View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
macawgumbo Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2004 Posts: 165
|
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 11:22 am Post subject: configuring gateway & dns? |
|
|
How do I configure a defaut gateway and DNS server through the command line in Knoppix (if there's a difference)? I am wondering because my Linksys Wireless USB G Adapter is only able to work through knoppix and thus I am going to do an install from there. I got the device to run by using ndiswrapper and the inf stuff that came on the CD. I did a modprobe and set essid and key settings along with giving it an IP address. How do I give it a default gateway? I tried Code: | route add default gw 192.168.1.1 | That didn't work and creted two entries as the output of route. I am confused because the first one says Code: | 192.168.1.0 * U 0 0 wlan0 | With the asterick being where a gateway should be, but there is the asterick there. Once that is fixed, how do I get DNS to work? I tried pinging the router with success and the other comps on my network. (Good sign, since it is not the adapter that's niot configured correctly. KDE's Wlan monitor is reporting sucessful conncetion with ULTIMATE strength in signal. Just need to get some help here. Thanks. (I am just sort of anxious about converting my windows xp desktop fully and completely to Gentoo) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
macawgumbo Apprentice
Joined: 28 May 2004 Posts: 165
|
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
::bump:: |
|
Back to top |
|
|
FloppyMaster0 n00b
Joined: 07 May 2004 Posts: 62 Location: Detroit, MI, USA
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 3:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
You setup the default gateway correctly. The other entry you mention is setup by the kernel whenever you give an interface an address. Here's my table, for instance:
Code: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default mitsuki.gilbert 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0 |
The default route has a hostname because I run a DNS server on my LAN and have a PTR record for it.
As for setting up DNS, you'll need to edit /etc/resolv.conf. Here's an example:
Code: | nameserver 192.168.0.10
search example.com |
Just set nameserver to your DNS server(s) (probably your router), and your search can be anything, or nothing even. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|