View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Loke Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 274 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Sat May 25, 2002 10:22 am Post subject: Mounting local filesystem on ataraid, and modules.autoload |
|
|
Qudos to everyone involved in the development of Gentoo! Just installed it, and it looks awesome
Ive set my windows ataraid partitions up in /etc/fstab, and added ataraid and pdcraid to /etc/modules.autoload - but my problem is that the system tried to mount local filesystems before the modules in /etc/modules.autoload is loaded. So the windows partitions doesnt get mounted.
Suggestions what I can do to fix this?
Cheers! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Manny Calavera n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/d9e9590a3e0db35ebcdc1.gif)
Joined: 21 May 2002 Posts: 68 Location: Germany / near Munich
|
Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2002 11:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
look at /etc/fstab and set the noauto flag which causes the system not to mount the desired partitions at bootup. To get further information try
see you,
- Manny - _________________ Viva la revolución! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Loke Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 274 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2002 11:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
But I *do* want them to be mounted, its just that the modules needed to mount the array gets loaded by /etc/modules.autoload - and that script is run after mounting of local fs. In fact it even depends on local mount being started before it will "kick in"
Look for yourself in /etc/init.d for files called localmount and modules. And then you'll see what I mean.
Code: |
bash-2.05a$ cat modules
depend() {
need bootmisc localmount
}
|
Now if I need modules to be insmod'ed in the kernel before localmount is processed - how's that possible? As you see above, modules depend on localmount being started. Shouldnt modules be processed before localmount, and not the other way around like it is now? I sure think so.
The alt is to compile the modules into the kernel, but I dont want that. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tomte Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 08 May 2002 Posts: 122
|
Posted: Sun Jun 02, 2002 12:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Loke wrote: |
Now if I need modules to be insmod'ed in the kernel before localmount is processed - how's that possible? As you see above, modules depend on localmount being started. Shouldnt modules be processed before localmount, and not the other way around like it is now? I sure think so.
The alt is to compile the modules into the kernel, but I dont want that. |
if you can't compile the stuff into the kernel, you need an initial ramdisk (initrd) and tell grub or lilo to load that.
search here and google for the howtos
regards,
tom |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Loke Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 274 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2002 12:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Or just hack the localmount script and insmod the appropriate modules before the mount procedure
I still think modules.autoload should be processed before localmount though... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|