Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Do I give up on Gentoo with this machine?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
veggie2u
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:12 am    Post subject: Do I give up on Gentoo with this machine? Reply with quote

I have been trying to install Gentoo on my main desktop machine Athlon 1600, Abit KT7A. Yes, it is not the most up to date, but I no longer game, and it has worked just fine with Windows XP for a couple of years now. I have 4 other Gentoo machines, so I am not a complete noob, but I am frustrated beyond belief. I had been trying to install 2004.3 for awhile, then gave up. I have been trying to install 2005.0 now for a couple of weeks with no luck. I have tried stage two, stage three internet, and stage three purely from the cd. When I try to emerge sync, emerge system, I get segmentation faults. I had 512 meg of ram with 256 of crucial, and 256 mushkin. I have removed the mushkin, I have reset the motherboard bios to safe defaults, and the bios reports the CPU temp after a seg fault less than 50 deg C. I never overclock. I can install smaller programs, but glibc, gcc, X. They always die. I have tried just about every forum answer for someone that has seg faults, gcc problems, or library conflicts. It comes back to hardware all the time. Is that realy possible? Windows XP and Fedora have worked just fine, just not compiles. Memtest appears to be work fine too. What can I do to know that for sure there is something flakey with the hardware?
evader
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Swap mobo/ram/cpu one at a time and try to reinstall everytime you swap one piece out.

Sorry, it's a tricky one
veggie2u
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote