Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
nVidia OpenGL stutter *fixed*
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:26 pm    Post subject: nVidia OpenGL stutter *fixed* Reply with quote

I recently moved, and ever after the move (and a massive emerge -uDp update) my OpenGL has stuttered. All my OpenGL apps and games get a stutter, from my screen saver to UT2004 and Quake III.

I've tried downgrading the driver, switching kernels, doing a few things to my xorg.conf file in the device section (which I'll post shortly), and still no go.

If anyone has any ideas, that would be great.

Code:
Section "dri"
    Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load        "dbe"
    Load   "extmod"
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
    Load        "glx"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath   "/usr/lib/X11/rgb"
   
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "DontZap"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Keyboard1"
    Driver   "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"

    Option "XkbModel"   "pc101"
    Option "XkbLayout"   "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"      "evdev"
    Option "Dev Name"      "Logitech USB Receiver"
    Option "Dev Phys"      "usb-0000:00:02.0-1/input0"
    Option "Device"       "/dev/input/event1"
    Option "Buttons"       "10"
    Option "ZAxisMapping"   "9 10"
    Option "Resolution"      "800"
    Option "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor0"
    HorizSync   28 - 80
    VertRefresh 48 - 75
    Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Standard VGA"
    VendorName  "Unknown"
    BoardName   "Unknown"
    Driver      "vga"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier                          "6800GT"
    Driver                              "nvidia"
    Option            "NvAGP" "2"
    Option             "RenderAccel" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen0"
    Device      "6800GT"
    Monitor     "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
   
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes   "1600x1200"
        ViewPort    0 0  # initial origin if mode is smaller than desktop
#        Virtual     1280 1024
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Simple Layout"
    Screen "Screen0"

    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection


There's my xorg.conf file, and if anyone needs more info, please, do let me know.

Thanks.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins


Last edited by ARC2300 on Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hard to tell for sure. One thing I would try is to change NvAGP to 3. From nvidia docs :
Code:
 
         Option "NvAgp" "0"  ... disables AGP support
         Option "NvAgp" "1"  ... use NVAGP, if possible
         Option "NvAgp" "2"  ... use AGPGART, if possible
         Option "NvAGP" "3"  ... try AGPGART; if that fails, try NVAGP


And try
Code:
cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
to see which one is on and see if it matters.
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
arcruea@Zeus ~ $ cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status:          Enabled
Driver:          AGPGART
AGP Rate:        8x
Fast Writes:     Enabled
SBA:             Enabled


I have the AGPGART enabled in the kernel. Would the NVAGP work better do you think?
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master Shake
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 755
Location: Wilmington, Delaware

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been experimenting with NVagp and agpgart and I find they both work the same. I use NVagp and took agpgart support out of my kernel to make it smaller. System runs just fine and games run fine too.
_________________
System Specs:
64-bit gentoo linux
Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
P35 Chipset
4 Gigs 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX @ 630mhz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zakk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remove the DRI bit, use the latest nvidia drivers (~x86 or ~amd64, whichever you're on). I assume you also realize that you only have one resolution defined, you'll probably want at least 640x480, and 800x600.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zakk wrote:
Remove the DRI bit, use the latest nvidia drivers (~x86 or ~amd64, whichever you're on). I assume you also realize that you only have one resolution defined, you'll probably want at least 640x480, and 800x600.


I'll remove the DRI part, and I'm using the latest nvidia drivers.

I only have one resolution defined because I don't use any other resolution. Unless a game doesn't support it, but I've never had that issue pop up of Xorg locking out a resolution for a game. If there is another reason, please do tell me, as I've never really delved into this.

Master Shake> Oh, thanks. I might try that out, see what it does for me.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whig
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 973
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was getting frames of stutter in q3a games... about 10 seconds apart. It went away after (I think) compiling support for my motherboard into the kernel: go Device Drivers, ATA Support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so I removed the DRI section of xorg.conf, and I switched over to the NVAGP instead of AGPGART. And I made sure my ATA/IDE drivers were included (which they are).

Still having a stutter. Does anyone else have any suggestions?
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zakk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status

Make sure it says enabled, fastwrites/sba are generally unimportant, and will get enabled with nvagp if your card agrees with the driver.
Also, read the lgfaq in my sig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Status:     Enabled
Driver:     NVIDIA
AGP Rate:     8x
Fast Writes:     Enabled
SBA:        Enabled


I forgot to post that up. . .

I'll check out the lgfag. Thanks.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zakk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much physical RAM do you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1GB, with the 4GB limit enabled in the kernel.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom61
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done a 'opengl-update nvidia' since upgrading? Also, do you have only NVAGP and no AGPGART compiled in your kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zakk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

agpgart being compiled in is no problem if that proc file says NVIDIA, which it does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tom61 wrote:
Done a 'opengl-update nvidia' since upgrading? Also, do you have only NVAGP and no AGPGART compiled in your kernel?


