Does qemu's kqemu module work on amd64?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
reub2000
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:57 pm    Post subject: Does qemu's kqemu module work on amd64? Reply with quote

I'm considering installing gentoo amd64 onto my computer with an athlon 64 3000+. I'm currently using the i686 gentoo.

I know you can install i686 software into a chroot envirment. But I thought it might be a little bit diffrent for a kernel module like qemu's kqemu. If kqemu doesn't work, are a there any good free as in cost virutalizers for amd64?
ziegs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

personally i have no experience with qemu or kqemu, but according the the qemu status page (http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/status.html), x86_64 as a host is under testing, which is better than not working at all.

give it a try, couldn't hurt. if it doesn't work compile a second kernel for x86 and boot to that when oyu need qemu.
reub2000
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ziegs wrote:
personally i have no experience with qemu or kqemu, but according the the qemu status page (http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/status.html), x86_64 as a host is under testing, which is better than not working at all.

give it a try, couldn't hurt. if it doesn't work compile a second kernel for x86 and boot to that when oyu need qemu.

I'm using qemu in an attempt to avoid rebooting just to use a program like m$ word. So I'm probably going to have to use the plain jitc kqemu.
Levi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you can't load a 32bit module into a 64bit kernel, you can still use qemu without kqemu though.