Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"~amd64" in command line
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 212
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:42 pm    Post subject: "~amd64" in command line Reply with quote

I have someeimes used commands such as:

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" emerge SOMETHING

and recently dicovered that this habit is somewhat discouraged... I only emerged this way some non important packages and related dependencies (that I hope not being system crytical) but would like to convert to the more reasonable per package policy given by config files (package.keywords etc.).

Is there a simple way to find out wich of my packages have been emerged with the ~amd64 USE flag ? (so that I can put them in the /etc/portage/package.keywords file)

and, more in gneral, what do you think is the best policy for those that, like me, use in general a plain amd64 system except few ~amd64 packages ?

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taurus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 657
Location: I need to be somewhere...

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess if you run
Code:
emerge -pv -u world
you will see a list of packages that the system would like to downgrade! Just add those to your /etc/portage/package.keywords and you should be set. The proper way is to add an entry in your /etc/portage/package.keywords...

taurus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 212
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

.. if I do emerge -pvu world It does not seem to find quite a few packages... moreover, in most cases all packages I unmasked are packages that do not have a "stable" version (else I would just use the plain amd64 version), so that emerge -pvu world does not feel as necessary to downgrade anything (since there is no viable downgraded version)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 212
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the idea could be that of having something similar to "equery uses pkg" sounding like "equery keywords pkg" ... then one would have to submit all world packages to the command and grep all those that result in ~amd64.... is there a solution any of you know of ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taurus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 657
Location: I need to be somewhere...

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or try
Code:
emerge -pv -uD world
taurus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 212
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope...

thats not enough either... if a package you have emerged exists only in ~amd64 then it will not show up for sure....


ok... second level question... where is this info stored ? (the fact that a pkg was emerged with a ~amd64 flag, that is).
If there is no utility to do this I might be tempted to try writing a script that does it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donjuan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 May 2004
Posts: 760
Location: At Uni

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you do have to write a script. I can't think of a file that would tell you such a thing. However, every package you currently have installed has an entry in /var/db/pkg. A copy of its ebuild is even stored in there. So your script can just go through all the ebuilds, find the ones that have a ~amd64 keyword, and those to your package.keywords file.
_________________
Command-line ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is considered harmful, use the package.* files.

The Stage 1 on 3 Install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gian wrote:
ok... second level question... where is this info stored ? (the fact that a pkg was emerged with a ~amd64 flag, that is)


(I'm not a portage dev so this may not be accurate)

AFAIK it doesn't store ~amd64 or amd64 as such.
Instead, it tests the current flag in portage against your keywords everytime you emerge -uDpv world

Is there any point in knowing keywords when installed? Installed is installed after all ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try "revdep-rebuild".
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum