Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mythbackend init script ignores /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
anxt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Frozen Tundra, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 2:34 am    Post subject: mythbackend init script ignores /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt Reply with quote

i can connect to my database remotely as user mythtv.

i can start the backend as root. i cannot use the init script or it tries to connect to a local mysql, not the remote one specified.

what gives?

Code:
ezekiel mythtv # mysql -h isaiah -u mythtv -p
Enter password:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 6 to server version: 4.0.24

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.

mysql>


Code:
ezekiel mythtv # grep DB /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt
DBHostName=isaiah
DBUserName=mythtv
DBPassword=mythtv
DBName=mythconverg
DBType=QMYSQL3

Code:
ezekiel mythtv # tail -n 8 /var/log/mythtv/mythbackend.log
Couldn't open database
2005-04-14 17:38:05.815 Unable to connect to database!
2005-04-14 17:38:05.816 Driver error was [1/2002]:
QMYSQL3: Unable to connect
Database error was:
Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

Couldn't open database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:cry:

Please, someone, for the love of Gentoo, what's our problem?

Anxt, if this helps at all, it happened to me once I upgraded one of my frontends to 0.17-r1 Although, right about that same time, I did throw in a new MBE, but the version didn't change on that...

If you get anything working, by all means, throw it up!

As an addition:
I can start mythbackend by hand no problem, and it runs great, as any user. It's only when using the init script /etc/init.d/mythbackend that this happens.

Hopefully 0.18 ebuilds will be out soon, and we'll see if that offers a fix.

:)

Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anxt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Frozen Tundra, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebuilds for .18 are available (masked). they don't help. i will take a look at the init script soon and see what i can see.

right now i am wondering about openmosix though

i will keep you posted.

fwiw, you could just start mythbackend from /etc/conf.d/local.start

mythbackend -d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll do it that way versus what I've been doing:
screen
mythbackend &
CTRL + a + d (to detach)
Then closing down the session.


Yeah, I just upped to .18 last night and came in very hopeful this morning, but nothing. Came here to report, but see you already knew ;)

Hopefully we can get this figured out, there's got to be more people having problems with this than just the 2 of us.

Thanks!

Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anxt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Frozen Tundra, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i will figure it out. just finished exams so know i can geek out more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the mythtv mailing lists, someone pointed out the problem, and then later, the solution, here's the topic:
Quote:
>> I'm building a big nice hidden backend running on Gentoo. Installed ivtv
>> and mythtv 0.17 just fine, and after editing mysql.txt (present in five
>> directories) and running mythsetup it connected fine and appeared as a
>> slave backend to my now-master, soon-to-be-slave backend/frontend.
>>
>> But when I reboot, mythbackend uses /var/run/mythtv/.mythtv/mysql.txt,
>> which is _always_ set to the default values, no matter if I edit it or
>> delete it. Now, the server will of course not be rebooted that often,
>> but
>> I really wouldn't like to have my master backend not start up properly
>> after a power outage... =)
>>
>> /etc/init.d/mythbackend was added to "default" runlevels after
>> compilation
>> had finished.
>>
>> In /etc/conf.d/mythbackend, I have:
>> MYTH_USER=root
>> MYTH_PID=/var/run/mythtv/mythbackend.pid
>>
>> Running from commandline works fine, just can't start the service
>> unless I
>> manually correct /var/run/mythtv/.mythtv/mysql.txt first.
>
> You should put your values in /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt

Turns out the solution was easy; set MYTH_PID in /etc/conf.d/mythbackend
to point to /etc/mythtv/mythbackend.pid . It seems something th the
startup pichs the folder from that value and uses the settings from
there... and if the folder doesn't exist it is recreated. :)

/ Niklas



:)

I guess I'll have a go to see if this works for my situation as well.

Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anxt wrote:
i will figure it out. just finished exams so know i can geek out more.


All next week for me, but then... Look out electric bill, MasterC is havin fun! :D

Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srwalter
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Location: KY

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:37 pm    Post subject: SOLUTION! Reply with quote

I've figured out what the cause of this problem is. When the script starts mythbackend, the environment variable HOME gets set to /etc/mythtv. This makes myth look in /etc/mythtv/.mythtv for its configuration files. When you start mythbackend as root, it looks in /root/.mythtv. The solution, then, is to cp -a /root/.mythtv /etc/mythtv. This isn't the most graceful solution, but it will get the init script up and running without having to modify it.

This works for me. If it doesn't work for you, reply and I'll see if I can get you fixed up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works great, thanks! It took a combination of the 2 posts to get it working, first, changing /etc/conf.d/mythbackend PID to /etc/mythtv/mythbackend.pid it moved HOME to /etc/mythtv then it search /etc/mythtv/.mythtv for mysql.txt, so I created the directory and moved the file there and it works. I don't understand why it's looking at .mythtv in /etc, but right now I don't care, I'm stoked it worked.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anxt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 254
Location: Frozen Tundra, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

worked on one box and not the other. go figure.

i am gonna go have a cigarette.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prefect47
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2005 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has the ebuild changed? The init script for mythbackend no longer used the MYTH_PID variable and now it doesn't even look anywhere else for the mysql.txt file - I had to edit the init script to point the pid file to /etc/mythtv/mythbackend.pid and set HOME to /etc/mythtv/, PLUS comy /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt to /etc/mythtv/.mythtv/mysql.txt...

Edit: Oh, and I'm the one who posted the solution on the mythtv-users mailing list... it worked for the 0.17 ebuilds anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently someone hates us.

I just tried to edit my init file, but it was a no go.

I'm stuck using local to start myth until I can gain a decent solution.

I am perplexed as to why this is even an issue...

I'll search the bug list, if it's not there, I'll post a new one but I'm sure I'll be slammed because I am not a bug reporter generally so I suck compared to those who know what they are doing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The bug is up...

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=96977

Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Woods Cross, UT

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Prefect47 wrote:
Has the ebuild changed? The init script for mythbackend no longer used the MYTH_PID variable and now it doesn't even look anywhere else for the mysql.txt file - I had to edit the init script to point the pid file to /etc/mythtv/mythbackend.pid and set HOME to /etc/mythtv/, PLUS comy /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt to /etc/mythtv/.mythtv/mysql.txt...

Edit: Oh, and I'm the one who posted the solution on the mythtv-users mailing list... it worked for the 0.17 ebuilds anyway.


Is there any chance you can post a step by step process of how you actually did it. I tried hacking mine, but it was still a no go.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prefect47
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MasterC wrote:
Is there any chance you can post a step by step process of how you actually did it. I tried hacking mine, but it was still a no go.

Thanks!


http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/mythtv/users/126932?search_string=gentoo%20mysql.txt;#126932

I didn't really do anything more than that, and I didn't run 0.18 on my gentoo box that long, since I moved all my hardware into a big server box running FC3 (as per Jarod's install guide for MythTV) and connect to the TV with 15m SVideo cables and a RF remote. Moving the box out of the room is a very effective way to eliminate the noise... =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave77034
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not exactly sure this is the same bug but it sounds similar to this thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-336572-highlight-.html and this bug https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=92548

Came down to a permissions thing on /var/run caused by the mythbackendscript.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The solution, then, is to cp -a /root/.mythtv /etc/mythtv.


Thanks that fixed it for me for the latest myth (0.19.X) which still exhibited the same bug...
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
niick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I've been having this problem as well. I fixed it by editing the /etc/init.d/mythbackend script.

I changed the two references to the pid files from;

Code:
/var/run/mythbackend.pid
to
Code:
/etc/mythtv/mythbackend.pid


and the HOME variable from;

Code:
HOME=/etc/mythtv
to
Code:
HOME=/home/mythtv
(the username on my mythbox is mythtv)

I now get no errors when running /etc/init.d/mythbackend stop, and mythfrontend doesn't complain about a missing backend any more.

Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum