[SOLVED] Making kernel - Problems with filesystems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DiosT
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 8:26 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Making kernel - Problems with filesystems Reply with quote

Okay, I figured this topic best fit here as I'm new to linux, and it's probably something simple...

I just got done emerging the system & gnome, rebooted the computer, had an error with the Filesystem..

went back into the LiveCD, chrooted, went to /usr/src/linux and edited the kernel removing /proc/devfs, and I tried to compile: Got an error involving 'aio.h' -- I googled this and saw it was related to PMCIA cards... i dont use any, so i disabled support for it in the kernel...

I tried to re-compile the kernel again... error with NFS file system.. Okay, I probably am not going to use it anyway... Removed it and tried again...
A problem with another file system.. (network-related)... okay.. I can do without...
And now it has a problem with UDF I think it was..

well i just turned around and retried 'make' to get the error.. and it got further this time...

but is there a possible cause to this problem? my USE flags are rather limited..... gtk / gtk2 / gnome / alsa / dvd / cdr / -kde / -qt.... and this is what they were set at when I compiled gcc...

Did i screw up somewhere to cause these faults? :-/

Any help is appriciated, thanks :-)

Edit:
SOLUTION -- Problem seemed to be the fact i was still using the LiveCD, and probably compiling things with the liveCD setup it didnt like --- What I mean is, I rebooted into my system (with the first kernel I built before emerging everything)... once I finished setting up I was able to compile with no problems...

Processor: Pentium 4 2.4GHz (Not a Mobile Proc.)
Video: ATI Mobility Radeon 7000 32MB
Sound: ESS1988

--It's Finally Alive!!!-- :-P