Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problems mounting USB devices. File system detection ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xavier10
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 485
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 2:50 pm    Post subject: Problems mounting USB devices. File system detection ? Reply with quote

I have major problems mounting USB mass storage devices (disc-on-key, compact flash readers).

I carefully followed the various how-to, which explain pretty well how to get the scsi device detected and to mount it, but I have problems with the file system.

Either I use the /etc/fstab:

Code:

/dev/sda1      /mnt/flash   vfat      defaults,user,noauto   0 0


and I get

Code:

$ mount /mnt/flash
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
       or too many mounted file systems


or I use the /etc/fstab line:

Code:

/dev/sda1      /mnt/flash   auto      defaults,user,noauto   0 0


and I get

Code:

$ mount /mnt/flash
/dev/sda1: Invalid argument
mount: you must specify the filesystem type


I tried other file systems with no more success.

What should I do ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoonie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 205
Location: near Munich | Bavaria | Germany

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try it with
Code:
usbfs
instead of vfat. For me it works
_________________
Do you know the secret hand shake - you best use it.

GCC 4, Kernel 2.6.14-ck7, NPTL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54832
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xavier10,

When you built vfat support for your kernel, you get to chose which defualt NLS character set it will use.
You also need to choose this same character set in NLS Support or you get this unhelpful error report.
If you are un the USA, the defualts in both places match. There is a mount option for nls. See man mount.

usbfs is what provides the content id /proc/bus/usb/. Its not a filesystem for carrying user data.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xavier10
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 485
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoonie wrote:
try it with
Code:
usbfs
instead of vfat. For me it works


Thanks, I have just tried.
The result is that the content of /mnt/flash/ is the same as /proc/usb/:

Code:

$ mount /mnt/flash
$ ls /mnt/flash
001  002  003  004  devices
$ ls /proc/usb
ls: /proc/usb: No such file or directory
$ ls /proc/
Display all 173 possibilities? (y or n)
$ ls /proc/bus/usb
001  002  003  004  devices
$ find /mnt/flash
/mnt/flash
/mnt/flash/004
/mnt/flash/004/001
/mnt/flash/003
/mnt/flash/003/002
/mnt/flash/003/001
/mnt/flash/002
/mnt/flash/002/002
/mnt/flash/002/001
/mnt/flash/001
/mnt/flash/001/016
/mnt/flash/001/001
/mnt/flash/devices


As a concequence,this does not allow me to access to the files on the support. Should I have done something else ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xavier10
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 485
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
xavier10,

When you built vfat support for your kernel, you get to chose which defualt NLS character set it will use.
You also need to choose this same character set in NLS Support or you get this unhelpful error report.
If you are un the USA, the defualts in both places match. There is a mount option for nls. See man mount.

usbfs is what provides the content id /proc/bus/usb/. Its not a filesystem for carrying user data.


This is most interesting since I am about to build a new kernel.

I am in France and would still like to use the standard nls for france (iso8859-1) unless someone convinces me it is a very bad idea.

Here is my nls info in my current .config
Code:

$ egrep NLS .config
CONFIG_UDF_NLS=y
CONFIG_NLS=y
CONFIG_NLS_DEFAULT="iso8859-1"
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_437 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_737 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_775 is not set
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_850=m
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_852 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_855 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_857 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_860 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_861 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_862 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_863 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_864 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_865 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_866 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_869 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_936 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_950 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_932 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_949 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_874 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_8 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_1250 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_1251 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ASCII is not set
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_1=m
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_2 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_3 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_4 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_5 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_6 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_7 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_9 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_13 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_14 is not set
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_15=m
# CONFIG_NLS_KOI8_R is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_KOI8_U is not set
CONFIG_NLS_UTF8=m


Does this seem sound ? What should I change ?

BTW, I looked in man mount and found no infor about any nls option; adding the ",nls=iso8859-1" in the /etc/fstab would not change the result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54832
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xavier10,
I got the mount option wrong. Its
Code:
codepage=value


My .config has
Code:
# DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems
#
CONFIG_FAT_FS=m
CONFIG_MSDOS_FS=m
CONFIG_VFAT_FS=m
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="iso8859-1"

Both the CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437 and CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="iso8859-1" must be built in Native Language Support for the FAT/VFAT to work without a codepage option to mount.

Your setup looks OK
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xavier10
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 485
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
xavier10,
I got the mount option wrong. Its
Code:
codepage=value



I tried with various arguments for codepage: 437, 450 (I saw these values on these forums), but no luck with either of these...

Does this mean I have to look for another problem ?

I have a disc-on-key I would even be willing to format, if this could help solving the problem. Now I have several usb mass storage systems and I can access to none, which is very frustrating :(

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum