View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Daishi n00b
Joined: 09 Feb 2005 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 4:48 pm Post subject: /dev/hda3 not root? [solved] |
|
|
Hello! I've installed gentoo on my new laptop, and a few things didn't (like my wireless networking card, sound) so after looking around I decided that I needed to recompile my kernel with some more modules to get everything working. So I did a genkernel --menuconfig all, and the kernel compiled fine. But then I restarted, and after I got through grub it tells me that /dev/hda3 is not a root device or something like that...and asks me to specify a root drive..
My laptop rebooted just fine before I recompiled the kernel.. Any help with getting this worked out is appreciated.
-Fredric
Last edited by Daishi on Sun May 01, 2005 5:39 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nixnut Bodhisattva
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 5:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think you may have missed a module. Or genkernel didn't add it to the initrd.
Try compiling manually. If you can handle menuconfig with genkernel, you should have no problems with this:
1 cd /usr/src/linux
2 make menuconfig
3 make
4 make modules_install
5 mount /boot
6 cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6-something-you-like
7 edit grub and add a new entry for your new kernel
8 reboot
But, compile things you will always need like sata drivers and filesystem drivers into the kernel and not as modules. That way you don't need an initrd.
Oh, and as you experienced just now, it's not too clever to throw away/overwrite a working kernel+grub entry. If the new setup isn't working, you can still boot the older setup. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dsd Developer
Joined: 30 Mar 2003 Posts: 2162 Location: nr London
|
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 5:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sounds like you might have put the wrong line in grub.conf - the exact error message would be useful here. make sure you are following the instructions for the genkernel users and not the instructions for manual compilation. _________________ http://dev.gentoo.org/~dsd |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Daishi n00b
Joined: 09 Feb 2005 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 5:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did what you said, and it worked, thanks a bunch!
When I recompile my kernel do I have to restart for the changes to take effect then?
-Fredric |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nixnut Bodhisattva
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 6:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Daishi wrote: | When I recompile my kernel do I have to restart for the changes to take effect then? | Yes. But if you merely built some extra modules for the current running kernel, you'd only need to insert with insmod them to use them. _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|