Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDEAddons 3.1 Compile error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
donoreo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 3:12 pm    Post subject: KDEAddons 3.1 Compile error Reply with quote

Ok I have tried to compile this several times. I have emerge sync'd several times looking for updates, I have tried a --deep world to solve it. I have lowered mny optimisation level to O2. Still no go. Here is the error:
Code:

nbox.lo kpercentspinbox.lo -lkio -lnoatun -lm
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.1/work/kdeaddons-3.1/noatun-plugins/alarm'
Making all in noatunmadness
make[3]: Entering directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.1/work/kdeaddons-3.1/noatun-plugins/noatunmadness'
/usr/qt/3/bin/moc ./madness.h -o madness.moc
/bin/sh ../../libtool --silent --mode=compile --tag=CXX g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../.. `/usr/bin/sdl-config --cflags` -I/usr/kde/3.1/include -I/usr/qt/3/include -I/usr/X11R6/include   -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT  -D_REENTRANT  -Wnon-virtual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -Wall -pedantic -W -Wpointer-arith -Wmissing-prototypes -Wwrite-strings -ansi -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -Wcast-align -Wconversion -DNDEBUG -DNO_DEBUG -O2 -march=pentium3 -mcpu=pentium3 -O3 -pipe -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -DQT_CLEAN_NAMESPACE -DQT_NO_COMPAT -DQT_NO_ASCII_CAST  -c -o madness.lo `test -f 'madness.cpp' || echo './'`madness.cpp
In file included from /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.2.1/include/g++-v3/backward/iostream.h:31,
                 from madness.cpp:17:
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.2.1/include/g++-v3/backward/backward_warning.h:32:2: warning: #warning This file includes at least one deprecated or antiquated header. Please consider using one of the 32 headers found in section 17.4.1.2 of the C++ standard. Examples include substituting the <X> header for the <X.h> header for C++ includes, or <sstream> instead of the deprecated header <strstream.h>. To disable this warning use -Wno-deprecated.
/bin/sh ../../libtool --silent --mode=link --tag=CXX g++  -Wnon-virtual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -Wall -pedantic -W -Wpointer-arith -Wmissing-prototypes -Wwrite-strings -ansi -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -Wcast-align -Wconversion -DNDEBUG -DNO_DEBUG -O2 -march=pentium3 -mcpu=pentium3 -O3 -pipe -fno-exceptions -fno-check-new -DQT_CLEAN_NAMESPACE -DQT_NO_COMPAT -DQT_NO_ASCII_CAST    -o noatunmadness.la.closure noatunmadness_la_closure.lo -L/usr/X11R6/lib -L/usr/qt/3/lib -L/usr/kde/3.1/lib  -module -avoid-version -no-undefined `/usr/bin/sdl-config --libs` madness.lo -lkio -lnoatun -lm
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.2.1/../../../../i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: cannot find -lasound
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [noatunmadness.la.closure] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.1/work/kdeaddons-3.1/noatun-plugins/noatunmadness'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.1/work/kdeaddons-3.1/noatun-plugins'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/kdeaddons-3.1/work/kdeaddons-3.1'
make: *** [all] Error 2

!!! ERROR: kde-base/kdeaddons-3.1 failed.
!!! Function kde_src_compile, Line 115, Exitcode 2
!!! died running emake, kde_src_compile:make

This most recent time I tried with O3 again. It is the same error every time. I hope this is enough info for someone to have an idea.

Thanks.
Code:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that if you are using alsa in you USE flags, you should have emerged alsa-lib
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donoreo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uh...no Alsa. Anyway, where are the USE flags set? I looked in make.conf and there is nothing there. I have made no changes to USE flags myself, just the defaults.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in /etc/make.conf

try

env USE="-alsa" emerge kdeaddons
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donoreo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, but I am not using alsa, why would I want to do tell KDE to use something I do not have installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I don't know exactly what is your problem, but -lalib means it tryes to use the alsa-lib.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donoreo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Figuring out my problem might give you a headache :)

I tried using Alsa, could not make it work. It was a horrendous week trying to get sound working. Perhaps, it is time to try alsa again.

I emerged alsa-lib and used that USE flag you gave me. It is compiling now. I will know shortly if it works.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin_Matt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 581
Location: TechWasteland (Mississippi)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

donoreo wrote:
Ok, but I am not using alsa, why would I want to do tell KDE to use something I do not have installed?


First of all, you REALLY need to read the docs. Specifically this will get you going on the USE flags. Remember, RTFM is your friend... :wink:

The error you were having was because you had compiled some of your libs with alsa support. Once you removed alsa-lib, anything compiled against these libs will fail. Your choices are to either re-compile the libs that have the alsa-lib dep, or to just re-emerge alsa-lib.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donoreo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it is just more of Alsa f^*$ing up my system again. I do not understand how some got compiled with it and some not. As I said above, I changed no flags, no USE variables. I had unmerged Alsa over two weeks ago.

I have got it to compile by using the suggestion above. I did not think to RTFM for USE because I had not changed anything from the default.

I hope in Kernel 2.6 Alsa is easier to work with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lin_Matt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 581
Location: TechWasteland (Mississippi)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

donoreo wrote:
So it is just more of Alsa f^*$ing up my system again. I do not understand how some got compiled with it and some not. As I said above, I changed no flags, no USE variables. I had unmerged Alsa over two weeks ago.

I have got it to compile by using the suggestion above. I did not think to RTFM for USE because I had not changed anything from the default.

I hope in Kernel 2.6 Alsa is easier to work with.


Take a look at /etc/make.profile/use.defaults. According to this one, alsa is used by default... The issue here really has nothing to do with your USE flags anyway, it's a linking problem. Your system is trying to link against libs that just don't exist on your machine anymore...

Having a kernel with alsa modules included isn't gonna help this one. The libs and the modules are in fact two completely different things. I went thru this same issue several months back after deciding alsa just didn't cut it for my purposes. I ended up having to write a script to find all the packages that were compiled against alsa-lib so I could re-compile em... Not much fun...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donoreo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still got that script? :) I seem to have it all working now. I will test it when I get home then remove all the old 3.0.5 stuff.

I was thinking of starting over. I jumped ahead and started with a stage 3 when I installed so I may start from scratch, emerge prelinking (I know I am asking for trouble) and build it up.

I may play with Alsa again first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum