View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
MasterX Veteran

Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 1165
|
Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:07 am Post subject: Need some help with configuring slmodemd |
|
|
I have a AC'97 Modem, which works with the use of snd_intel8x0m module and the slmodem program.
The daemon slmodem is executed with the option
Code: |
slmodemd --alsa=hw:0 /dev/slamr0
|
The problem is that hw:0 is the sound card, which is also an AC'97 and I am loading the snd_intel8x0 module.
If the soundcard works then modem does not work and vice versa.
How can make both cards work at the same time? In other words how can I have hw:0 and hw:1 ?
Here is what I have in /etc/modules.d/alsa
Code: |
# Alsa 0.9.X kernel modules' configuration file.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/media-sound/alsa-utils/files/alsa-modules.conf-rc,v 1.1 2003/08/05 21:07:55 johnm Exp $
# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore
##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias snd-card-1 snd-intel8x0m
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
## OSS/Free portion
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##
# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
naviathan Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004 Posts: 231
|
Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
This is probably way out there, but have you tried assigning them both to sound-slot-0? Might work if the drivers don't conflict. I'll see if I can pull anything up on Google. _________________ I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MasterX Veteran

Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 1165
|
Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think that I should configure ALSA like I have two soundcards. I will try what you suggested, what I did was to simple uncomment what I found in the file
What bothers me is that
gives information only about the soundcard. It is like the intel8x0m module does not do anything. I am wondering if it works when I set
Code: |
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias snd-card-1 snd-intel8x0
|
or if instead of snd-intel8x0 I use snd-intel8x0m |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
naviathan Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004 Posts: 231
|
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 4:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Unfortunately I have not been able to find anything related to this problem. Are you sure loading the module doesn't just create a device node in the /dev directory for your modem? _________________ I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MasterX Veteran

Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 1165
|
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 5:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
naviathan01 wrote: | Unfortunately I have not been able to find anything related to this problem. Are you sure loading the module doesn't just create a device node in the /dev directory for your modem? |
I have several ttyS* devices, but I can not tell which one is for the modem. When I run the command with slmodemd I see the ttySL0 device.
Still, dmesg should spit out a line about the modem, but nothing....
A friend of mine told me about the alsaconfig file. Maybe that can help me... if I manage to find which program I need to emerge. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
naviathan Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004 Posts: 231
|
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 5:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
If you load the module and the kernel doesn't give a response (i.e. dmesg output) then there's something wrong with the module. Either it's not the right one for the device or something else is configured wrong. _________________ I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MasterX Veteran

Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 1165
|
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 6:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think you are right. I might be able to get around it, with the dmix |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
naviathan Apprentice


Joined: 12 Dec 2004 Posts: 231
|
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dmix is nothing more than an output plugin for alsa. It shouldn't have anything to do with your modem. But give it a try, maybe it'll free up something. _________________ I respect faith, but doubt is what gives you an education.
-- Wilson Mizner |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MasterX Veteran

Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 1165
|
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 3:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There is something that I do not understand
If I run
Code: |
slmodemd --alsa=hw:0 /dev/slamr
|
I get a message about a Smartlink soft modem and then the symbolic link is created and the /dev/ttySL0 device is created
If a load the module slamr, dmesg gives
Code: |
slamr: Smartlink AMRM0 modem
|
something that indicates that the modem was found.
Still, when I run
Code: |
slmodemd /dev/slarm0
|
I get the error message about not being able to open the device /dev/slarm0, because this device doen not exist.
Interestingly, however,
Code: |
ls -l /dev/slamr*
crw------- 1 root root 212, 0 slarm0
crw------- 1 root root 212, 1 slarm1
crw------- 1 root root 212, 2 slarm2
crw------- 1 root root 212, 3 slarm3
|
Why can't I use slamr? device, when it is there? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Darknight Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 485 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is my setup, and it works, mine is an Acer laptop.
Code: | # Alsa 0.9.X kernel modules' configuration file.
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/media-sound/alsa-utils/files/alsa-modules.conf-rc,v 1.4 2004/11/16 01:31:22 eradicator Exp $
# ALSA portion
# OSS/Free portion
##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##
# OSS/Free portion - card #1
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
# modem integrato
alias snd-card-1 snd-intel8x0m
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF verion 1.0.6 ---
options snd device_mode=0666
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias sound-slot-0 snd-intel8x0
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. --- |
To start slmodem I use this line, haven't figured out the conf.d to have those entered like in command line... BTW if you find such information tell me, I'm experimenting right now.
Code: | slmodemd -a --country=ITALY --alsa hw:1 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MasterX Veteran

Joined: 26 Jun 2003 Posts: 1165
|
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Darknight,
Thanks for the info, but it did not work. Again I have to use hw:0 which means that if the modem works the sound card won't work. If you run dmesg, do you see anything regarding the snd-intel8x0m module, because I do not?
Regarding your problem, edit the /etc/conf.d/slmodem file accordingly. Namely, uncomment the lines that are about the module and the HW_SLOT and then run rc-update add slmodem |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Darknight Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 485 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I found the right config, even if I have a strange behaviour when I lauch wvdial...
Sometimes it connects on first try but more often I need anywhere between 1-10 tries and NO DIALTONE messages. No real reason from my point of view.
Anyway this is my dmesg, however it seems that having the modem running causes some errors so I can't guarantee that the (missing) intel8x0m info is ok.
Code: |
dmesg | grep 8x
intel8x0_measure_ac97_clock: measured 49478 usecs
intel8x0: clocking to 48000
|
Code: |
lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_seq 49936 0
snd_seq_device 7052 1 snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss 49316 0
snd_mixer_oss 18048 1 snd_pcm_oss
ieee80211_crypt_tkip 9924 0
ieee80211_crypt_ccmp 6980 0
ieee80211_crypt_wep 4292 0
ipw2200 135912 0
firmware_class 7936 1 ipw2200
ieee80211 37924 1 ipw2200
ieee80211_crypt 4936 5 ieee80211_crypt_tkip,ieee80211_crypt_ccmp,ieee80211_crypt_wep,ipw2200,ieee80211
evdev 7680 1
psmouse 20360 0
snd_intel8x0m 15428 3
snd_intel8x0 28832 3
snd_ac97_codec 74080 2 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0
snd_pcm 85768 7 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer 21636 3 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd 46180 17 snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc 7812 3 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
|
And finally:
Code: |
lspci
0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller (rev 21)
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 21)
0000:00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
0000:00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
0000:00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
0000:00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 83)
0000:00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
0000:00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 03)
0000:00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
0000:00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
0000:00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03)
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 [Mobility Radeon 9600 M10]
0000:02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
0000:02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
0000:02:02.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG (rev 05)
0000:02:03.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
|
Maybe I should mention that I'm using kernel 2.6.10-gentoo-r6 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|