View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
MKA n00b
Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 9 Location: Europe/Finland
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:45 pm Post subject: nVidia doesn't work with Xorg [solved?] |
|
|
After numerous attempts in trying to get nVidia to work in Xorg in the past few weeks, I've come up with no solutions.
The latest attempt to fix it was with the help of this: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-333781.html
nVidia card in question: GeForce 2 MX Code: | cat /proc/fb0/vbe_info
Version: 3.0
Vendor: NVidia Corporation
Product: NV10 Reference Board
OEM rev: Chip Rev A1
OEM string: NVidia | Here's what versions of the drivers I have installed (as a result of the last attempt) Code: | media-video/nvidia-glx-1.0.6111-r2 *
media-video/nvidia-kernel-1.0.6111-r3 * | Kernel (gentoo-sources) and GLibC/GCC Code: | Linux 2.6.11-gentoo-r9 #1 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20041102-r1 -build -debug +erandom -hardened (-multilib) +nls -nomalloccheck +nptl +nptlonly +pic +userlocales
sys-devel/gcc-3.4.3.20050110-r2 (-altivec) -bootstrap -boundschecking -build -debug +fortran +gcj -gtk -hardened -ip28 (-multilib) -multislot (-n32) (-n64) +nls -nocxx -nopie -nossp +objc -static (-uclibc) | Xorg and its flags Code: | x11-base/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r1 -3dfx +3dnow +bitmap-fonts -cjk -debug -dlloader -dmx -doc +font-server -hardened -insecure-drivers -ipv6 -minimal +mmx +nls +opengl +pam -sdk +sse -static +truetype-fonts -type1-fonts (-uclibc) +xprint +xv |
And here's finally at what the Xorg start-up fails (slightly after displaying the nvidia logo when I have that enabled) Code: | *** If unresolved symbols were reported above, they might not
*** be the reason for the server aborting.
Fatal server error:
Caught signal 11. Server aborting | There was nothing about unresolved symbols besides that statement, so I couldn't figure it out.
Here's my xorg.conf, Xorg.0.log, and make.conf.
Disabling GLX doesn't change the outcome at all... can only use Xorg when I switch the nvidia driver to vesa.
Nvidia module is loaded and I've tried with and without agpgart module, rivafb is compiled in as module but not loaded (it used to work either way).
So, all I can think of is that the kernel version is somehow incompatible with the nvidia drivers (I've tried all versions of the nvidia drivers available in portage from 6111 to 7174). The only thing I haven't tried yet is different kernels (and I think this appeared after I upgraded kernel a month or two ago, but didn't mind the missing nvidia much back then), but since that requires booting and such, I've refrained from doing so as it takes too much of my time.
That's all the information I can think of being usable in figuring this out. Anyone have suggestions as to what I should do? _________________ M.A.
Last edited by MKA on Mon May 30, 2005 2:42 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54799 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
MKA,
Post the output of Code: | grep FB /usr/src/linux/.config |
Many console framebuffer drivers are not compaible with the nVidia X driver. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dryadcito Apprentice
Joined: 08 Oct 2004 Posts: 170 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 3:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm a bit lost with this post. You have emerged nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx, but you're using a generic vesa driver. Which drivers do you want to use???
In the log file you can read it has loaded nvidia module:
Quote: |
(II) NVIDIA X Driver 1.0-6111 Tue Jul 27 07:56:22 PDT 2004
|
, but in you config you are using vesa driver and have the nvidia line commented:
Quote: |
Identifier "NV11"
#Driver "nvidia"
Driver "vesa"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400]"
#BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
|
. Did you get that log using that config file? Sorry if I'm missing something, I'm just a noob and this just looks strange for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MKA n00b
Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 9 Location: Europe/Finland
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 7:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@NeddySeagoon
Code: | grep FB /usr/src/linux/.config
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_OFFBOARD is not set
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y
# CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_PM2 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_CYBER2000 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ASILIANT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_IMSTT is not set
CONFIG_FB_VGA16=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="800x600@85"
# CONFIG_FB_HGA is not set
CONFIG_FB_RIVA=m
CONFIG_FB_RIVA_I2C=y
# CONFIG_FB_RIVA_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_FB_I810 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_INTEL is not set
# CONFIG_FB_MATROX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON_OLD is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY128 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_ATY is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SAVAGE is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_NEOMAGIC is not set
# CONFIG_FB_KYRO is not set
# CONFIG_FB_3DFX is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VOODOO1 is not set
# CONFIG_FB_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_FB_VIRTUAL is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SPLASH is not set |
@dryadcito
I want to use the nvidia driver. The log came out with the vesa line commented out instead of the nvidia one. Sorry for that bit of confusion, must've switched it back before I uploaded the file instead of afterwards. _________________ M.A. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54799 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 7:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
MKA,
Take the RIVA support out of framebuffer in the kernel.
