What "is" the score with XMMS.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
venquessa2
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 8:52 pm    Post subject: What "is" the score with XMMS. Reply with quote

Okay, they appear to have broken XMMS. I've been using it for the last 3 or 4 years and recently, one after another bugs have appeared. Right now, I have...

Some mp3s skip left right and center.
Some streams dont play at all.
EQ first stopped working on all but MP3s, then stopped working at all.

I've looked and I have the most recent version.

Then I looked on the web and found many other people with similar problems... XMMS is broken threads everywhere. Then I read that the development of XMMS has pretty much ground to a halt . :(

So... I looked in portage for an older (working) version and didn't find one.

Can anyone suggest a replacement until XMMS resumes development or a portage overlay to get an older "working" version?

Sorry if this has been discussed before at length, just point me there. Thanks.
gwolf
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried beep-media-player?
vvlly
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:24 pm    Post subject: xmms-mpg123 Reply with quote

Do you have media-plugins/xmms-mpg123 installed? media-plugins/xmms-mad? I am not sure when it was, a month or two ago maybe, I couldn't play shoutcast stations anymore. It turned out that portage had upgraded xmms and when it did, the mpg123 decoder wasn't included anymore. I did have xmms-mad from the mad use flag, but it doesn't seem to work for streams. I emerge media-plugins/xmms-mpg123, disabled the mad decoder in xmms and everything was working fine again.
venquessa2
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote