Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless connection can't connect to my AP?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ca_grover
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Canada, Eh?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 6:19 am    Post subject: Wireless connection can't connect to my AP? Reply with quote

I have my wireless card working, and it does great - with Access Points that don't belong to me. At one point I was able to scan for access points, and could see mine last on the list. I've tried connecting with both /etc/conf.d/wireless and /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf configurations (emerged wpa_supplicant after trying the plane jane wireless...).

My access point is using WEP, and works fine for a PCI network card in the house. So I know that part "should" be fine.

Here's what I've tried with wpa_supplicant (though advanced security terms have always been a challenge for me...):
Code:
network={
        ssid="open2space"
        scan_ssid=1
        priority=5
        key_mgmt=NONE
        wep_key0="mypassword"
        wep_tx_keyidx=0
        auth_alg=OPEN
}


and I have this in /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dheremes"
wpa_timeout_ath0=60


The access point has WEP enabled, and is using the "OPEN" encryption method (I hope that's what it means - I read somewhere this is more secure than Shared).

With the above config, when I start my wireless card (eth1), I end up with an IP address on a different subnet than my own... I'm not sure what else I can try to make this work properly.

btw, I don't mind this situation at all when I'm away from the office, but at the office, I need to use my access point so that I can get to other internal resources.... I'm using a cat5 connection for this for now.. :(

Thanks for any tips. I'll keep trying things out.... maybe I'll get lucky... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ca_grover
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2003
Posts: 150
Location: Canada, Eh?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-- bump --
any tips?

(appologies for the bump - I'm still having problems with this)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ukchucktown
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Apr 2005
Posts: 96
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try and configure it manually using the wireless tools instead of relying on the startup scripts. Once you get it working manually with your AP, it should not be that hard to take the next step and automate the process. You might also want to check you AP and make sure it's not configured to allow connections from specific MAC addresses. You never know, I've done stupid things like that before and kicked myself later. Install wireless tools -- if you don't have it -- and use iwconfig to setup your card. Let's say your wireless interface is eth0, then enter the following commands:

iwconfig eth0 channel <channel number of your network>
iwconfig eth0 essid <your sid>
iwconfig eth0 key <wep key>

That should work if everything else is setup correctly and it sounds like it is from your previous post.

UK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum