View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
FreedomFighter n00b
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 14 Location: Chicago, IL
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:16 pm Post subject: CD burning app fails: drive not ready, lost interrupts |
|
|
I am trying to use K3B for CD burning, but it freezes during startup (while "scanning for available devices"). dmesg gives me the following back:
.......................................<on boot>....................................................
SCSI subsystem initialized
hdc: ATAPI 48X CD-ROM drive, 120kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
hdd: ATAPI 32X CD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 4096kB Cache, UDMA(33)
............................<when I actually run the app>.....................................
hdc: DMA interrupt recovery
hdc: lost interrupt
hdc: status timeout: status=0xd0 { Busy }
hdc: status timeout: error=0x00
hdc: DMA disabled
hdc: drive not ready for command
hdc: ATAPI reset complete
hdc: lost interrupt <many times until I kill the app>
Apparently, it keeps on sending something numerous times to hdc, but that doesn't get responded to. I am using Gentoo 2004.3 running on Dell Dimension XPST850 with Pentium 3 processor.
I would very much appreciate if someone could show me a way to fix this. Maybe something is not done right on the kernel level? I have the following lines in my .config file:
#
# ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support
#
CONFIG_IDE=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE=y
And how is it even possible that the drive is not ready if it didn't do anything previously? If anybody has *any* idea, please help. Thanks much! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Xaid Guru
Joined: 30 Oct 2004 Posts: 474 Location: Edmonton / Alberta
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
from my understanding, on the new kernels you can only burn cds/dvds as root (security issues or something similar), so are you root?
you could always do
Code: |
cdrecord -scanbus dev=ATAPI
|
as root and see if it finds your burner, that'll work if you have a regular IDE burner, if you have a scsi one then you can just omit the "dev=ATAPI" part.
if it works, then try running k3b as root and see if it works, I never used k3b before so I can't give you any more specific details related to k3b.
good luck. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
FreedomFighter n00b
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 14 Location: Chicago, IL
|
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 1:13 am Post subject: No DMA this time |
|
|
I ran the command you had suggested as root:
Cdrecord-Clone 2.01 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2004 J\uffffrg Schilling
cdrecord: Warning: Running on Linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6
cdrecord: There are unsettled issues with Linux-2.5 and newer.
cdrecord: If you have unexpected problems, please try Linux-2.4 or Solaris.
scsidev: 'ATAPI'
devname: 'ATAPI'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Warning: Using ATA Packet interface.
Warning: The related Linux kernel interface code seems to be unmaintained.
Warning: There is absolutely NO DMA, operations thus are slow.
<Then everything hangs>
I was wondering what the last warning means. Is there any way I can get the DMA enabled? Thanks again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Xaid Guru
Joined: 30 Oct 2004 Posts: 474 Location: Edmonton / Alberta
|
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
hmm, thats strange, here's what I get when I run it here as root:
Code: |
localhost root # cdrecord -scanbus dev=ATAPI
Cdrecord-Clone 2.01 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2004 Jörg Schilling
on-the-fly encryption (version 1.0-rc1) built-in, (C) 2004,2005 Maximilian Decke r
NOTE: this version of cdrecord is an inofficial (modified) release of cdrecord
and thus may have bugs that are not present in the original version.
Please send bug reports and support requests to <burbon04 at gmx.de>.
For more information please see http://burbon04.gmxhome.de/linux/CDREncryp tion.html.
The original author should not be bothered with problems of this version.
cdrecord: Warning: Running on Linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r5
cdrecord: There are unsettled issues with Linux-2.5 and newer.
cdrecord: If you have unexpected problems, please try Linux-2.4 or Solaris.
scsidev: 'ATAPI'
devname: 'ATAPI'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Warning: Using ATA Packet interface.
Warning: The related Linux kernel interface code seems to be unmaintained.
Warning: There is absolutely NO DMA, operations thus are slow.
Using libscg version 'schily-0.8'.
scsibus0:
0,0,0 0) 'HL-DT-ST' 'CD-RW GCE-8320B ' '1.01' Removable CD-ROM
0,1,0 1) 'HL-DT-ST' 'DVD-ROM GDR8161B' '0100' Removable CD-ROM
0,2,0 2) *
0,3,0 3) *
0,4,0 4) *
0,5,0 5) *
0,6,0 6) *
0,7,0 7) *
|
I'm not sure of the DMA problem, but when I burn CDs it does seem like DMA is enabled, it could be just a false warning cause of a kernel API mismatch with cdrecord or something similar, I can burn at almost full speed here (burner is at 32x, i usually get > 24x)
try upgrading your kernel to the lastest one and see if that helps.
do you have scsi emulation compiled in the kernel? if you do, disable it.
try:
Code: |
ls -l /usr/bin/cdrecord
|
I think there was a problem before if cdrecord was setuid, here's the output from that command on my box:
Code: |
localhost root # ls -l /usr/bin/cdrecord
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 382052 Mar 22 02:13 /usr/bin/cdrecord
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
piewie Guru
Joined: 26 Sep 2002 Posts: 494 Location: old Europe
|
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 9:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
On my machine there were also interrupt lost for my optical drive, always on hdb. I changed the drive and the problem was gone.
In the bios of your motherboard should be a feature called ide delay or something like that, perhaps this can help. Also changing the position of the optical drive could be a solution, another ide-cable could be worth an attempt.
For DMA use dev=ATA.
For user burning: Create the group burning. Put the users into the burning group. Check if the users are in the cdrom, cdrw and dvd groups. Log out and log in. Start k3b, goto k3bsetup. Let k3b make the changes for you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
FreedomFighter n00b
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 14 Location: Chicago, IL
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Xaid, I upgraded to the newest to date kernel 2.6.11-gentoo-r5, and disabled the SCSI support in the kernel. However, the problem is identically the same. cdrecord hangs when I run it the way you suggested. My cdrecord does NOT have the suid bit set.
piewie, for some reason, Gentoo does not install the k3bsetup binary. Only k3b itself, so there is no way I can run k3bsetup.
I'm using the optimized Gentoo sources for the kernel. Is it possible that because my computer is around 5 years old, I should be using the non-optimized version of the kernel instead?
So far, I've been getting the same thing over and over:
hdc: DMA interrupt recovery
hdc: lost interrupt
hdc: status timeout: status=0xd0 { Busy }
ide: failed opcode was: unknown
hdc: DMA disabled
hdc: drive not ready for command
hdc: ATAPI reset complete
hdc: lost interrupt
hdc: lost interrupt
............................
Come on folks! Speak up! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
asterix404 Apprentice
Joined: 05 Nov 2004 Posts: 213
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
You may wanna try xcdroast. If all else fails use another program? I know there are tons of how-tos. Actuilly the root bug was sorta fixed but I never really figured out how to get around it so I just use root anyway. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
piewie Guru
Joined: 26 Sep 2002 Posts: 494 Location: old Europe
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
FreedomFighter wrote: |
piewie, for some reason, Gentoo does not install the k3bsetup binary. Only k3b itself, so there is no way I can run k3bsetup.
|
in k3b goto Settings --> k3bsetup |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|