View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jpl888 Guru
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 337 Location: Piltown, Co. Kilkenny, Ireland.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:37 pm Post subject: What if I wanted to change the processor? |
|
|
Ok here is the scenario.
I am using Gentoo as server OS for all my SME customers, one of the advantages of Gentoo being that you never have to do a major upgrade and I have Gentoo compiled for say a Pentium IV at each site.
Thinking ahead I will want to change the server hardware at some point in the future i.e. when it dies or is no longer capable of coping with the demands of modern computing. Intel will no doubt have realeased the latest Pentium VIII ninja b~@~ard processor and I don't want to do a complete reinstall to recompile the system for the new processor arch.
I do not want to use a "generic" optimisation as it just doesn't seem elegant, I want to know that my customers server is running as fast as its little legs will carry it.
My question then is this. How do I recompile the existing system for the new processor arch? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Voltago Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2003 Posts: 2593 Location: userland
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
1. Edit /etc/make.conf
2. Type
3. Read 'War and Peace' or 'The Lord of the Rings' (plus appendices). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jpl888 Guru
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 337 Location: Piltown, Co. Kilkenny, Ireland.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wow thanks for such a prompt reply Voltago! and of course the answer.
Would I do that before or after I have imaged/moved the old hard disk into the new server?
Of course I realise I would have to recompile the kernel to support the new hardware. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
drwook Veteran
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 Posts: 1324 Location: London
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'd do it on the new hardware, the compile time should be far less on a faster processor, everything else being equal. Maybe more 'the Ilyad' than War & Peace
But if you couldn't for whatever reason I guess you could probably recompile on anything in a chroot'd environment... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jpl888 Guru
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 337 Location: Piltown, Co. Kilkenny, Ireland.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So what ur saying is if I had a problem starting up the old hard-disk/partitions on the new server I could just boot from the livecd, chroot into the old environment and run "emerge -e world" from there, great simplicity itself thankyou drwook.
I will have to try it sometime when I get chance although I am a bit simple so the Ilyad or War and Peace is beyond me maybe a car magazine with de nice pictures vrm vrmmmm |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lbrtuk l33t
Joined: 08 May 2003 Posts: 910
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The important thing is to not do insane optimisations on a server. Your CFLAGS should be three or four flags long at most. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jpl888 Guru
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 337 Location: Piltown, Co. Kilkenny, Ireland.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I would be too afraid to do more than 3 (and I'm not even sure about that) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Voltago Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2003 Posts: 2593 Location: userland
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
drwook wrote: | But if you couldn't for whatever reason I guess you could probably recompile on anything in a chroot'd environment... |
Would that work? Well it would work if you could use the 'external' toolchain, not the toolchain contained in your chroot'ed environment, otherwise the process would break at the point some library won't work anymore due to unsupported machine instructions of the new - and not yet installed - cpu. But can you use a toolchain residing outside the chroot environment? If yes, how? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jpl888 Guru
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 337 Location: Piltown, Co. Kilkenny, Ireland.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I knew there would be something like that involved which is why I hoped somebody already knew. Maybe I will just have to try some stuff myself. It would be interesting to see what happens wouldn't it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|