.

Notice the first two lines I quoted in my original post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjholden
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 826
Location: Augusta, GA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:28 am    Post subject: Re: Issue launching amarok .. Reply with quote

Fluoroalien wrote:
bash-2.05b$ amarok
bash: /usr/kde/3.3/bin/amarok: No such file or directory
That's weird. Can you post the output of
Code:
cat $PATH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fluoroalien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
bash-2.05b$ echo $PATH
/usr/kde/3.4/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.3.5:/opt/Acrobat5:
\ /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/bin:/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/jre/bin:/usr/qt/3/bin:/usr/kde/3.4/bin:
\ /usr/kde/3.3/bin:/usr/kde/3.2/bin:/usr/games/bin:/usr/share/karamba/bin:/usr/games/bin:/usr/games/bin


(line breaks added by me)

I'm not sure why kde/3.4/bin is mentioned twice, as I didn't add it manually at all, but otherwise it looks fairly normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjholden
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 826
Location: Augusta, GA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this is a little out of my league. But what you could try is
Code:
$ unset $PATH
$ export PATH=/usr/kde/3.4/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.3.5:/opt/Acrobat5:
\ /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/bin:/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/jre/bin:/usr/qt/3/bin:/usr/kde/3.4/bin:
\ /usr/games/bin:/usr/share/karamba/bin:/usr/games/bin:/usr/games/bin
The only thing I changed was to remove /usr/kde/3.2/bin and /usr/kde/3.3/bin. When you open a new terminal it'll go right back to the original value, though, so I don't know how you change it permanently. Workaround: ln -s /usr/kde/3.4/bin/amarok /usr/kde/3.3/bin/amarok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fluoroalien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

destuxor wrote:
Ok, this is a little out of my league. But what you could try is
Code:
$ unset $PATH
$ export PATH=/usr/kde/3.4/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/3.3.5:/opt/Acrobat5:
\ /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/bin:/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.2.01/jre/bin:/usr/qt/3/bin:/usr/kde/3.4/bin:
\ /usr/games/bin:/usr/share/karamba/bin:/usr/games/bin:/usr/games/bin
The only thing I changed was to remove /usr/kde/3.2/bin and /usr/kde/3.3/bin.[/code]


I'll try that when I get home (just got into work), but to be honest it'll probably confuse me more if that works, because it should be finding it in /3.4/bin first and the presence of those later in the path shouldn't make any difference (assuming my understanding of PATH is accurate)

Quote:
Code:
Workaround: ln -s /usr/kde/3.4/bin/amarok /usr/kde/3.3/bin/amarok


The easiest workaround is just for me to launch it from the K Menu, it's not presenting me with a major problem getting it to run, it's just that this is confusing the hell out of me and I really want to know what's going on :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum