Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DOOM3 w/o sound (AMD64)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
klockren
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 167
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 6:05 pm    Post subject: DOOM3 w/o sound (AMD64) Reply with quote

When I start DOOM3, sound is disabled. The output console displays:

Code:

------------------------------------
dlopen(libasound.so.2)
asoundlib version: 1.0.5
Alsa is available
------ Alsa Sound Initialization -----
ALSA lib confmisc.c:978:(snd_func_refer) Unable to find definition 'cards.Audigy2.pcm.default:CARD=0'
ALSA lib conf.c:3459:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_refer returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib conf.c:3928:(snd_config_expand) Evaluate error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib pcm.c:1972:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM default
snd_pcm_open SND_PCM_STREAM_PLAYBACK 'default' failed: No such file or directory
dlclose
WARNING: sound subsystem disabled

--------------------------------------
----------- Alsa Shutdown ------------
--------------------------------------


I found some other threads dealing with DOOM3 sound issues, but the error didn't seem to be the same.
I have a SoundBlaster Audigy2 card, running ALSA with the emu10k1 driver on an AMD64. Yes,
emul-linux-x86-soundlibs is installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twoup
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive just been through a similar battle with getting sound to work in Doom3 on my amd64 3500+.
The only diff. is that I am using nvidia onboard ac97 sound.

Anyway, here are the steps i used to get sound working.. Hope they help.

1. Enable OSS in kernel with emu driver - install new kernel/modules reboot
2. add the following to your /etc/asound.conf
-----start here ---
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dsp0 {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer {
type dmix
ipc_key 1024
slave {
pcm "hw:0,0"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 16384
periods 128
rate 44100
}
bindings {
0 0
1 1
}
}

ctl.mixer0 {
type hw
card 0
}
---- end here ---

3. to start : doom3 +set sdriver oss

Thats the formula that got sound after much stuffing around. I didnt get anywhere using ALSA.

Goodluck

Twoup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimmers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same error. If the above doesn't work, I managed to get sound + D3 working with the following on A64 + SB Audigy LS (ca0106):

-Upgraded to 2.6.11-r4 kernel (was on 2.6.9-r14)
-Include sound card support, but not OSS or ALSA in kernel
-Make sure you have ALSA_CARDS="emu10k1", or whatever appropriate in /etc/make.conf BEFORE making kernel
-Setup ALSA using the guide here
-Go to D3, open up console (still no sound), type
>>> set s_driver oss
>>> set s_dsp /dev/dsp or /dev/sound/dsp, they both work
>>> set s_noSound 0
>>> s_restart
-If the sound is garbled, set surround speakers = on in the "System" menu from within D3

And there you go. After all that work, I was literally shocked to hear sound. You might want to double check the D3 console commands though, as I was just remembering them off my head. i.e. s_noSound might be s_nosound, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you dont need software mixing, you only need the following as your .asoundrc :
Code:
pcm.card0 {
  type hw
  card 0
  device 0
}

pcm.!default {
  type                  plug
  slave.pcm             "pcm.card0"
}


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klockren
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 167
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! All tips worked, but I choose eae's way, as it produced the least amount of errors at boot (and maybe alsa is to be preferred to oss). Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimmers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eae wrote:
If you dont need software mixing, you only need the following as your .asoundrc :
Code:
pcm.card0 {
  type hw
  card 0
  device 0
}

pcm.!default {
  type                  plug
  slave.pcm             "pcm.card0"
}




I'm curious about this one. I added it to .asoundrc, and I can get alsa to output sound in D3, but it's heavily garbled. The same with XMMS output in alsa-mode. To use this as a fix to get alsa working completeky, do I have to have ALSA compile in kernel, or is this a doom-specific fix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eae
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This .asoundrc does absolutely nothing but giving the name pcm.card0 to the first device of the first soundcard and defining it as the default device, and it is the minimum .asoundrc that one should have, since, as you experienced, some programs try to use the device "default" and complain if they don't find it.
There's no way this can cause garbled sound. :? Maybe there is something else in your .asoundrc that causes problems?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimmers
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"added" was probably the wrong word to use. My .asoundrc only contains the stuff from your post. Could it possibly be something to do with the kernel? My applicable section of .config is:

Code:
#
# Sound
#
CONFIG_SOUND=y

#
# Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
#
# CONFIG_SND is not set

#
# Open Sound System
#
# CONFIG_SOUND_PRIME is not set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aynjell
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a command in the doom 3 console that will enable alsa 2 or alsa 1. Try to determine what tha is, and if you can get it, you may solve the issue. Sorry, I forget what it is at the moment, but I beleive it's seta asoundrsync, or something along those lines. :D
_________________
CPU: 3800+ X2 (2.5Ghz)
GPU: eVGA 7600GT (640/1700)
MOBO: DFI SLI-DR (Surprisingly good!)
RAM: 2 x OCZ Gold 1024 DDR500 3-4-3-7 (2048)
HDD: Western Digital Raptor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattbevan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a very common problem with Doom3 and Alsa hating eachother. The simplest solution (and a one liner) is to modify your Doom3 configuration file: (Stored in the ~/.doom3-demo/demo/ directory for the demonstration version - I don't know where the full version file is placed.)

DoomConfig.cfg wrote:
...
seta s_dsp "/dev/dsp"
seta s_driver "oss"
...

Searching for the phrase "dsp" should find you the lines pretty quick fast.

Edit: Also note that you need Alsa set up for OSS emulation. 6(^_^ ) Heh - good to know, that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum