Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Beta test New Init system, realy improved boot time.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 24, 25, 26  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mirek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2004
Posts: 489
Location: Oslo Norway

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have emerged initng, but it's pcmcia script doesn't seem to work with my card (prism54). What do I need to do? I have used pcmciautils and before emerging pcmcia start works for me. The card no starts flashing.
Code:
# lsmod
prism54                48776  0
yenta_socket           22412  1
rsrc_nonstatic          9600  1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core            32656  2 yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic

When I plug in and out my card
Code:
# dmesg
Loaded prism54 driver, version 1.2
PCI: Enabling device 0000:03:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
eth1: hot unplug detected
eth1: removing device
PCI: Enabling device 0000:03:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
eth1: hot unplug detected
eth1: removing device
PCI: Enabling device 0000:03:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
eth1: hot unplug detected
eth1: removing device
PCI: Enabling device 0000:03:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)

Anyone else got this problem, or know how to fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2004
Posts: 489
Location: Oslo Norway

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have got up my card
Code:
# ifconfig eth1 up
#/etc/init.d/net.eth1 start

Which way I can add it to runlevel..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erlend
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 493

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use ng-update to add things to runlevels. The two main runlevels are: system (equivalent to 'boot') and default.

Erlend
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2004
Posts: 489
Location: Oslo Norway

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use ifplugd and have had to change:
Code:
INTERFACES="eth0 eth1"

It worked before with INTERFACES=""
I can't add privoxy to runlevel. I have tried system and default but it did'n work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pinger
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm really itching to try init-ng, but I have one quick question before I take the plunge: does it work with the gentoo dm-crypt baselayout? (https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-298001-start-25.html)

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lavacano
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 190
Location: Poulsbo, WA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this idea for a while. is it possible to have a conversion script from initv? like it knows what you have in rc-update and it knows what that corresponds to in initng and enables and disables everything automagically?
_________________
Sincerely,

Chadwick Ferguson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Archangel1
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Apr 2004
Posts: 1212
Location: Work

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mirek wrote:
I use ifplugd and have had to change:
Code:
INTERFACES="eth0 eth1"

It worked before with INTERFACES=""

With INTERFACES="" ifplugd wouldn't actually be doing anything?
_________________
What are you, stupid?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mickgreen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just wanted to report a succesful boot with initng :o

Didn't work a few versions back, but I just kept upgrading (current version is 0.4.4) and now everything works for me.

Good work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it work with gensplash? I checked their splash_update script and it points to a non-existant splash_update file...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alinv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 395
Location: Bucharest

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this was already addressed here, it's a long thread.

How can I use multiple ip addresses on a network interface using initng?
For example, my /etc/conf.d/net looks like
Code:
--snip--
config_eth1=(
    "192.168.10.1/24"
    "192.168.20.1/24"
)
--snip--

With initng, eth1 gets only 192.168.10.1.

How can I fix this?
Thanks,
Alin
_________________
Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.
S.B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hajen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone tried out initng when doing PXE boot?
I seem to get sirious issues with the network sinsce it already set up by the kernel, but i need net to be markesd as started to get sshd aand other things that depend on net to start.

Some tips would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lynczu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With default sysvinit I was using autologin, described in article "Automated Logins Revisited", but in initng things have changed. How can I force agetty to use other login program? For sysvinit I simply edit /etc/inittab by adding for example

Code:
c6:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty -n -l /sbin/autologin 38400 tty6 linux


but it doesn't work with initng - modifing /etc/initng/daemons/agetty.i ain't work too ...

any hints?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hajen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 8:40 pm    Post subject: autologin Reply with quote

I solved it like this.
in agetty.i i have added
Code:

daemon daemon/agetty/tty1 {
        exec daemon = /sbin/agetty;
        exec_args daemon = -n -l /sbin/autologin2 38400 ${NAME};
        respawn;
}


The autologin2 file contains the folowing
Code:

#!/bin/sh
exec /bin/login -f username


This now handels the autologin.
The reason for using autologin2 is that i still can boot into the system with sysvinit, and still whant that autoligin to work korectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anaki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anybody tried initng-0.6.0 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why? any questions? You can even try initng-svn (initng-9999) if you don't know which version to chose ;)

Remember to follow this: http://initng.thinktux.net/wiki/Install_Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erlend
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 493

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found there was no ngc-update binary installed with 0.60 from portage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ibn al-Hazardous
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 133
Location: Somewhere deep in the desert.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erlend wrote:
I found there was no ngc-update binary installed with 0.60 from portage.


Try the initng overlay that is in the instructions truc linked to above.
_________________
/Ibn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrcs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anaki wrote:
anybody tried initng-0.6.0 ?

Works like a charm when using the instructions on the website. Took me a while to figure out I'd to run gen_system_runlevel though...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anaki
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Location: Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

The older versions worked like a charm, but now I can't get version 0.6 into work :(

Just after loading the kernel:

FAILSAFE ERROR ***"main.c", main() line 493
Failed to load runlevel default


Any help appreciated :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Anaki

Probably not your fault. Spanky forgot to add the ebuild for ifiles. I posted it in the bump bug, but it seems to get ignored...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrcs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just as a heads up, the initng svn repo has been added to layman.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bedazzled
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 May 2005
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone use NFS(v4) with initng?
I found a script in a trac ticket, but it doesn't seem to work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my hacked nfs script:

Code:

service daemon/nfs {
   require_network;
   need = system/bootmisc daemon/portmap;

script start = {
exportfs=/usr/sbin/exportfs
    gssd=/usr/sbin/rpc.gssd
  idmapd=/usr/sbin/rpc.idmapd
  mountd=/usr/sbin/rpc.mountd
    nfsd=/usr/sbin/rpc.nfsd
 rquotad=/usr/sbin/rpc.rquotad
   statd=/sbin/rpc.statd
 svcgssd=/usr/sbin/rpc.svcgssd

   # Make sure nfs support is loaded in the kernel #64709
   if [ -e /proc/modules ] ; then
      modprobe nfsd &> /dev/null
   fi

   # This is the new "kernel 2.6 way" to handle the exports file
   if grep -q nfsd /proc/filesystems &>/dev/null; then
      if ! grep -q "nfsd /proc/fs/nfs" /proc/mounts &>/dev/null; then
         mount -t nfsd nfsd /proc/fs/nfs
      fi
   fi
   # now that nfsd is mounted inside /proc, we can safely start mountd later

#pipefs
   if grep -q rpc_pipefs /proc/filesystems ; then
      if ! grep -q "rpc_pipefs /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs" /proc/mounts ; then
         [[ ! -d /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs ]] && mkdir -p /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs
         mount -t rpc_pipefs rpc_pipefs /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs
      fi
   fi
#pipefs

#imapd
   if [[ -x ${idmapd} ]]; then

   if grep -q rpc_pipefs /proc/filesystems ; then
      if ! grep -q "rpc_pipefs /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs" /proc/mounts ; then
         [[ ! -d /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs ]] && mkdir -p /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs
         mount -t rpc_pipefs rpc_pipefs /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs
      fi
   fi

   ${idmapd} ${RPCIDMAPDOPTS}
   fi
#imapd

#gssd
   if [[ -x ${gssd} && -x ${svcgssd} ]]; then

      ${gssd} ${RPCGSSDDOPTS}

      ${svcgssd} ${RPCSVCGSSDDOPTS}
   fi

#gssd

#statd
   # Don't start rpc.statd if already started by init.d/nfsmount
   killall -0 rpc.statd &>/dev/null && return 0
   start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec \
      $statd -- $RPCSTATDOPTS 1>&2
#statd

#   pid=$!
#  ( sleep ${EXPORTFSTIMEOUT:-5}; kill -9 $pid &>/dev/null ) &
#   wait $!

   if grep -q '^/' /etc/exports &>/dev/null; then
      $exportfs -r 1>&2 &
#      waitfor_exportfs $!
   fi


   if [ -x $rquotad ]; then
      start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec \
         $rquotad -- $RPCRQUOTADOPTS 1>&2
   fi

   start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec \
      $nfsd -- $RPCNFSDCOUNT 1>&2

   # Start mountd
   start-stop-daemon --start --quiet --exec \
      $mountd -- $RPCMOUNTDOPTS 1>&2
};

script stop = {
exportfs=/usr/sbin/exportfs
    gssd=/usr/sbin/rpc.gssd
  idmapd=/usr/sbin/rpc.idmapd
  mountd=/usr/sbin/rpc.mountd
    nfsd=/usr/sbin/rpc.nfsd
 rquotad=/usr/sbin/rpc.rquotad
   statd=/sbin/rpc.statd
 svcgssd=/usr/sbin/rpc.svcgssd

   # Don't check NFSSERVER variable since it might have changed,
   # instead use --oknodo to smooth things over
   start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --oknodo \
      --exec $mountd 1>&2

   # nfsd sets its process name to [nfsd] so don't look for $nfsd
   start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --oknodo \
      --name nfsd --user root --signal 2 1>&2

   if [ -x $rquotad ]; then
      start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --oknodo \
         --exec $rquotad 1>&2
   fi
   if [[ $restarting == "no" ]] ; then
   $exportfs -ua 1>&2
   fi
#statd
   # Don't stop rpc.statd if it's in use by init.d/nfsmount.
   mount -t nfs | grep -q . && return 0
   # Make sure it's actually running
   killall -0 rpc.statd &>/dev/null || return 0
   # Okay, all tests passed, stop rpc.statd
   start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --exec $statd 1>&2
#statd

#gssd
   if [[ -x ${gssd} && -x ${svcgssd} ]] ; then

      start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --exec ${gssd}

      start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --exec ${svcgssd}
   fi
#gssd

#imapd
   restarting=no
   #[[ ! -x ${idmapd} ]] && return 0

   start-stop-daemon --stop --quiet --exec ${idmapd}
   ret=$?

   if [[ $restarting == "no" ]] ; then
      if grep -q "rpc_pipefs /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs" /proc/mounts ; then
         umount /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs
      fi
   fi
#imapd

#pipefs
   if [[ ${restarting} == "no" ]] ; then
      if grep -q "rpc_pipefs /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs" /proc/mounts ; then
         umount /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs
      fi
   fi
#pipefs

   umount /proc/fs/nfs
};

}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How well does this work for standard installs?

Also, how would I switch back to the standard if things didn't work out?
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it will work just make you read the FAQ http://initng.thinktux.net/wiki/Documents_FAQ and DOCS http://initng.thinktux.net/wiki/Documents_Documentationthe way it works is you add a parameter to grub to have initng boot the system, so if it doesn't work you can remove the parameter and it will boot normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 24, 25, 26  Next
Page 25 of 26

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum