Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DHCP stalling at boot time [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WTFman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 12:38 am    Post subject: DHCP stalling at boot time [Solved] Reply with quote

Ok when I startup Gentoo on my system everything seems to load fine up until the following line:

bringing up eth0 via DHCP....

then it will stall and sometimes even fail to load. I found this thread with a similar problem, however I'm not as 1337 as most people here so I'm not quite sure where to add dhcpcd -k I checked my /etc/init.d/net.eth0 file and the only instance of dhcpcd -z is in an if line.

Just to be sure that this is the problem, last couple of times I shut down my computer I manualy typed the command "dhcpcd -k" first and when I turned on my computer DHCP loaded up much faster, so how do I make sure this command is given automatically at shutdown?
_________________
Occupation: Professional Slacker
Hobbies/Interests: Open Source Aficionado since 2005


Last edited by WTFman on Sat May 21, 2005 4:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spyretto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 50
Location: Tampere/Finland

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a feeling that you machine doesn't stalls.Instead it is looking for a dhcp answer from a dhcp server.
If you leave your computer and return after 5 minutes is everything ok ?
Try this:

Code:

rc-update del eth0
 

and add this line to /etc/conf.d/local.start
Code:

dhcpcd eth0  &
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WTFman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spyretto wrote:
I have a feeling that you machine doesn't stalls.Instead it is looking for a dhcp answer from a dhcp server.

Sorry if I used the wrong term, yes it appears that is what it's doing, I would just like it if it did this a little more quickly.
Spyretto wrote:
If you leave your computer and return after 5 minutes is everything ok ?

More often than not, yes, however the first time I boot my system it often comes up with a message like "netmount failed to start" aside from that everything that doesn't require an internet connection works fine. If I reboot my computer afterwards, everything starts as normal, internet connection included.
Spyretto wrote:
Try this:

Code:

rc-update del eth0
 

and add this line to /etc/conf.d/local.start
Code:

dhcpcd eth0  &
Will have to test this out more, booted up a couple of times like this, results are very much the same only KDE will load before I have a working internet connection, sometimes leaving me with a browser or messenger that doesn't work. Should I also have this in my /etc/conf.d/stop file?
_________________
Occupation: Professional Slacker
Hobbies/Interests: Open Source Aficionado since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WTFman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Allright, while this does work, having dhcp started after KDE gets annoying when my desktop is ready, but my connection isn't up yet. I'd rather wait the extra few seconds so I know when KDE comes up that my internet connection is ready to go, so I'll ask if anyone knows another way to make sure dhcpcd is given the kill command automaticaly at shutdown??? anybody?
_________________
Occupation: Professional Slacker
Hobbies/Interests: Open Source Aficionado since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jakubc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Prague <- Czech Republic <- Europe <- World...

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well there is the "-t" option which tells dhcpcd how long to fish around for the ip...

Code:

 -t <timeout>
              Specifies  (in  seconds ) for how long dhcpcd will try to get an
              IP address. The default is 60 seconds.   dhcpcd  will  not  fork
              into  background  until it gets a valid IP address in which case
              dhcpcd will return 0 to the parent process.  In  a  case  dhcpcd
              times  out  before receiving a valid IP address from DHCP server
              dhcpcd will return exit code 1 to the parent process.


although how the default 60 seconds plays into your 5 minute waiting period I have no idea...
_________________
Regards,
Jakub Cerny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b060
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 70
Location: Mexico formerly known as Tenochtitlan

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was in the same problem and I did
Code:
rc-update del eth0

And now I dont have eth0 nor aclue to get it back
_________________
It's OK to be ignorant; it's not OK to play stupid but its your choice anyway
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WTFman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok here we go I figured it out w/trial by fire!
I put net.eth0 back in the runlevel default.
now somewhere in your etc/init.d/net.eth0 file you should see something like this (scroll down):
Code:

 # Stop DHCP (should be N/A for aliases)
 # Don't trust current configuration... investigate ourselves
 if /sbin/dhcpcd -z ${i} &>${devnull}; then
   ebegin " Releasing DHCP lease for ${IFACE}"
   for ((count = 0; count < 9; count = count +1)); do
     /sbin dhcpcd -z ${i} &>{devnull} || break
     sleep 1

Now I wish the other thread had explained this better because I am not a programer (I'm a total n00b) but I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty, so I'll post it clear for all the other n00bs here to read. It is the second instance of dhcpcd -z that should be changed to dhcpcd -k, so the above lines should read:
Code:

 if /sbin/dhcpcd -z ${i} &>${devnull}; then
   ebegin " Releasing DHCP lease for ${IFACE}"
   for ((count = 0; count < 9; count = count +1)); do
     /sbin dhcpcd -k ${i} &>{devnull} || break
     sleep 1

now, when you shut off your computer, dhcpcd should stop and when you turn it back on it should come up much faster than before.

Thank you all and good night.
_________________
Occupation: Professional Slacker
Hobbies/Interests: Open Source Aficionado since 2005
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jakubc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Prague <- Czech Republic <- Europe <- World...

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

b060: to get your eth0 back into the default runlevel type:
Code:

rc-update add net.eth0 default

that should do the trick:-)

WTFman: Glad you got it working as you wanted! Looking at the manual:
Code:

-k           Sends  SIGHUP  signal to the dhcpcd process that is currently
              running. If dhcpcd receives SIGHUP it will send  DHCP_RELEASE
              message  to  the  server  and destroy dhcpcd cache. In a case
              dhcpcd receives SIGTERM which is normally used by shutdown(8)
              when  rebooting  the system dhcpcd will not send DHCP_RELEASE
              and will not destroy cache. When system boots dhcpcd will use
              cache  to  request the same IP address from DHCP server which
              was assigned before the system went down.

-z           Sends SIGUSR1 signal to the dhcpcd process that is  currently
              running. If dhcpcd receives SIGUSR1 it will send DHCP_RELEASE
              message to the server without destroying the dhcpcd cache.

it looks like your dhcpcd had problems recovering your previous IP address from it's cache, therefore producing the long wait (at least that is what I deduce from this information someone please correct me if I'm wrong). Also note, that emerging baselayout will destroy the changes you made (if your net.eth0 is linked to net.lo).

[edit] also please put a [solved] in the thread title, so people know it's solved... makes things more legible:-)
_________________
Regards,
Jakub Cerny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattmatteh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 449
Location: near chicago

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is your dhcp server or router or nat ?

maybe need a new one?

matt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum