View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
omnicloud Guru

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 550 Location: California
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:21 pm Post subject: Where in the kernel config is the driver for my chipset? |
|
|
lspci
Code: | 0000:00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT82
3x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
omnicloud,
Its here, in make menuconfig
Code: | Device Drivers
-> ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support
-> Enhanced IDE/MFM/RLL disk/cdrom/tape/floppy support
-> PCI IDE chipset support
-> Generic PCI bus-master DMA support
-> VIA82CXXX chipset support |
build it into your kernel _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
omnicloud Guru

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 550 Location: California
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
for some reason when I was looking for it there, it wasn't showing up. This is for the 2.6 kernel right? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
omnicloud Guru

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 550 Location: California
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
oh wait, never mind. I didn't know it was under PCI IDE devices. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mroofka Guru

Joined: 25 Jan 2005 Posts: 369 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:22 pm Post subject: Which ide driver should I use for my mainboard? |
|
|
I find dificoulty in deciding which driver is dedicated to my hardware. I have the mainboard for PIII with i810 chipset. I have compiled into kernel few diferent drivers but I belive that I can resign from some of them
Which should I use?
lspci:
Code: | 0000:00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801AA IDE (rev 02) |
Pozdrawiam _________________ "Make install not love"
registred linux User # 379143
"Ready for Anything; Prepared for everything; Surprised by Nothing !" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mroofka,
Navigate to the same menu. Your option is Intel PIIXn chipsets support _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jake_L n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 13 Location: So Cal
|
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 8:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It appears that I have the same setting as omnicloud on my Shuttle SK43G box.
output of lspci:
Code: | 0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 [KM400/A] Chipset Host Bridge
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI Bridge
0000:00:0b.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
0000:00:0c.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 46)
0000:00:0f.0 RAID bus controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
0000:00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
0000:00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
0000:00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
0000:00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
0000:00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
0000:00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
0000:00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
0000:00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R200 QL [Radeon 8500 LE] |
The data sheet for my system is at: http://www.shuttle.com/share/product_data/spec/SK43G_DM.pdf
I went in and set Code: | <*> VIA82CXXX chipset support | then did a Code: | make && make modules_install | , and copied over the bzImage, System.map & config files as per the installation handbook. After rebooting I still receive this:
Code: |
/etc/init.d/hdparm start
* Starting hdparm... [ ok ]
* Running hdparm on /dev/discs/disc1/disc...
HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
* Running hdparm on /dev/discs/disc0/disc...
HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
* Running hdparm on /dev/cdroms/cdrom0...
HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted |
and
Code: | hdparm -tT /dev/hda
/dev/hda:
Timing cached reads: 1056 MB in 2.01 seconds = 526.24 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 12 MB in 3.14 seconds = 3.82 MB/sec |
-------
Can someone please let me know what I did wrong, or didn't do? The speeds on accessing/copying data on either of my internal hard disks, and the USB hdd are incredibly slow, so I obviously am missing something. Pardon me if I'm forgetting something - still in the learning process here. Thanks for your assistance and patience!
- Jake |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
omnicloud Guru

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 550 Location: California
|
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 10:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
did you remember to mount /boot before copying the new kernel over? That causes a lot of problems for me so I just set it to auto mount. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ekutay l33t

Joined: 30 Mar 2005 Posts: 636 Location: Berlin
|
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is actually not a bad idea to leave the boot partition umounted to safe this boot critical stuff from harm caused by an unclean shutdown. Use genkernel, dolilo or something like this to handle the annoying boot for you. _________________ -- erol |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 10:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ekutay,
The contents of /boot are not that critical. There are copies of everything except grub.conf elsewhere on the install, so its one of the easier partitions to recreate. In any case, you always have your validated backups - don't you ? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jake_L n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 13 Location: So Cal
|
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 10:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmm... I think that's the culprit. I was following the manual so carefully that the files are prob. in the wrong area. If someone can let me know what I did wrong, that'd be great! Here's some output that should be informative:
Code: | jake@tux jake $ ls /boot
System.map-2.6.11-gentoo-r6 config-2.6.11-gentoo-r6 kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6
jake@tux jake $ cd /boot
jake@tux boot $ pwd
/boot
|
pertinent fstab info:
Code: | /dev/hda1 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 1
/dev/hda3 / ext3 noatime 0 0
/dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hda4 /mnt/drive1 ext3 noatime,user 0 0
#/dev/hdb1 /mnt/drive2
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0
# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/sda1 /media/usbdisk auto user,noauto 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrecorder auto exec,user,noauto,managed 0 0
|
This should be nearly exactly as the guide shows, except for my 2nd partition on the main drive, /dev/hda4, and my commented out drive 2 (another problem, for another day...[ntfs stuff])
Code: | jake@tux boot $ mount
/dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
none on /dev type ramfs (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
/dev/hda4 on /mnt/drive1 type ext3 (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noatime)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/sda1 on /media/usbdisk type ext2 (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,user=jake)
|
So yes, /boot doesn't appear to be mounted. /boot should refer to which area exactly? i.e. where should the config/System.map/bzImage go? (or not mounted at all?)
Thanks again for the help! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 10:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jake_L,
Your /boot is /dev/hda1. Its fstab entry contains the noauto option, so it is not mounted by the system at startup.
When you wish to install a new kernel, you must mount /boot by hand. The command will do mount will get the missing information from fstab.
The files you list all go into /boot after its mounted. Only bzImage is actually required, here it looks as if its been renamed to kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6. Thats OK if that is what grub looks for. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ekutay l33t

