View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Fizzer n00b
Joined: 26 Mar 2005 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 9:29 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] SiS VGA problem - Can't change Resoloution |
|
|
I am basiclly trying to get a better resoloution on the screen.. I have a 21" monitor and at the default it's ugly.. Plus my Hardware is obviously not configured correctly since I can't seen to change this..
Code: | default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo v9 Kernel-2.6.1-r3
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3-v2 root=/dev/hda6 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024X768-32@60
title=MicroSith WinDoze XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
|
My grub.. I have also tried vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap
None seem to work..
Checked the Kernel and I'm pretty sure I have configured correct, but who knows still very much a nOOb...
I have tried setting the resoloution default in Kernel too...
Now I know it's not my Hardware as the Live CD boots with a nice reseloution..
Code: | 0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661FX/M661FX/M661MX Host (rev 11)
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]: Unknown device 0003
0000:00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS963 [MuTIOL Media IO] (rev 25)
0000:00:02.1 SMBus: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS961/2 SMBus Controller
0000:00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513 [IDE]
0000:00:02.7 Multimedia audio controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] Sound Controller (rev a0)
0000:00:03.0 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)
0000:00:03.1 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)
0000:00:03.3 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 2.0 Controller
0000:00:0a.0 Multimedia video controller: Internext Compression Inc iTVC15 MPEG-2 Encoder (rev 01)
0000:00:0f.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter
|
Here is my lspci...
Code: | 0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter |
Now when the Gentoo LiveCD boots it lists this device but at the end it adds unrecognised device (or something like that .. I will go and reboot to check)
Code: | 0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]: Unknown device 0003 |
Now 1 other bit that concerns me is....
I will be looking at this one while I wait on some ideas from you guys...
Sorry BUT I am unsure what kind of info to post.. AND very reluctant to mess in the Kernel too much as this is the closest yet I have to a good system...
Last edited by Fizzer on Mon May 09, 2005 2:04 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Helena Veteran
Joined: 02 Apr 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 9:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Judging by your grub.conf you must have compiled the kernel with vesafb-tng as the framebuffer driver. Is that correct? Try Code: | ZeusGentoo ~ # grep -i 'vesa' /usr/src/linux/.config | It should output something like Code: | CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="1024x768@60" |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fizzer n00b
Joined: 26 Mar 2005 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 10:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello
Quote: | Judging by your grub.conf you must have compiled the kernel with vesafb-tng as the framebuffer driver. Is that correct? |
Yep checked that..
Kernel has been compiled with
VESA VGA
VESAfb-tng
Intel 810/815
Use Generalised timing
Intel 830M..... (I will remove these as I'm sure they don't apply to my chipset)
SiS Acceleration
SiS 300 Seris
SiS 315/330
SiS 661 Chipset is on this with Mirage 2D/3D... Going to sniff around to see what that comes up with Linux wise
Quote: | Try
Code:
ZeusGentoo ~ # grep -i 'vesa' /usr/src/linux/.config |
Sorry what is ZeusGentoo.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Helena Veteran
Joined: 02 Apr 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 11:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for the confusion. The text before the commandis just my command prompt. On your system it will show up differently, depending on your settings. So just type the command Code: | grep -i 'vesa' /usr/src/linux/.config | and check the output. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Helena Veteran
Joined: 02 Apr 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 11:10 pm Post subject: Re: SiS VGA problem - Can't change Resoloution |
|
|
Fizzer wrote: | I am basiclly trying to get a better resoloution on the screen.. I have a 21" monitor and at the default it's ugly.. Plus my Hardware is obviously not configured correctly since I can't seen to change this..
Code: | default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo v9 Kernel-2.6.1-r3
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3-v2 root=/dev/hda6 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024X768-32@60
title=MicroSith WinDoze XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
|
My grub.. I have also tried vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap
None seem to work.. | Why don't you change the grub.conf lines to 24-bit color (it may work better than 32-bit color which actually isn't really 32-bit I believe)? Or 16-bit-color to start with? And, with an 21" monitor, I surely would use 1600x1200 or at least 1280x1024! So my advice is to change to Code: | kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3-v2 root=/dev/hda6 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1280x1024-24@60 | which I'm using too, incidentally, on a 17" TFT screen. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fizzer n00b
Joined: 26 Mar 2005 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 12:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello
Made a little progress.. BUT resoloution is not changing...
Basiclly from sniffing around the net found various snippets of Info..
Paticulary from this site http://www.winischhofer.at/linuxsispart1.shtml#21
I belive Gentoo use his driver for SiS..
Removed vesafb from Kernel as it was advised not to run this in a kernel along with sisfb..
Inserted
Code: | video=sisfb:1024X768-32 |
into grub.conf
or any other resoloutin e.g.1280x1024x32
Booting I see sisfb and the mode changes I put into the grub.conf passed to sisfb..
BUT.. the reseloution does not change.. so still at square 1
Code: | grep -i 'vesa' /usr/src/linux/.config |
Comes back with VESA not set on all 3 values.. BUT I have recompiled without this.. I think!!!
Off to look up grep now too
Still learning... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fizzer n00b
Joined: 26 Mar 2005 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 12:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK..
Tried wihtout sisfb
Tried with vesa
Tried with vesa_tng
Set Vesa_tng resoloution in Kernel compile to 1280x1024
No joy getting my nice reseloution yet
Gentoo InstallCD can do .. Then so can I
Current setting is..
Code: | CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="1280x1024x24"
|
Off to bed now 2am.. Eeek!! looks like the bug has got me..
Will try a fresh in the moring maybe more suggestions from that pool of grey matter out thier..
Maybe something fundemental I am missing... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Helena Veteran
Joined: 02 Apr 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 5:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Fizzer wrote: | Current setting is..
Code: | CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="1280x1024x24"
|
. | You have an error. It should be CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="1280x1024@24". However, I would expect this should be corrected by the grub kernel command... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fizzer n00b
Joined: 26 Mar 2005 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK I thinks it is sorted...
I hadn't compiled in Character Devices
SiS chipset support
SiS Video Cards
grep 'sis' ..
Code: | CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SIS5513=y
CONFIG_SCSI_SATA_SIS=m
# CONFIG_SIS900 is not set
CONFIG_AGP_SIS=y
CONFIG_DRM_SIS=y
CONFIG_FB_SIS=y
# CONFIG_FB_SIS_300 is not set
CONFIG_FB_SIS_315=y
|
Grub.. Code: | default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo v9 Kernel-2.6.1-r3
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-Gentoo-v6 root=/dev/hda6 video=sisfb:mode:1280x1024X32,rate:60
title=MicroSith WinDoze XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
|
Compiled with NO VESA support
Now will look into...
Code: | # CONFIG_SIS900 is not set |
I belive this is the Ethernet adapter.. BUT my eth0 works.. Soo do I mess
ALSO
Code: | 0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]: Unknown device 0003 |
If any you lot know about the last statement and the Kernel device I should be compiling then let me know.
Onto X
Edited 09-05 as my grub command was wrong
Last edited by Fizzer on Mon May 09, 2005 2:05 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Helena Veteran
Joined: 02 Apr 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: Den Dolder, The Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 6:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
This is off-topic now. You should close this discussion by adding [SOLVED] to the topic's title. Your ethernet adapter is a Realtek 8139 class device as is shown from the LiveCD's lspci statement. So you don't need sis900, but 8139too (or 8139cp). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|