Installing Software on Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sunburned.surveyor@gmail.
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:19 pm    Post subject: Installing Software on Gentoo Reply with quote

I am brand new to Gentoo and also Linux, so please be patient with me. :D I hope I've got the right forum for this question.

I have been reading all about ebuild/emerge and package management on Linux. Despite this reading, I'm still a little confused about how to install software on Gentoo. (As your typical Windows user, I'm used to just double clicking an .exe file. I do a little programming, however, so there may still be hope for me.)

I need to learn how to install software on my Gentoo OS. My Gentoo computer doesn't have a network/internet connection, so I've got to install everything from disk.

My first question is this: What type of data do I download to install a particular software on Gentoo. Do I grab a certain binary package, or do I have to get the source code for the program?

Let's say I want to install the latest version of GRASS on Gentoo. Which of the binaries or source packages would I grab from this link?:

http://www.hpcc.nectec.or.th/grass/download/index.php

What commands would I use to install GRASS?

I'm not looking for an easy idiot-proof solution. I'm really trying to figure out how to get the specific software I want on my Gentoo box. I don't mind working a little to achieve this goal.

I appreciate any information or tips on this.

The Sunburned Surveyor

P.S. - I'm running the Gentoo 2.4.26 Kernel on an HP I686.
masteroftheuniverse
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote