Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] route add
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:28 pm    Post subject: [solved] route add Reply with quote

Hi,

while performing a LiveCD gentoo install, I have a network setup question.

Let's take my PC as an example. I boot with LiveCD and my NIC is automatically detected.
I follow gentoo handbook for network manual setup, but I never applied this setting:
Code:
route add default gw ${GATEWAY}


Even if I never applied this command, my PC functions well.

Can anyone please explain this command to me, its need, and if i can query what my current route settings are?

My network environment is as follows:
1) I have ADSL with one ADSL Router/modem that provides network to 3 internal PC.

Thank you,
Spiro


Last edited by SAngeli on Sun May 01, 2005 9:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbx550f
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 113
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"default gw" points to the first router you need to find to get to the outside world.

ie: On the machine I'm on, my IP is 192.168.0.2, another machine in the building is connecting me to the internet, and it's IP is 192.168.0.1, hence I do a "route add default gw 192.168.0.1", as it is my gateway to the internet.

When you start your pc, it gets an IP and route etc from your DSL router automagically. Check it by typing "route". My output here shows:
Code:
bash-2.05b# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.0.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
loopback        localhost       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
default         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
bash-2.05b#                                                                 

You can see the default route on the last line.

HTH

cbx
_________________
I think, therefore I am wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZippyJay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 73
Location: Ix

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't have a gateway address assigned, your PC will still operate fine on your local network, you just (technically) won't be able to access anything outside of your network (like the Internet). Can you access the Internet right now? If you can, what stage of the install are you on? You might be retaining the default gateway from when the LiveCD grabbed info from DHCP that your router most likely is putting out.
_________________
ZippyJay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ter_roshak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Location: Everett, WA

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 4:16 am    Post subject: route add Reply with quote

Explanation:
route: manipulates the kernel's routing table. You need to use the route command when you have any static routes (routes not configured through DHCP). If you assign a static IP address to your machine, you may have to use the route command so that your machine knows where to go to access the network (this is usually set through the gateway variable in the /etc/conf.d/net file).

Current settings:
You can use the netstat command to query your current route settings:

Code:
netstat -r


To make a long story short, you only need to add a route to the gateway if you are not using DHCP. Your DHCP dialogue will take care of it. If you are using static addressing you will have to add a gateway using route add or through your /etc/conf.d/net configuration file.
_________________
Josh Miller -- RHCE, VCP
Ditree Consulting
http://ditree.com/
Registered Linux User #318200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SAngeli
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 904
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Here is my summary to understand if I got it for now.

I am connected to the Internet (ADSL) via a D-Link (ADSL Router with 4 Switch ports at 10/100Mbps).
It acts as default gateway and its address is 192.168.1.1
It also acts ad DHCP and ranges from 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.110

My PC IP address I decided to set it statically to 192.168.1.100

Therefore, my net configuration file is:
Code:
iface_eth0="192.168.1.100 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
gateway="eth0/192.168.1.1"


Most likely, the reason why during LiveCD install I skip the route add default gw ${GATEWAY} is because I directly write inside the /etc/conf.d/net configuration file the default gateway which is 192.168.1.1. In other words, by manually writing the default gateway inside the net file, this replaces the route add default gw ${GATEWAY} command. Correct?

Thank you,
Spiro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ter_roshak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Location: Everett, WA

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 9:00 pm    Post subject: route add Reply with quote

You are correct, by writing to your /etc/conf.d/net file, you remove the requirement to issue the command you mention.
_________________
Josh Miller -- RHCE, VCP
Ditree Consulting
http://ditree.com/
Registered Linux User #318200
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum