View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:59 pm Post subject: WPA with stable baselayout |
|
|
I am using the "stable" baselayout (1.9.4-r6). Wireless networking is working fine as long as I use an unencrypted network, but I cannot get wpa_supplicant to work. I use the latest (unstable) version of hostap_driver and wpa_supplicant. Here is my wpa_supplicant configuration file:
Code: | # grep -v '^#' wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
network={
ssid="AsgardWPA"
psk="very secret passphrase"
}
network={
ssid="Asgard"
key_mgmt=NONE
}
|
When I start wpa_supplicant, I get this:
Code: | # wpa_supplicant -w -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -iwlan0 -d
Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
Priority group 0
id=0 ssid='AsgardWPA'
id=1 ssid='Asgard'
Initializing interface (2) 'wlan0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
ioctl[SIOCSIWMODE]: No such device
Could not configure driver to use managed mode
ioctl[SIOCGIFFLAGS]: No such device
Could not set interface 'wlan0' UP
ioctl[SIOCGIFINDEX]: No such device
Waiting for interface..
Own MAC address: 00:a0:c5:b0:ee:ce
wpa_driver_hostap_set_wpa: enabled=1
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
Failed to enable WPA in the driver.
wpa_driver_hostap_set_wpa: enabled=0
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
Failed to disable WPA in the driver.
wpa_driver_hostap_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=0
wpa_driver_hostap_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
rmdir[ctrl_interface]: No such file or directory
|
Does anybody know what could be wrong?
/Jakob |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You need to specify your wireless driver with wpa_supplicant - it doesn't support that many.
Also, the error shows than wlan0 does not exist - are you sure wlan0 is your wireless interface? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | You need to specify your wireless driver with wpa_supplicant - it doesn't support that many.
Also, the error shows than wlan0 does not exist - are you sure wlan0 is your wireless interface? |
I am using the hostap driver, it should be the default for wpa_supplicant, as I understand it. I had ejected the card, and then started wpa_supplicant with the -w option, and reinserted the card. Maybe wpa_supplicant is too fast, and the interface is not yet ready?
BTW, is there any hope that baselayout 1.11 will go stable soon? It looks like it is easier to manage, but I am very reluctant to use an unstable baselayout with an otherwise stable system (a part from the wireless drivers).
/Jakob |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
schiotz wrote: |
I am using the hostap driver, it should be the default for wpa_supplicant, as I understand it. I had ejected the card, and then started wpa_supplicant with the -w option, and reinserted the card. Maybe wpa_supplicant is too fast, and the interface is not yet ready? |
Maybe so
Does that report any info? Does the interface exist?
Quote: | BTW, is there any hope that baselayout 1.11 will go stable soon? It looks like it is easier to manage, but I am very reluctant to use an unstable baselayout with an otherwise stable system (a part from the wireless drivers). |
And with good reason - a breakage in baselayout normally causes big problems
However, for 99% of users, baselayout-1.11 is ready for use. Hopefully it will be marked stable very soon now. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 3:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you very much for taking time to help me.
Apparently, the device not found messages are issued while wpa_supplicant waits for the card to be inserted.
I just turned WPA back on on the access point, and tried again, this time with the card in the machine before starting wpa_supplicant:
Code: | # wpa_supplicant -w -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -iwlan0 -d
Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'default'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
Priority group 0
id=0 ssid='AsgardWPA'
id=1 ssid='Asgard'
Initializing interface (2) 'wlan0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Own MAC address: 00:a0:c5:b0:ee:ce
wpa_driver_hostap_set_wpa: enabled=1
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
Failed to enable WPA in the driver.
wpa_driver_hostap_set_wpa: enabled=0
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
Failed to disable WPA in the driver.
wpa_driver_hostap_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=0
wpa_driver_hostap_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
rmdir[ctrl_interface]: No such file or directory
baula root # iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
Warning: Driver for device wifi0 recommend version 18 of Wireless Extension,
but has been compiled with version 17, therefore some driver features
may not be available...
wifi0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"" Nickname:"baula"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 44:44:44:44:44:44
Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Sensitivity=1/3
Retry min limit:8 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"" Nickname:"baula"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 44:44:44:44:44:44
Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Sensitivity=1/3
Retry min limit:8 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=6/70 Signal level=-85 dBm Noise level=-91 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:2 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:7 Invalid misc:99 Missed beacon:0
eth0 no wireless extensions.
|
I then tried again, this time remembering to pass the -Dhostap argument to wpa_supplicant Unfortunately with the same result. And ejecting the card, starting wpa_supplicant, reinserting the card has the same result as in my initial post.
