[solved] emerge without internet
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
scoaze
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 5:45 pm    Post subject: [solved] emerge without internet Reply with quote

I'm new to Gentoo and I just installed it. Everything worked fine, but I wander if it possible to use emerge without an Internet connection.
With SuSE, Mandrake and Debian I can tell YaST, DrakConf and apt-get to use many different type of sources: URL's, local directories, DVD, CDROM etc.
At home I don't have Internet, but with the others distros this is not a problem.

Last edited by scoaze on Sun May 08, 2005 6:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 5:47 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge without internet Reply with quote

scoaze wrote:
I'm new to Gentoo and I just installed it. Everything worked fine, but I wander if it possible to use emerge without an Internet connection.
With SuSE, Mandrake and Debian I can tell YaST, DrakConf and apt-get to use many different type of sources: URL's, local directories, DVD, CDROM etc.
At home I don't have Internet, but with the others distros this is not a problem.
Emerge normally gets its packages from the net. If you want to emerge something without network, you'll need to put the necessary files in /usr/portage/distfiles first

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
scoaze
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 5:51 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge without internet Reply with quote

I did it, but emerge always try to connect to the Internet
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2005 5:53 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge without internet Reply with quote

scoaze wrote:
I did it, but emerge always try to connect to the Internet