Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Setting Evolution to use already open Mozilla?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jondkent
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 289
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 10:08 am    Post subject: Setting Evolution to use already open Mozilla? Reply with quote

This is slightly annoying, but not major problem for me. However, currently when I click on a URL link in a email within Evolution it opens a new Mozilla session instead of using an existing Mozilla window which I would prefer. Is there a way of achieving this as I can't seem to find anything that relates to this.

Thanks

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smooth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:31 pm    Post subject: Using the same Mozilla process Reply with quote

Hey,

I know you can use the command mozilla -remote openURL(urlname) to use the same mozilla process instead of opening up a new window. You can also use mozilla -remote openURL(urlname, new-tab) to open up a new tab in the same window. So, although I haven't tried it, maybe you could change the options within Evolution to use this remote command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jondkent
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 289
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Unfortunately that the problem, I can't see where you would change the browser settings within Evolution to do this. I'm assuming that this is configured via the GUI and not from a text file though, maybe I'll see if I can find a text config file somewhere

Cheers

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smooth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:40 pm    Post subject: Config File Reply with quote

Yeah, I was looking for a way to graphically edit such an option, but no cigar. So I'm gonna start looking through config files to see if I can find something. If I do, I'll let you know (and if you do, then you let me know :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sessionID
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 266
Location: hungary

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might want to get the mozilla starter script, MSS: http://kingant.net/?p=mss.

AFAIK with gnomecc, you can set up the preferred browser for Evolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sl70
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 453
Location: Saitama, JP

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Set the default URL handler in gnomecc. Mine is set to:
galeon --new-tab "%s"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smooth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2002
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:59 pm    Post subject: MSS Reply with quote

Thanks sessionID,

That's a good idea. Since that thing replaces /usr/bin/mozilla, every program requesting to open up mozilla will open up a new tab instead. I don't see why I'd need new windows opening up if we got tabs to work with :)

Maybe setting mozilla -remote openURL("%s", new-tab) in gnomecc would work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jondkent
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 289
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2002 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeh that MSS looks to be what I need as I don't use GNOME wm (I'm assuming gnomecc is part of this). I'll give it a whirl.

Cheers

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul138
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Location: Ottawa, ON

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2003 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heres a quick-n-dirty way to get mozilla to launch in a new tab if one is open. Call this whatever you want. I use it with sylpheed like so:
Code:

/usr/bin/mozr '%s'

Not sure about Evolution as I cant seem to start it up right now ;-)
Code:

#!/bin/bash

if [ -z $1 ]; then
        exit
fi

mozilla -remote "ping()"
if [ $? != 0 ]; then
        mozilla "$1" &
        exit 0
else
        mozilla -remote "openURL($1,new-tab)" &
        exit 0
fi

Save it, mark it executable (chmod +x file) and try it out.
_________________
Talk is cheap because supply always exceeds demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 1619

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2003 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

paul138 wrote:
Heres a quick-n-dirty way to get mozilla to launch in a new tab if one is open.


I tried to get exactly this working for Phoenix 0.5, by replacing "mozilla" with "phoenix' in the script. I want to use the script from within Sylpheed.

But it does not open in new tabs.
I can'i figure out the correct new-tab syntax, not even from the command-line

The "ping" does not work either:
phoenix -remote "ping()"
Failed to send command.

What am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul138
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Location: Ottawa, ON

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would appear that Phoenix does not yet have that functionality. It -is- still a young program.
_________________
Talk is cheap because supply always exceeds demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum