View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 3:40 pm Post subject: wireless connection problem |
|
|
Hi All,
I've an Atheros wireless pci card. So I try to connect to my AP, and it gets an ip but in a complete different range. It shoud get an IP something like 192.168.1.101, but instead it gets 170.230.190.1
I get the feeling it doesn't try to connect to my AP at all.
If I type route I get:
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
170.230.190.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 ath0
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default 170.230.190.254 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0
To test this with my laptop, which connects perfectly, gives:
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default 192.168.1.220 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0
Furthemore. if I do iwlist ath0 scanning all the wireless networks (including my own) are shown, which tells me that my card is working fine and that it sees my AP.
Here is the output from iwlist ath0 scanning
Cell 01 Address: 00:12:2A:8D:1F:33
ESSIF:"GenToo"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality=7/94 Signal level=-88 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rate:1 Mb/s
Bit Rate:2 Mb/s
Bit Rate:5 Mb/s
......
Bit Rate:54 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
My /etc/conf.d/net looks like
iface_ath0="dhcp"
and my /etc/conf.d/wireless looks like:
essid_ath0="GenToo"
key_GenToo="this_is_my_key enc open"
preferred_aps=( "GenToo")
mode_ath0="Managed"
this file is more or less the same as the one on my laptop!
And here is a listing of my modules I use for my Atheros card:
ath_pci
ath_rate_onoe
ath_hal
ath_rate_amrr
ath_acl
wlan_ccmp
wlan_tkip
wlan_wep
wlan_xauth
wlan
Any suggestions why it doesn't connect with my AP ?
Cheers
Luca |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanluca Apprentice
Joined: 08 Jan 2005 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just did it manually and that worked!!
Here is what I did: Code: | iwconfig ath0 essid "GenToo"
iwconfig ath0 rate 54Mbps
iwconfig ath0 key my_key_here
ifconfig ath0 192.168.1.100 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0 up |
But when I try to stop it like: /etc/init.d/net.ath0 stop I get the following message:
* ERROR: "net.ath0" has not yet been started
This probably explains why it doesn't work in my first post!
Is there anybody who knows what I do wrong here ??
Luca |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mikegpitt Advocate
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 3224
|
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 6:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The reason you get the errors when stopping the service is because the service was never started. Basically if you do a /etc/init.d/net.ath0 start you can do a /etc/init.d/net.ath0 stop.
When using the manual way you don't need to shut down the service at shutdown time. I don't think you will see any bad effects. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|