View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
diaconal n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:55 am Post subject: Comp to Comp, no hub |
|
|
Ok, I don't get it..
I have laptop with Tigon3 card, and desktop with 3c59x, and I used to be able to connect them using crossover (I think its cross-over, not 100% sure) when the desktop was Windows. Now with Gentoo on both, I can set their IPs manually but they DO NOT PING each other. Sorry but I'm a little frustrated. On both I set the ifconfig as such
desktop:
Code: | ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.20 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 |
laptop:
Code: | ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.21 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 |
Now, I have anther network card up on my home LAN on the desktop, but for now I just want the desktop and laptop to start talking (even if its just ssh). But NOTHING...
here's teh desktop settings:
Code: |
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:60:08:B0:86:CF
inet addr:192.168.0.20 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:153 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:4
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:21640 (21.1 Kb) TX bytes:2780 (2.7 Kb)
Interrupt:12 Base address:0xcc00
|
On laptop its pratically the same (excpet its eth0). What am I doing wrong here? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
irwinr Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 11 May 2004 Posts: 152 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've had similiar problems when trying to specify IP information directly into ifconfig. Sometimes the net card seems to get 'hung'. Edit your ifcfg-eth0 file (Somewhere under /etc), and set the IP info in there, then do:
ifdown eth0
ifup eth0
On each machine, and see if that fixes it.
-Jeremy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
diaconal n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
I set the /etc/conf.d/net on both machines if thats what you were saying, and they both set my ip to 0.0.0.1 even though I stated:
Code: | config_eth1=("192.168.0.20 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast
192.168.0.255") |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
irwinr Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 11 May 2004 Posts: 152 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try using 'net-config eth0'... There may be another file that needs configured, net-config will handle it all for you.
-Jeremy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
diaconal n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What package does net-config come with? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
irwinr Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 11 May 2004 Posts: 152 Location: Texas
|
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Umm, it was installed on my base system. It's also on the liveCD.
-Jeremy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
killfire l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/7602108584138b0fd53719.jpg)
Joined: 04 Oct 2003 Posts: 618
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:41 am Post subject: Re: Comp to Comp, no hub |
|
|
diaconal wrote: | Ok, I don't get it..
I have laptop with Tigon3 card, and desktop with 3c59x, and I used to be able to connect them using crossover (I think its cross-over, not 100% sure) when the desktop was Windows. Now with Gentoo on both, I can set their IPs manually but they DO NOT PING each other. Sorry but I'm a little frustrated. On both I set the ifconfig as such
desktop:
Code: | ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.20 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 |
laptop:
Code: | ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.21 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 |
Now, I have anther network card up on my home LAN on the desktop, but for now I just want the desktop and laptop to start talking (even if its just ssh). But NOTHING...
here's teh desktop settings:
Code: |
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:60:08:B0:86:CF
inet addr:192.168.0.20 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:153 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:4
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:21640 (21.1 Kb) TX bytes:2780 (2.7 Kb)
Interrupt:12 Base address:0xcc00
|
On laptop its pratically the same (excpet its eth0). What am I doing wrong here? |
make damn sure you have a cross-over cable... its different from a regular ethernet cable.... if you dont, it just wont work. period. _________________ my website, built in HAppS: http://dbpatterson.com
an art (oil painting) website I built a pure python backend for: http://www.lydiajohnston.com |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
teknomage1 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/1170945783f87171277cf3.png)
Joined: 05 Aug 2003 Posts: 1239 Location: Los Angeles, CA
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can also enable Fast switching in your network options if you don't have a crossover cable.
EDIT: Be sure and read the help in the kernel config, as it seems only certain NICs can support it, such as tulip based ones. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
ator n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 21 Feb 2004 Posts: 54 Location: Kzn
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Tigon3 is Gigabit network card, crossover cable is not essential. It will work with both cables. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|