A few times, actually. I've removed the drivers, upgraded the kernel, done everything I can think of doing. I had the problem once with just UT2K4, and a re-install of that helped, but this is with all my OpenGL based things, from my screen saver to UT2K4.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zakk
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 614
Location: Oakland, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just in case I haven't asked already, are you using kde, gnome, or another "environment"? You might try exiting it, changing your window manager, rebooting the machine (just to be sure it all dies), and seeing if it runs without stuttering. I've experienced problems with gnome making games stutter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try that. I'm running FVWM right now with pypanel and gkrellm. So I'll give that a shot and try either OpenBox or some other WM I've got installed, see what happens.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to ask how glxgears behave with opengl on xorg and then swicth to nvidia ? and does
Code:
glxinfo | grep rendering
return Yes for Direct Rendering ?

Any thing in /var/log/Xorg.0.log which does not look right ??
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikshaar wrote:
Forgot to ask how glxgears behave with opengl on xorg and then swicth to nvidia ? and does
Code:
glxinfo | grep rendering
return Yes for Direct Rendering ?

Any thing in /var/log/Xorg.0.log which does not look right ??


Yes, direct rendering is on.

xorg-x11 glxgears: 3885 FPS
nvidia glxgears: 4000 FPS

What the hell?? Shouldn't I be able to switch OpenGL interfaces in X? And I used to get 10K FPS with my 6800GT.

Uh. . .what the hell?

[edit]Okay. . .dropped out of Xorg, and got this instead:

xorg-x11 glxgears: 700FPS
nvidia glxgears: 3900FPS

That still is REALLY REALLY low. :(

[edit2]I wonder if it's something with the opengl-update program? I noticed that got updated to work with the glibc-2.3.5, but I can't run 2.3.5 due to it causing issues with my Cedega and not being able to play Diablo II for some screwed up reason. I'm not exactly sure what opengl-update does, so if that's not a possible cause, I'll dismiss it.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins


Last edited by ARC2300 on Thu May 12, 2005 4:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not at home.. cannot test now on mine ;)

Be sure to disable all AA and ANI in driver as they slow down glxgears, and ppl often test without.
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikshaar wrote:
not at home.. cannot test now on mine ;)

Be sure to disable all AA and ANI in driver as they slow down glxgears, and ppl often test without.


Good point. :oops:

Ah-ha. Okay. . .so now it's up to the 11K range.

:oops: :oops: Forgot I had 4-tap Gaussian and 4x Ani on with texture sharpening. :oops:
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are games better now ? or still stuttering ?
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikshaar wrote:
Are games better now ? or still stuttering ?


I forgot to say that I tried games before putting on the IQ settings, and they actually stuttered worse. It was almost as if the game just stopped for less than a second and in UT2K4 at least, the frame counter (not the average counter) would drop from a green color to yellow or purple, then fly back up. With the IQ settings, it stays green now, but you can watch it drop from like 185-ish FPS to around 120-ish, sometimes as low as 80.

Would the opengl-update program have anything at all to do with this? I'm assuming all it does is move the libraries from xorg to someplace else and links to the nvidia libs or something, but I'm sure I'm wrong there.

Or would recompiling xorg have any bearing on this, just in case a vital glx library somewhere got blown up?
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

opengl-update create sym links if I am not mistaken.

stuttering at 80 fps ?? ... i understand if's low compared to 185... but cannot see stuttering at 80fps !
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ARC2300
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikshaar wrote:
opengl-update create sym links if I am not mistaken.

stuttering at 80 fps ?? ... i understand if's low compared to 185... but cannot see stuttering at 80fps !


It's hard to explain. It's one of those things where you can tell that the game has hiccupped. You can kind of see it skip for lack of better terms.

You'll be walking (or running) and if you watch the walls or something else moving past, you can watch it sort of halt real quick. And in UT2K4, when the weapons rotate on their spawning point, you can watch them stop for a split second. It gets really annoying. A constant 80FPS is smooth, but when you're going from 120 or above and dropping suddenly, you notice it. I know it sounds crazy, so I completely understand your reaction. It's just very hard to explain, but there really is a stutter there. And with my Matrix OpenGL screensaver, you can watch the glyphs stop dropping. It's not normal flucuation you notice, but sudden.

And I forgot to add: thanks everyone for your help. It is really appreciated in this matter. I hope I can get it fixed, though.
_________________
It's fun to take a trip
Put acid in your veins
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum