Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bridge Multiple Devices & have own IP address
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BenPope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:34 pm    Post subject: Bridge Multiple Devices & have own IP address Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm currently in Windows and have setup a bridge between my 2 onboard network devices and a wireless USB device. This "bridge" is now the device with the IP address assigned by the DHCP server on the network.

We'll forget the specific devices for now as thats a whole other problem, but I'd like to accomplish a similar thing in Linux.

I've looked at bridging, but haven't worked out whether the bridge can be assigned an IP address... from what I've seen, it cannot. So what is the workaround here? I could do NAT/Masq but would rather "bridge" if possible.

Any pointers to resources are much appreciated... I don't know what terms I should be searching for.

Cheers,
Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inode77
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 1303
Location: Heart of Europe

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are lot of ways to contribute to gentoo, take a look at the bugday list, there's testing, writing new ebuilds.......
http://bugday.gentoo.org/

EDIT: Hmmm strange..... Either I'm stoned or this post got assigned to the wrong thread.
(99.9% Error is human, so I take the blame)


Last edited by inode77 on Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morehead21
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

openbsd can act as a bridge/firewall and have an ip assigned to a nic to admin the box from although that makes it less secure than having no ips on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:41 am    Post subject: Re: Bridge Multiple Devices & have own IP address Reply with quote

BenPope wrote:
I've looked at bridging, but haven't worked out whether the bridge can be assigned an IP address... from what I've seen, it cannot.


Sure bridges can have IP addresses!
http://dev.gentoo.org/~uberlord/net-book/hb_part1_chap3.html#doc_chap7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BenPope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Bridge Multiple Devices & have own IP address Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
Sure bridges can have IP addresses!
http://dev.gentoo.org/~uberlord/net-book/hb_part1_chap3.html#doc_chap7


Guess I didn't look too hard. I did wonder if I could do something like that... spot on, cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BenPope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

It took me a while ot try this:

Unfortunately when I do:

Code:
/etc/init.d/net.br0 restart


I get:

Code:
 * Please make sure that /etc/conf.d/net has $ifconfig_br0 set
 * (or $iface_br0 for old-style configuration)


I've tried replacing config... with ifconfig.. which doesn't fail quite so badly, but still fails to get an IP address with dhcp.

I have sysfsutils-1.2.0

I'm also confused with the iproute2 stuff, do I need it?

You've basically hit the head on the nail with what I need, bit I'm clearly doing something a little wrong, can you provide a more step-by-step guide, or a list of things I need?

Thanks for your time,

Ben Pope.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your baselyaout is to old.

1.11.11 or newer is required .....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BenPope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 4:30 pm    Post subject: SOLVED! Reply with quote

Wahoo!

Thanks.

All I have to do now is wait for my WG311 to turn up, to replace the WG111 I can't make work (mdiswrapper, AMD64, no 64bit Windows driver), and I'm away.

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BenPope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: WG311T as part of a Bridge Reply with quote

Right.

I have my WG311T, it's detected by the MadWiFi drivers.

I want to be able to have wireless clients use the connection I have on my nForce interface.

I have in /etc/conf.d/net
---------------------------
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wg311="-Dmadwifi"

brctl_br0=( "setfd 0" "sethello 0" "stp off" )
bridge_br0="nForce wg311t"

config_nForce=( "null" )
config_wg311t=( "null" )

config_br0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_br0="-t 10 -N"

depend_bond0() {
need net.nForce
}



Not entirely sure how to configure /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
----------------------------------------------------------------------
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0

eapol_version=1

ap_scan=1

fast_reauth=1

opensc_engine_path=/usr/lib/opensc/engine_opensc.so
pkcs11_engine_path=/usr/lib/opensc/engine_pkcs11.so
pkcs11_module_path=/usr/lib/pkcs11/opensc-pkcs11.so

# Shared WEP key connection (no WPA, no IEEE 802.1X)
network={
ssid="Ben"
key_mgmt=NONE
wep_key0="1D0415AB1995EE409F724F7E9B"
wep_tx_keyidx=2
priority=5
}

-------------------------------------------------

I can't find the SSID with another machine with a wireless card.

I don;t mind whether I use WEP or WPA, but there are loads of options, I just need to know what will work with Windows.

On Windows theres WEP-Shared, or WPA-None with TKIP or AES.

Key index is 1-4 inclusive.

Anybody got any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BenPope
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I managed to get this working with iwconfig - probably best as I was trying to set up WEP anyway.

If anybody wants my config, let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum