View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
iamdar n00b

Joined: 11 Sep 2004 Posts: 48 Location: an existential quandry
|
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:52 pm Post subject: trying to connect to school's wireless network |
|
|
i have a dell D600 with an intel 2200gb wireless card. the driver (ipw2200) is all installed and I have the wireless-tools package (but little idea of how to use it). The network is open (it has NO wep key) and when i am on campus and run
it spits back the correct essid for the network along with signal strength, 11Mb's/sec etc, etc.
the problem is when i open firefox i get a page not found. is there somthing i missed? (i still consider myself a noob so obvious things are appreciated)
P.S. i am not on campus now so I will have to wait till tommarrow to try your suggestions out 8( |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hadfield Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003 Posts: 308 Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What output do you get from ifconfig? Also, the network probably used DHCP so make sure you've configured eth1 properly for that in /etc/conf.d/net. If your machine was already booted when it entered into the range of your schools access points, you might also want to restart the device by running '/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart' |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EviL_CodE n00b

Joined: 11 Aug 2003 Posts: 39 Location: Glasgow, Scotland
|
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You may have to update your resolv.conf. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lghman Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Our school network is the same way. Here is what I do:
Code: | iwlist eth2 scanning |
To make sure that the schools ap is the only one in range, or at least the closest one. Then associate with the network: Code: | iwconfig eth2 essid any |
Next make sure that you are associated with the correct ap:
Then finally run dhcp:
Sorry if I broke it down too much for ya, but you said that you were a n00b
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gav` n00b

Joined: 26 Feb 2004 Posts: 37
|
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Could also be to do with web proxying, a lot of educational places use caching web proxies to speed access and save bandwidth. You may need to speak to a sysadmin to find out what proxy settings should be used. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
iamdar n00b

Joined: 11 Sep 2004 Posts: 48 Location: an existential quandry
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 4:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanks for the replies.
sonicntails: that was perfect, i will try those things tommarrow |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mlivingstone Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Feb 2005 Posts: 125 Location: Gold Coast, Australia
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
A lot of schools / Uni's that don't use encrytion often require you to secure your session using a vpn client. Maybe your school does? What you described is exactly how my system reacts / behaves just before I load the Cisco vpn client required by my Uni. No Cisco VPN client == no access.
HTH
MarkL |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
iamdar n00b

Joined: 11 Sep 2004 Posts: 48 Location: an existential quandry
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
its was
sonicntails called it, thanks _________________ Don't be a hero,
for a hero is only a sandwich |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lghman Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
iamdar wrote: | its was
sonicntails called it, thanks |
No problem, enjoi the wireless.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|