Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cant connect to my AP (Solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sendas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:51 pm    Post subject: Cant connect to my AP (Solved) Reply with quote

Microsfot MN-730 with ndiswrapper 1.1

This is my first time using wlan with linux. First off I tried doing

iwconfig wlan0 essid vegeta
dhcpcd wlan0

If I do this does it mean my card is working?

# iwlist wlan0 scanning
wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:40:05:BC:4E:C5
ESSID:"Vegeta"
Protocol:IEEE 802.11b
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.447 GHz (Channel 8)
Quality:0/100 Signal level:-55 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Encryption key:off
Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
Bit Rate:5.5 Mb/s
Bit Rate:11 Mb/s
Bit Rate:22 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
Extra:atim=0


Last edited by sendas on Sat Apr 02, 2005 1:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lghman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That shows you that your card found your accesspoint, but is not necessoriarly associated with it. If ifconfig shows you that your wireless card has a ip address then yes it worked.
Code:
wlan0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:04:5A:4D:43:13 
          inet addr:10.10.0.10  Bcast:10.255.255.255  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:93263 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:234981 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:6706597 (6.3 Mb)  TX bytes:306814234 (292.6 Mb)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd800

Something like that should show up. Then just try to ping something like google.com

--sonik
_________________
"What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sendas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

# ifconfig wlan0
wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:3A:2C:7D:35
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Memory:e4004000-e4005fff

I Cant seem to get an ip.
#iwconfig wlan0 essed Vegeta
#dhcpcd wlan0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lghman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off just making sure that this was a typo:
Quote:
#iwconfig wlan0 essed Vegeta

and that you really typed "essid". Also when you specify a ap you need to use quotes (dont know if you did that)
Code:
#iwconfig eth2 essid "Whatever"


After you do that do a straight iwconfig and see what it shows:
Code:
#iwconfig

It should underneath alot of other intro give you a line that says Signal Strength. It will vary second by second so rerun iwconfig like 3 or 4 times and see what that line says. This will tell you wether you are connected or not.

<--edit=got onto my laptop to show you-->
Code:
#iwconfig eth0
eth0      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"deathtoall" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:41:80:19:FF:17   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=85/100  Signal level=-45 dBm  Noise level=-81 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:3


--sonik
_________________
"What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sendas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply. That was just a typo in the post /
I have manged to connect to my AP I had to enter in alot more settings. I followed this instructions



#iwconfig wlan0 essid vegeta
#iwconfig wlan0 mode Managed
#iwconfig wlan0 channel 8
#ifconfig wlan0 up
#route add default gw 192.168.0.5 wlan0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lghman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sendas wrote:
#iwconfig wlan0 essid vegeta
#iwconfig wlan0 mode Managed
#iwconfig wlan0 channel 8
#ifconfig wlan0 up
#route add default gw 192.168.0.5 wlan0

Thats strange, though it may be normal for a ndiswrapper card, IDK I use a cisco aironet card. Anyway, glad you got it working.

--sonik
_________________
"What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
racoontje
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 1290

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please change the topic title so we know it's solved...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum