View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rutski89 Guru
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 Posts: 468 Location: United States N.Y.
|
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:55 am Post subject: ide-scsi or hard ATAPI |
|
|
I'n on 2.6.10, and want to use cdrecord/xcdroast, should I be on scsi-emulation or not? Outdated tuortials have to so confused.
I emerged cdrecord and did Code: | cdrecord dev=/dev/hdd knoppix.iso | I let it run, there was no progress bar so I stopped it at about 15 mintues. When evern I try to boot from the CD the boot fails on account of missing files and bytes =/ Did I not let it burn long enough? Is it unrelaiable ATAPI recording? Whats up? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
egberts Guru
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 357 Location: Dimmed Cathode Ray Tube
|
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Forget the ide-scsi, no need to emulate SCSI over IDE.
you can use cdrecord as followed:
# cdrecord -dev=ATA -scanbus
Then go over to /etc/default/cdrecord
# vi /etc/default/cdrecord
instead of a line like this:
sony= 0,0,0 24 4m burnfree
You will have a line like that
sony= "ATAIP:0,0,0" 24 4m burnfree
Then you can use xcdroast.... _________________ Clusters of Fry's Special, AMD 2200, 2 GB DDR, 220 GB (2008.1/desktop, stage 1, -O3) x8
HP Compaq Fry's SPecial, AMD 2100, 2 GB DDR, 260 GB (2008.0/server, stage 1, -O3)
Ultra Sparc 5, 256MB, 3GB (2006.1/server, stage 1, -O3) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
egberts Guru
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 357 Location: Dimmed Cathode Ray Tube
|
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, yes. I must mention that xcdroast can do the following
For ripping CD, http://www.xcdroast.org/manual/duplicate.html
For regular audio CD, http://www.xcdroast.org/manual/ripcd.html
For creating regular audio CD, http://www.xcdroast.org/manual/createaudio.html (must have convert MP3 to WAV)
For creating DVD, http://www.xcdroast.org/manual/dvd.html
For VCD, you may have to pre-prepare an ISO image using some MP3 reformatting tool (anyone?) _________________ Clusters of Fry's Special, AMD 2200, 2 GB DDR, 220 GB (2008.1/desktop, stage 1, -O3) x8
HP Compaq Fry's SPecial, AMD 2100, 2 GB DDR, 260 GB (2008.0/server, stage 1, -O3)
Ultra Sparc 5, 256MB, 3GB (2006.1/server, stage 1, -O3) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rutski89 Guru
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 Posts: 468 Location: United States N.Y.
|
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the detailed reply. I found some inconsistencies with my /dev/default/cdrecord though, check it out. Code: | gentoo root # cdrecord dev=ATA --scanbus
Cdrecord-Clone 2.01 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2004 Jörg Schilling
cdrecord: Warning: Running on Linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6
cdrecord: There are unsettled issues with Linux-2.5 and newer.
cdrecord: If you have unexpected problems, please try Linux-2.4 or Solaris.
scsidev: 'ATA'
devname: 'ATA'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Warning: Using badly designed ATAPI via /dev/hd* interface.
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
Using libscg version 'schily-0.8'.
scsibus1:
1,0,0 100) 'Compaq ' 'DVD-ROM DVD-117 ' '1.03' Removable CD-ROM
1,1,0 101) 'LITE-ON ' 'LTR-12102C ' 'RQS4' Removable CD-ROM
1,2,0 102) *
1,3,0 103) *
1,4,0 104) *
1,5,0 105) *
1,6,0 106) *
1,7,0 107) * |
Next, my default file was called "/etc/default/cdrecord.df1" but I think that just stands for "default #1" and dosen't mean much, the file was different then I expected from what you described though, check it out. Code: | gentoo default # cat cdrecord.dfl
#ident @(#)cdrecord.dfl 1.4 02/07/07 Copyr 1998 J. Schilling
#
# This file is /etc/default/cdrecord
# It contains defaults that are used if no command line option
# or environment is present.
#
# The default device, if not specified elswhere
#
CDR_DEVICE=yamaha
#
# The default speed, if not specified elswhere
#
# Note that newer cdrecord versions do not default
# to speed=1. For MMC compliant drives, the default
# is to write at maximum speed, so it in general does
# not make sense to set up a default speed in /etc/default/cdrecord
#
#CDR_SPEED=40
#
# The default FIFO size if, not specified elswhere
#
CDR_FIFOSIZE=4m
#
# The following definitions allow abstract device names.
# They are used if the device name does not contain the
# the characters ',', ':', '/' and '@'
#
# Unless you have a good reason, use speed == -1 and let
# cdrecord use it's intercal drive specific defaults.
#
# drive name device speed fifosize driveropts
#
teac= 1,3,0 -1 -1 ""
panasonic= 1,4,0 -1 -1 ""
plextor= 1,4,0 -1 -1 ""
sanyo= 1,4,0 -1 -1 burnfree
yamaha= 1,5,0 -1 -1 ""
cdrom= 0,6,0 2 1m "" |
My cd-rw drive is on 1,1,0. So, its not there in the fiel by default How do I find out what i should put in the "driver name" secion?
P.S. I looked at the bottom of the CD I burned and there were weird black spots (rather large ones, like spilled ink pools or the like) located inside the cd, not on the surface I'm using a new CD now and I've added "-v" to cdrecord so I can see the progress output I really hope it works this time and I hope even more that it isn't my cd-rw drive making thoes black splashes.
Any way, Im half way through the record now, so if it works then I guess theres no need to keep advising me on how to set things up.
Thanks for your time and the help that you have or will still give |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rutski89 Guru
Joined: 14 Mar 2005 Posts: 468 Location: United States N.Y.
|
Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yup, It worked I'm running knoppix now. I'm using it for qtparted on my laptop to resize windows so I can get gentoo on there |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|