I'm not sure its your problem but only the vesa and vesa-tng framebuffer drivers are known to be safe with the nVidia X video driver. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dryadcito Apprentice
Joined: 08 Oct 2004 Posts: 170 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nice, then there are some questions...
you can't emerge nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx if you have riva-framebuffer compiled into the kernel, so .. is the config you posted from the kernel you were using when emerged the packages?
Remember these things when installing these packages:
1) Make sure your /usr/src/linux symlink points to the kernel source tree of you current kernel. This means each time you compile a new kernel you will have to emerge them again.
2) Perhaps you could install some newer drivers, but I'm not sure if there is any issue with you graphics card... Anyway you can try.
3) The kernel and these packages must be compiled with the same version of gcc.
this is my config file ( only the part related with this ):
Code: |
# **********************************************************************
# DRI Section
# **********************************************************************
Section "dri"
# Access to OpenGL ICD is allowed for all users:
Mode 0666
# Access to OpenGL ICD is restricted to a specific user group:
# Group 100 # users
# Mode 0660
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this section is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"
# This loads the DBE extension module.
Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension
Load "xtt"
# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
SubSection "extmod"
# Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection
# This loads the Type1 and FreeType font modules
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
# This loads the GLX module
Load "glx" # libglx.a
Load "dri" # libdri.a
Load "nvidia"
EndSection
# Standard VGA Device:
Section "Device"
Identifier "gf 6600"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 262144 ## DONT FORGET TO CHANGE THIS
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Option "Overlay" "true"
EndSection
|
And remember to change the value of Device in the screen section.
The last thing to do is "opengl-update nvidia"
I forgot to mention, I'm not sure if I had to erase the
Load "glx"
when I was using some older version of the driver, someone could help you with that...
Currently I'm using 1.0.7174-r4 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54799 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dryadcito,
It was the you needed to comment out.
The makes OpenGL work. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dryadcito Apprentice
Joined: 08 Oct 2004 Posts: 170 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Sat May 28, 2005 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, thanks for the answer, I can remember even what I did yesterday :p
Anyway, now I have both and in fact I NEED them, because I had commented that and stopped working after some updates until I uncommented it. I'm saying this again in order to make it clear to the user who started this thread. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MKA n00b
Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 9 Location: Europe/Finland
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 9:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
@dryadcito
1. `modprobe nvidia` fails if that's incorrect, so it can't be..
2. As I said in the original post, I had tried all the versions available in portage.
3. `modprobe nvidia` would fail here too.
So none of those help me..
@NeddySeagoon
Compiling RivaFB as module does not cause any problems, nor does removing it make any go away (other than the one mention of its existence when emerging nvidia-kernel and such). All there is, is that the rivafb module must not be loaded when using the nvidia module, and that's easily fixed with rmmod if it was loaded during boot-up. And yes, I've tested with and without compiling the rivafb module, but that was when I first encountered the emerge problem almost a year ago. _________________ M.A. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MKA n00b
Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 9 Location: Europe/Finland
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 2:42 pm Post subject: It works? |
|
|
While I was trying to emerge different (masked) versions of Xorg in hopes of fixing the broken nv, I noticed the Xorg emerge mentioning something at the end (which disappeared quite soon without anythig drastic happening, so it was no wonder I didn't spot it before). But anyways, I tried it, and apparently nvidia driver now works fine.
This was what it said would fix it, whatever it was that Xorg's emerge said to be broken. Code: | CFLAGS='-Wl,-z,now' emerge xorg-x11 |
So, I'm not exactly sure what was broken, but that fixed it and I didn't need to re-emerge anything else. Wondering why that stuff isn't in the ebuild itself, though. _________________ M.A. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|