Joined: 30 Mar 2005 Posts: 636 Location: Berlin
|
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 11:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | ekutay,
The contents of /boot are not that critical. There are copies of everything except grub.conf elsewhere on the install, so its one of the easier partitions to recreate. In any case, you always have your validated backups - don't you ? |
I would disagree. Of course I do backups, but usually not of every kernel I build on my system(s). You really have no need having your boot partition mounted read-write or even mounted at all during normal server operations. The kernel is loaded during startup, thats it. In case of a server crash you won't have a filesystem check to run on this partition and no write access means assumptively less filesystem errors and no tempering. You can safely mount the boot partition just read-only during boot to avoid write access and hold it umounted afterwards. I thought this is common sense meanwhile as tools as genkernel, dolilo and similar exist with features to mount boot exactly for this reason?
sorry for the discourse its a bit off topic  _________________ -- erol |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jake_L n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 13 Location: So Cal
|
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 4:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks so much! That was the problem. I know I'll never forget to do that again! I'm now receiving this:
Code: | root@tux jake # hdparm /dev/hda
/dev/hda:
multcount = 16 (on)
IO_support = 1 (32-bit)
unmaskirq = 1 (on)
using_dma = 1 (on)
keepsettings = 0 (off)
readonly = 0 (off)
readahead = 256 (on)
geometry = 65535/16/63, sectors = 122942324736, start = 0 |
Does everything look proper there? I ask only because while this appears fixed, I haven't noticed a difference in drive speeds. To further explain, when I dbl-click on a folder in either of my drives (/dev/hda or my external usb one) it still delays for 5-10 seconds before opening it. This continues to happen on each folder I enter. The HDD light isn't doing anything, nor is anything else loaded on the system.
I'm running the most recent Gnome, 1 gig RAM, SK43G system (spec sheet link above) Duron 1.8ghz cpu, and one HDD is this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144398 (8M cache, 7200 rpm, ata133) and the other is very similar.
Is there another area in the system which I can check?
Again, thank you for your time.
- Jake |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
omnicloud Guru

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 550 Location: California
|
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 6:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
run hdparm -tT /dev/hda so we can see the new speeds.
Also, when opening a folder with more than, say 400-500 items, you may notice lag as it's reading the directory contents. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jake_L n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2003 Posts: 13 Location: So Cal
|
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, the directories I tested only had a few items in them, which is why it baffled me so.
Here's a few tries of hdparm:
Code: |
root@tux jake # hdparm -tT /dev/hda
/dev/hda:
Timing cached reads: 996 MB in 2.00 seconds = 496.83 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 164 MB in 3.02 seconds = 54.26 MB/sec
root@tux jake # hdparm -tT /dev/hda
/dev/hda:
Timing cached reads: 1012 MB in 2.00 seconds = 505.82 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 164 MB in 3.02 seconds = 54.33 MB/sec |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
omnicloud Guru

Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 550 Location: California
|
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
It seems your speed has gone to an acceptable rate. But remember that those are timed buffer reads, aka burst, it is the rate of speed that data can be transfered from the disk buffer. Real speed will still be noticably lower than that because we don't read out of he buffer all the time.
Code: | pool-71-109-149-159 hentaicore # hdparm -tT /dev/hda
/dev/hda:
Timing cached reads: 624 MB in 2.00 seconds = 311.27 MB/sec
Timing buffered disk reads: 132 MB in 3.01 seconds = 43.89 MB/sec |
My speeds are slower than yours because I have a 1.1GHz athlon and a udma 100 drive. You probably have a 133 drive and a noticablly faster cpu than me. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|