Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wmware-config.pl vmmon module problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
matt_30
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:01 pm    Post subject: wmware-config.pl vmmon module problems Reply with quote

i have ermerged vmware-workstation and run the script vmware-config.pl

none of the pre-built vmmon modules are sutable for my kernel (2.6.10-gentoo-r7)

when i try to compile the module i get the following error:

Code:
Building the vmmon module.

Building for VMware Workstation 4.5.2 or VMware GSX Server 3.1.0.
Using 2.6.x kernel build system.
make: Entering directory `/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r7/build/include/.. SUBDIRS=$PWD SRCROOT=$PWD/. modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r7'
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.o
In file included from /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.c:49:
/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.h:88:1: warning: "DEVICE_NAME_SIZE" redefined
In file included from include/linux/miscdevice.h:5,
                 from /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.h:12,
                 from /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.c:49:
include/linux/device.h:25:1: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/hostif.o
In file included from /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/hostif.c:57:
/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.h:88:1: warning: "DEVICE_NAME_SIZE" redefined
In file included from include/linux/miscdevice.h:5,
                 from /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.h:12,
                 from /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/hostif.c:57:
include/linux/device.h:25:1: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/common/cpuid.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/common/hash.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/common/memtrack.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/common/phystrack.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/common/task.o
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wstrict-prototypes" is valid for C/ObjC butnot for C++
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wdeclaration-after-statement" is valid for C/ObjC but not for C++
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wstrict-prototypes" is valid for C/ObjC butnot for C++
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/common/vmx86.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/vmcore/compat.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/vmcore/moduleloop.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/vmmon.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST
  CC      /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/vmmon.mod.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/vmmon.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r7'
cp -f vmmon.ko ./../vmmon.o
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only'
The module loads perfectly in the running kernel.

mknod: `/dev/vmmon': File exists
Unable to create the character device /dev/vmmon with major number 10 and minor
number 165.

Execution aborted.


any ideas?
_________________
Matt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to me you are not using udev enabled gentoo. You can workaround this problem by manually removing vmware device nodes;
Code:
rm /dev/vmmon /dev/vmnet*

then running vmware-config.pl script.

Cheers
_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt_30
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

udev is running

when i try that line i get:

Code:

tux ~ # rm /dev/vmmon /dev/vmnet*
rm: cannot remove `/dev/vmmon': No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `/dev/vmnet*': No such file or directory

_________________
Matt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, this is other way around then. When the script inserts module, udev automatically creates it's node in /dev hierarchy.

Open file vmware-config.pl (located in /opt/vmware/bin/) and change in line 3051:
Code:
  if (-e '/dev/.devfsd') {

to
Code:
  if (-e '/dev/.devfsd' or -e '/dev/.udev) {

then rerun vmware-config.pl, this time it should be okay.

Cheers
_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt_30
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

line 3051 is diffrent for me.. it reads...

Code:
 shell_string(' parport_release[^' . "\t" . ']*$')


searching for what you put i couldnt find the line in vmware-config.pl
_________________
Matt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is odd indeed, have you used portage for vmware-workstation install, or did you do it manually?

What does
Code:
emerge vmware-workstation -pv
tell you?

The change I have showed you is based on this version;
Code:
 # emerge vmware-workstation -pv

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N    ] app-emulation/vmware-workstation-4.5.2.8848-r5  0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB

_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt_30
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i used portage and used

Code:
emerge vmware-workstation


then ran the config script

emerge vmware-workstation -pv gives me...

Code:
tux linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r7 # emerge vmware-workstation -pv

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild   R   ] app-emulation/vmware-workstation-4.5.2.8848-r5  0 kB

Total size of downloads: 0 kB
tux linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r7 #


_________________
Matt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the version is the same, I don't get the scripts differences though .... it *should* be the same file .... I am using udev myself and haven't got a problem with emerging, didn't need to patch it at all .... can you re-emerge the package and see if you've got the same script again or the one like I have?
_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt_30
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did u mean line 3015 insed of 3051?
_________________
Matt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heck yes, sorry about that :oops:

Could you try to change it like I suggested and rerun vmware-config.pl?
_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matt_30
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that gives me...

Code:


tux linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r7 # vmware-config.pl
Bad name after vmmon' at /opt/vmware/bin/vmware-config.pl line 3020.



line 3020:
Code:


    configure_dev('/dev/vmmon', 10, 165, 1);

_________________
Matt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Birtz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 272
Location: Osijek / Croatia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, just another proof that my perl syntax suck :oops:

Say what, why don't you comment out the whole "if (...) else" block, it only creates device node which is not needed?
_________________
It is not enough to have a good mind. The main thing is to use it well.
-- Rene Descartes

Don't have a childhood hero? How about Rob Hubbard http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/tcworh/profile.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum