View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
oolceeoo n00b
Joined: 10 Apr 2005 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:35 pm Post subject: Can't detect eth0 |
|
|
Hello. I recently did a stage 3 install of Gentoo kernel 2.6.11-r3. I know that there are other threads with the same problem but I couldn't solve my problem from there. Booting in the livecd my network works and I can access the internet.
After I boot into the normal environment, init does not detect my eth0, I installed dhcpcd and it says eth0 is not found. If I try to run /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start returns eth0 not found.
When I run ifconfig it only returns my loopback address.
So I followed advice of other threads and booted back into the livecd to see what modules were loaded. I have an On-Board Intel Gigabit Ethernet Controller. When I run lspci in the livecd, I see it loaded as a module.
When I boot into the normal gentoo environment and run lspci, I also see the Ethernet Intel Gigabit Controller module listed. However, any network command I attempt to run states that eth0 cannot be detected.
Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dwblas Guru
Joined: 14 Jul 2003 Posts: 525 Location: Southern California (No jokes please)
|
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You have to use rc-update to add it to your start up script, i.e.
rc-update add net.eth0 default. If this does not work, then try net-setup eth0. Also, if you compiled the driver as a module in the kernel, then you would have to add it to /etc/modules.autoload. I have it compiled into the kernel, but if it was a module, I would have to add 3c59x for my ethernet card. Don't know if coldplug would find it if you have support in the kernel, but I assume you have coldplug installed. HTH. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oolceeoo n00b
Joined: 10 Apr 2005 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When I was installing Gentoo, I could not emerge hotplug or coldplug. It wouldn't connect to the server. Is this my problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
johnnymac Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 27 Oct 2004 Posts: 105 Location: Hot A$$ Texas
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Did you do either of the following?
Code: |
//the 192 address are just for example
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.100 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0
or
run DHCP for eth0....you have to
ifconfig eth0 up
|
I had this problem with my marvel gigabit card on my AMD64 machine... _________________ I've never seen a purple cow...
I never hope to see one...
but I can tell you this...
I'd rather see one than be one. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dwblas Guru
Joined: 14 Jul 2003 Posts: 525 Location: Southern California (No jokes please)
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
This is out of my domain, but try a modprobe of your ethernet module. It sounds like it may be a kernel problem if you had an internet connection for the install but not after booting. See if you have the proper modules configured in the kernel. I would suggest that you compile it into the kernel and not install as a module. Are you using genkernel or configuring by hand? BTW, on my system /etc/init.d/net.eth0 is a symlink to net.lo. See if you have it on your system. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DNL n00b
Joined: 15 Mar 2005 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:53 am Post subject: Re: Can't detect eth0 |
|
|
oolceeoo wrote: | When I run lspci in the livecd, I see it loaded as a module. |
lspci does not show you what modules are loaded. It shows you what information is available about installed hardware on the PCI subsystem. lsmod is the command you want to use to see which modules are loaded.
Quote: | When I boot into the normal gentoo environment and run lspci, I also see the Ethernet Intel Gigabit Controller module listed. |
"dmesg | grep eth0" will tell you if the kernel actually has anything configured to be eth0. Until that comes back, the problem is not going to be with DHCP or any of your other net configuration files or commands. But will be related to either the correct module not being loaded on boot time, or, support for the device has not been compiled either directly into the kernel or as a module.
If you have the controller I think you do, try doing
And follow that up with a dmesg | grep eth0 and if the modprobe worked, you should get returned information. If that doesn't load it, you'll need to compile the kernel to support e1000(this is assuming you have the nic I think you do, you might want to post the output of your lspci information related to your NIC just so someone can verify that e1000 is indeed the correct support you need). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
oolceeoo n00b
Joined: 10 Apr 2005 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 5:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok I got it working. My problem was that I couldn't emerge coldplug during installation and that is why it was not loading the module at boot. I had to boot with my livecd and copy the resolv.conf to the new environment to download coldplug. Thanks everyone for the help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|