My guess is that it is the line
Code: |
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
|
that indicates real trouble. But the hostap driver should be the best supported one, since it is the one wpa_supplicant was developed for. Could it be something in baselayout?
UberLord wrote: |
And with good reason - a breakage in baselayout normally causes big problems
However, for 99% of users, baselayout-1.11 is ready for use. Hopefully it will be marked stable very soon now. |
Good news. If I don't get wpa up and running now, I will try again when baselayout-1.11 is ready.
/Jakob |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 3:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Could this have something to do with the problem?
Code: | root # iwconfig --version
iwconfig Wireless-Tools version 27
Compatible with Wireless Extension v11 to v17.
Kernel Currently compiled with Wireless Extension v17.
wifi0 Recommend Wireless Extension v18 or later,
Currently compiled with Wireless Extension v17.
wlan0 Recommend Wireless Extension v18 or later,
Currently compiled with Wireless Extension v17.
|
If so, what can I do to ressolve it? I am running the newest kernel: gentoo-sources-2.6.11-r5
/Jakob |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
schiotz wrote: |
I then tried again, this time remembering to pass the -Dhostap argument to wpa_supplicant Unfortunately with the same result. And ejecting the card, starting wpa_supplicant, reinserting the card has the same result as in my initial post.
My guess is that it is the line
Code: |
ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_PRISM2_PARAM]: Operation not supported
|
that indicates real trouble. But the hostap driver should be the best supported one, since it is the one wpa_supplicant was developed for. Could it be something in baselayout?
|
No it's not baselayout.
You have demontrated this yourself by running wpa_supplicant manually with error.
I would recommend asking on the wpa_supplicant mailing lists if no-one here can help you - I can't as I don't have the hardware. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: |
No it's not baselayout.
You have demontrated this yourself by running wpa_supplicant manually with error.
I would recommend asking on the wpa_supplicant mailing lists if no-one here can help you - I can't as I don't have the hardware. |
Thank you very much for your time, UberLord. I will try the mailing list.
/Jakob |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Against stupidity the gods themselves fight in vain......
My card's firmware does not support WPA.
It works in Windows, because the driver uploads new firmware, if I do the same in Linux it works fine. I got WPA up and running with my linksys card and the hostap driver, and (on another machine) with my Netgear WG511 and the ndiswrapper (the prism54 driver does not yet support wpa).
However, using wpa with the stable baselayout is not fun. There are apparently some problems with who is responsible for starting the network etc. If the card is in the machine when booting, it does not work, and removing the card and reinserting does not help. If the card has not yet been inserted it works fine.
I guess I will wait for the new baselayout instead of spending too much time on reinventing the wheel. Real Soon Now, I hope!
/Jakob |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 12:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=78495 |
Thanks! Unfortunately, it prevents the net from being started too early, but it still does not get started correctly when wpa_supplicant should start it. The card is connected to the AP, but no IP address is obtained. It also has a few other side effects, my wired network card is normally started by coldplug (so it happens in the background and don't delay startup when disconnected), but now it is started when other services (postifx, sshd) need network, and they subsequently fail. I am sure I could find a workaround for that (ifplugd).
I think I will either wait till baselayout 1.11 goes stable, or try unmasking it one of these days.
/Jakob |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
schiotz wrote: | UberLord wrote: | https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=78495 |
Thanks! Unfortunately, it prevents the net from being started too early, but it still does not get started correctly when wpa_supplicant should start it. |
wpa_supplicant does not currently start/stop interfaces
Have no fear though - I'm working on it |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schiotz Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 20 Jan 2004 Posts: 206 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: |
wpa_supplicant does not currently start/stop interfaces
Have no fear though - I'm working on it |
That is good news indeed - I hope helping people like me leaves a bit of time for things like that.
I got an idea: One of these days I will try to modify the net startup script to start and stop wpa_supplicant when the network is brought up or down. It should not be too hard, at least on the machine using the hostap driver. The one with a prism54 card is more troublesome, since the prism54 driver does not support wpa, but ndiswrapper does (and works with the card). However, it is not loaded automatically when the card is inserted/removed, so the scripts are not called. If a prism54 module exists, it is loaded when the card is inserted, the eth1 device appears and the network script is called. Would you happen to know how I can tell the kernel to load ndiswrapper instead, or where I should look? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
schiotz wrote: | I got an idea: One of these days I will try to modify the net startup script to start and stop wpa_supplicant when the network is brought up or down. |
baselayout-1.11.x already does this
Quote: | Would you happen to know how I can tell the kernel to load ndiswrapper instead, or where I should look? |
AFAIK you tell the kernel what modules you want to load - or coldplug make a best guess on what's available. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|