View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
xavier10 Guru
Joined: 19 Jan 2004 Posts: 485 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 2:50 pm Post subject: Problems mounting USB devices. File system detection ? |
|
|
I have major problems mounting USB mass storage devices (disc-on-key, compact flash readers).
I carefully followed the various how-to, which explain pretty well how to get the scsi device detected and to mount it, but I have problems with the file system.
Either I use the /etc/fstab:
Code: |
/dev/sda1 /mnt/flash vfat defaults,user,noauto 0 0
|
and I get
Code: |
$ mount /mnt/flash
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
or too many mounted file systems
|
or I use the /etc/fstab line:
Code: |
/dev/sda1 /mnt/flash auto defaults,user,noauto 0 0
|
and I get
Code: |
$ mount /mnt/flash
/dev/sda1: Invalid argument
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
|
I tried other file systems with no more success.
What should I do ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Gentoonie Apprentice
Joined: 06 Apr 2004 Posts: 205 Location: near Munich | Bavaria | Germany
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try it with instead of vfat. For me it works _________________ Do you know the secret hand shake - you best use it.
GCC 4, Kernel 2.6.14-ck7, NPTL |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54832 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
xavier10,
When you built vfat support for your kernel, you get to chose which defualt NLS character set it will use.
You also need to choose this same character set in NLS Support or you get this unhelpful error report.
If you are un the USA, the defualts in both places match. There is a mount option for nls. See man mount.
usbfs is what provides the content id /proc/bus/usb/. Its not a filesystem for carrying user data. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xavier10 Guru
Joined: 19 Jan 2004 Posts: 485 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Gentoonie wrote: | try it with instead of vfat. For me it works |
Thanks, I have just tried.
The result is that the content of /mnt/flash/ is the same as /proc/usb/:
Code: |
$ mount /mnt/flash
$ ls /mnt/flash
001 002 003 004 devices
$ ls /proc/usb
ls: /proc/usb: No such file or directory
$ ls /proc/
Display all 173 possibilities? (y or n)
$ ls /proc/bus/usb
001 002 003 004 devices
$ find /mnt/flash
/mnt/flash
/mnt/flash/004
/mnt/flash/004/001
/mnt/flash/003
/mnt/flash/003/002
/mnt/flash/003/001
/mnt/flash/002
/mnt/flash/002/002
/mnt/flash/002/001
/mnt/flash/001
/mnt/flash/001/016
/mnt/flash/001/001
/mnt/flash/devices
|
As a concequence,this does not allow me to access to the files on the support. Should I have done something else ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xavier10 Guru
Joined: 19 Jan 2004 Posts: 485 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | xavier10,
When you built vfat support for your kernel, you get to chose which defualt NLS character set it will use.
You also need to choose this same character set in NLS Support or you get this unhelpful error report.
If you are un the USA, the defualts in both places match. There is a mount option for nls. See man mount.
usbfs is what provides the content id /proc/bus/usb/. Its not a filesystem for carrying user data. |
This is most interesting since I am about to build a new kernel.
I am in France and would still like to use the standard nls for france (iso8859-1) unless someone convinces me it is a very bad idea.
Here is my nls info in my current .config
Code: |
$ egrep NLS .config
CONFIG_UDF_NLS=y
CONFIG_NLS=y
CONFIG_NLS_DEFAULT="iso8859-1"
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_437 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_737 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_775 is not set
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_850=m
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_852 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_855 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_857 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_860 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_861 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_862 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_863 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_864 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_865 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_866 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_869 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_936 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_950 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_932 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_949 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_874 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_8 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_1250 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_1251 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ASCII is not set
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_1=m
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_2 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_3 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_4 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_5 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_6 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_7 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_9 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_13 is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_14 is not set
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_15=m
# CONFIG_NLS_KOI8_R is not set
# CONFIG_NLS_KOI8_U is not set
CONFIG_NLS_UTF8=m
|
Does this seem sound ? What should I change ?
BTW, I looked in man mount and found no infor about any nls option; adding the ",nls=iso8859-1" in the /etc/fstab would not change the result. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54832 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
xavier10,
I got the mount option wrong. Its
My .config has Code: | # DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems
#
CONFIG_FAT_FS=m
CONFIG_MSDOS_FS=m
CONFIG_VFAT_FS=m
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="iso8859-1" |
Both the CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437 and CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="iso8859-1" must be built in Native Language Support for the FAT/VFAT to work without a codepage option to mount.
Your setup looks OK _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xavier10 Guru
Joined: 19 Jan 2004 Posts: 485 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | xavier10,
I got the mount option wrong. Its
|
I tried with various arguments for codepage: 437, 450 (I saw these values on these forums), but no luck with either of these...
Does this mean I have to look for another problem ?
I have a disc-on-key I would even be willing to format, if this could help solving the problem. Now I have several usb mass storage systems and I can access to none, which is very frustrating
Xavier |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|